Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of the Yo-Yo Salesman

by seankimdesign - Compo Entry

Please enjoy my first LD48 entry.

You are playing as a Yo-Yo salesman whose mission is to create a global marketing hype for his Yo-Yo products. The story is not present in the actual game due to lacking time, but please enjoy some mindless Yo-Yo slinging fun nonetheless.

The game is incomplete is the sense that many of the features that I had planned to incorporate had been abandoned during the 48 hours. One of the most critical missing feature is the player life and collision. You will be playing as godlike, invincible mode. I may try and address this area in the future.

Some of the other features that could not make it to the final submission are:
- Ability to upgrade and customize Yo-Yo's (such as increased reach, higher damage)
- Ability to gain new techniques (such as Yo-Yo whirlwind)
- A tremendous amount of story ideas and detailed background settings that never got executed.
- Two or Three boss monsters that I had dedicated about 5 hours creating sprite graphics for, but could never place into the game. Ouch.

Anyways, I hope you still enjoy the game. Please do give feedback. Both positive and negative feedback is hugely appreciated.

Thank you!



* You will require a Keyboard and a mouse to play this game*

-----------------------------

Source Code can be downloaded here:
http://seankimdesign.com/games/yoyo-source.rar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#79Graphics4.10
#124Audio3.57
#131Theme3.92
#203Mood3.41
#305Overall3.45
#486Humor2.80
#528Innovation3.14
#560Fun3.04

Comments

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

Fun entry. The Yoyo mechanic was a nice touch. Hitting on the way out and back was great.

Enemies didnt damage me at all, not sure if that was intended or due to the clock. Great work on the art and nice music. Those little red bugs that come hopping at you are really awesome looking. I thought it was going to jump on my face or something.

Great work.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35am

Environment is pretty calming, and the instructions at the beginning
are done pretty well. The music is amazing. The music and environment give a pretty interesting feeling while playing.

Overall amazing experience playing.

Harley77 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

Excellent submission, can't believe you did all this.

wcwedin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

I really like the way the yo-yo keeps a fixed position in space! Sure, that's not how yo-yos actually work, but it somehow felt good anyway.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:02am

Great game, nice music and visuals! I would have preferred the controls to be a bit snappier / faster, but they worked. Well done!

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

A little slow movement. Love the artstyle and mood.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

The music was great in all its simplicity! It fit the mood perfectly
I too, did wish for a bit faster yo-yo, and also kept clicking outside the game window (which pauses the game). But I also had fun, and was intrigued by the obvious plan for more yo-yos (too bad you didn't have time to make more)

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

Great teaser, the visuals are quite nice. Special moves are definitely what this game needs to round out the mechanics.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39am

It's a shame your game had to be cut so short, the yoyo stuff is really cool. I also really dig the art style and the creepy alien enemies. I think the collision with enemies didn't work right though, I definitely should've been dead.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41am

Really like the concept and the yo-yo mechanics feel really nice. Sometimes the game would get a bit laggy for a few seconds. I enjoyed the music and art a lot. I'd definitely play again if more content was added :). Great work!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50am

Mood is sometimes the easier of the two to get - but really good art can be tough! So clearly you've got a suite of tools around. I looked at your web page too.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

This one is just missing the cut for that, but that's where I fuzz my reviews a little - I'd like to see a post-compo version with all the stuff added back in! Drop me a line on DoCo because this one could really take a review!

--TaoPhoenix

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54am

Great game. Thanks

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Cool, the enemies on the ground look Alien inspired :) Nice (but short) game

keyboardsan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Very nice graphics and good music. ^_^
However, is it just me or is your FPS really low?

Shared says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

A bit easy, but the graphics and audio are very comfy.

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Really liked the atmosphere of this game, the music was very fitting. Overall good game, nicely done!

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Would love to see more gameplay.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Nice game with cool graphics.. the game had a good mood too.. I waited it to be a little bit longer thought :]

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Haaa I want the background coming with this nice game !

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

It's a nice game and he art is wonderful. The pace might be a bit too slow, which makes the feel repetitive too early.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

This was a fun entry - wish there was more to it, health in particular would have added a challenge. But a good first LD! (And don't worry about the shortness, we all know what that's like! :P)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I win :)
This entry is great, but the big problem isn't that it's too short, but it's too slow. The same game with some gameplay a little bit more hard will be great. The graphics are impressive. Can we wait an update soon? Thank you ++

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

This game is really nice. The music and graphics are good, and the interpretation of theme is great. It is really short, but it was enjoyable the whole way through. Good controls, making the yoyo do double damage was really nice. Would like to see this as a more full game with more levels and a storyline. Awesome job.

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12am

Nice graphic, music and yoyo simulation!
But wont hurt touching enemy, the game is not completed?

fserb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:03am

Fun stuff. :) The yoyo mechanic is a really great idea.

binarycoder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

Great work. Looks and handles very polished.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I liked the idea of the mechanic, but the movement in the game was a little too slow for me.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:08am

Cool game! I liked the yoyo-mechanic. The graphics are nice too! My only gripe is that the gameplay is pretty slow and the character is really floaty.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:09am

Re^ above - Or it might be my computer I'm playing is quite slow. Too bad there's no edit button.

morazor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:31am

Damn, the time is so short! Besides what is missing, it feels cool and the mechanics are nice! Good job!

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53am

So much potential! Inspirational, ambitious.

Walk speed is a little to slow and I struggled with the keyboard mouse coordination on a laptop with touchpad.

But the yoyo mechanics itself are top notch and being able to jump while tethered is so oozing potential in a platform game...

Come back next time with the same mechanic please :)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:01am

Graphics and animations are cool. Too bad it is so short! :-)
Well done!!

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00am

That was one unconventinal weapon! Beautiful graphics, shame it was that short :(

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08am

When you fire at the ground you walk the dog. Nice haha!

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:15am

Although the game is incomplete, but the idea and concepts are really good, with great potential to become a cool platformer mechanic!

celisoft says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:10am

This is a pretty game but unfinished because enemies can't beat you.

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:06am

very cool game! I especially liked how the yoyo hurt enemies as it got back to me :)

vicious_br says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

Why apologize for being short game! Great job, congratulations!

Druid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:57am

Short but really nice entry! I really liked that yoyo mechanics!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Very nice graphics and core mechanic - this one could be continued, would love to see more yo-yo variations and elaborate level design. Congrats!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:59pm

The interesting physics of a yo-yo on a string is perfect for a fun and satisfying video game weapon! I had lots of fun combining jumps with yo-yo attacks in order to take out multiple enemies in a single attack. The character's movement speed could be a little faster, but the terrific chilled out music sort of fit the slower pace actually. If you keep working on this and implement the features you mentioned, I think this could be a really fantastic larger game. Awesome job!

Mantlair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Nice game. Finish this thing when possible please!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:41am

Great job, The way the yo-yo worked was awesome. I felt like the character moved just a hair too slow.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

Love the art style.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

Beautiful artwork. I loved "walking the dog". I really wanted to know the context and bakc story to this mysterious character. You made me very interested with the world and person you crafted.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

VERY FUN... LOL...
I LIKE THAT SLOW MOVEMENT... LOL..
wanna run run run from that weird animal.. but i can't.... and that yoyo move too slooow too... lol... but that angle preview was so good...

overall... great games!!...
hope you can improve it... i wanna play more.. this game is too short....lol

AdricZero says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Great entry. Wished it was a longer. Was looking for combos when hitting more than one enemy at a time. It was satisfying to destroy enemies on the return trip of the yo-yo.

Bergara says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:02am

Very good! I like the fighting mechanics, but I think it could be a little faster paced. Maybe add some advanced controls over the yoyo, like doing tricks.
BTW, your character looks like David Tennant's 10th Doctor. =)

marinalucio says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:50am

Nice game! I like the art style you created and it's an original idea. The only thing i have to point out is that the movements are too slow. Seems like gravity is kinda off in this world. But other that that, great game. :)

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:07am

nice mood!

blubberquark says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:01am

Great Mood and great take on the theme. I like thatyou don't just shoot yoyos, but they come back like yoyos.

drludos says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Nice entry, very creative weapon idea! I like the overall art style, the music, and the way the yoyo moves around the screen!

Too bad you couldn't add more stuffs during the compo, because your post-compo version is indeed more polished (screen shakes, yeah!) - although I think that the red bud too strong an enemy for a first encounter IHMO (the flies of the compo version were fine).

Anyway, congrats!

Rulrite says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:33am

Nice job! I'm glad I got my hands on a mouse so that I could finally play this. You really nailed the art, and the concept itself is very interesting - I'd love to see it as you envisioned, with the bosses, techniques, extra yo-yos, etc. As it stands, though, the main mechanic is still very satisfying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]