Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Gunner

by Perjoka - Compo Entry

Welcome to Gravity Gunner. You woke up in the middle of nowhere and can`t remember where you left your spaceship. At least you have your gravity gun with you, that might help you to survive!

If the game runs slow, you can change the Quality and Resolution in the Options ( "O"-key).

Created with Unreal Engine 4 & Houdini.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#72Graphics4.13
#392Fun3.25
#434Overall3.30
#552Theme3.33
#554Mood2.93
#692Humor2.45
#705Audio2.31
#830Innovation2.69

Comments

retr0verse says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

Cool little game, great art style, loved the shooting sound!

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:07am

Nice game! Graphics are cool and everybody loves gravity guns :)

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15am

Played and it looks awesome. Great work, man! 5!

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:16am

I'm a fan of alien worlds with strange monoliths, even if they're just big white planks :D good work!

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19am

Concept simple but very fun. Great graphics too!

Also that's good to see what's that UE4 potential.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27am

PHew, made it to the spaceship! The bit after the cool shattering wall is crazy :D Pretty fun little game, decent gravity gun mechanics too!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27am

I liked the low-poly graphics but I found it was pretty easy to use the gun at a distance and manually smash things - which felt a bit like something I wasn't supposed to do.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I really liked the artstyle and shattering that black glass wall was quite fascinating! I liked swinging those big beams around and shattered many of those turrets with those :)

Jack31081988 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I love it!

MoltenMustafa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54am

hey bro, played your game and wrote about it here http://pastebin.com/byfbeyJA. I personally really liked the fact that you could pick up rocks from literally anywhere and shoot them anywhere. I could see this being kinda fun to speedrun ;)

MoltenMustafa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

oops - forgot to cast my vote!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I will comment with a link as soon as I have the gameplay and review video on youtube.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice lowpoly world, looks well done. But the controls itself are quite buggy :( What I know now is that UE4 is pretty cool :DD

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Your game is somewhere between episode 6 - 15 here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=38892 look for an image of it on the thumbnail.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice low-poly look, but it's so luggy :(

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02pm

You can change the quailty settings in options to middle or low :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I like the lowpoly looks of it :) The gravity gun presented some weird behaviour at times, but that's expected from a 48 hours entry I guess XD cool to see a unreal engine game in the compo

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45am

The gravity gun is insanely overpowered. Great game.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

Nice! great job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:52am

Nice! Our games are a little bit similar in concept, although mine is only 2d. ;) Refreshing to see a UE4 game in the mix. I'm curious, how did you find it as a game jam engine?

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:16pm

I like this game! Great concept and graphics too! Awesome work! :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Nice game, the mecanics are very nice and the visuals is very cool to, great job.

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:10am

cool game. i enjoyed it. love the blur as you move around.

skylerWithAnE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:17am

Came for prop surfing, wasn't disappointed(those bridge pieces were asking for it). I will always remember this game for future game jams because it is the perfect length. I actually finished it. You decided on one mechanic, got it to work, and your final product impresses me in every category.

Ben Mears says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Yeah, this is awesome. I hope you continue to work on it!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:47am

Love the concept and graphics! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aLTEhRhwd8A

Perjoka says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:01am

@all thx for playing, happy that most of you seem to like the game :)
I added an OS/X version and a gameplay video today.

@SteveSalmond UE4 is great as a game jam engine, but i wouldn`t use it for a gamejam without some weeks/months of experience. When you know the engine, you can get a lot done quite fast.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I really enjoyed the art style here! The projectiles always seemed to go a bit above the point that my crosshair was pointed at, but once I got the hang of that, I had a lot of fun with this. Nice work!

Ben Mears says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I had fun playing it, here's a vid of my playthrough: https://youtu.be/MX4LuXTYqq0

benbateman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:01am

Great game. Surprisingly open level for such a tight deadline. Mechanics were lots of fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:50am

nice game - love gravity guns - will play again because i want to see the black monolith

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Ah we both did low poly! Nice work :) Fun little game with gorgeous graphics and nice sfx!

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Fell into inescapable pits a lot. I would really appreciate patching those up.

Largely felt like a simple (and unfortunately, repetitive) game about scavenging rocks, and using them. The plank puzzle was cool, but unwieldy and difficult to control. Graphics are really nice.

Larzan says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:37am

Like the colors and visual style, well done.

jhell says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:46am

Very nice entry! Sounds were a little aggravating for me but boy did I like that low poly 3D ^^.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]