Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sheep

by Cstudios - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: this game is not finished. Its full of bugs and glitches. We did not had the time and the energy. At this moment you can play 4 levels. It can be played trough, however some parts are not intuitive as they should be. You need to play around.

HOW TO PLAY: you need to add a set of instructions (you can add more than 6) to shoot the targets and explode at the target area. The explosions area:
lvl0 - in the building
lvl1 - on the top of the tower
lvl2 - the red container in the end of the hangar
lvl3 - anywhere. the level is not finished

THE STORY in short: You are a robot programer, given the task to stop the occupant brainwashing the people. However later you realize, that your activities are financed by the enemy and the occupants are the rightful inhabitants of your country. In the last attack by you, was target against yourself. So in the end while fighting the "sheep" thinking people, you realize that you were the one brains washed. But its to late.

The story is not totally present in the game... due to lack of time.

The list of known bugs:
-the cut-scene pictures are misplaced
-sometimes the cut-scene skips itself
-the jumping and shooting animation don't work on the robot
-the seconds level lighting changes after the restart
-the restart screen buttons are not skinned
-in the 4th level the soldiers are not shooting
-on the second level, you can not move from the elevator, just explode on the top


---------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------HINT!---------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------------
add this to your instructions and you pass the first level!
lvl0 - move; move; move; move; jump; shoot; move; shoot; 9 x move; explode;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#417Audio(Jam)2.98
#573Innovation(Jam)3.00
#700Graphics(Jam)2.91
#860Mood(Jam)2.50
#914Theme(Jam)2.60
#917Humor(Jam)1.77
#968Overall(Jam)2.61
#1033Fun(Jam)2.05

Comments

Luke Magitem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:59am

The idea seems nice, but I can't figure how to pass the first level. Nice graphics and sounds through.

LuisDC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:42pm

I thought the first level was a tutorial and I tried to copy the simbols that I saw in the screen, but I lost anyway. Then I tried more things but I had insta-death everytime :/ Nice idea anyway.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I added a hint, how to play the tutorial level, just add those instruction and you will get through. :)

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice graphics, music, controlling, idea. Although it takes many tries ti get it right. Trial and error :)

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Looks like an interesting concept. Unfortunately, I too was unable to get through the first section.

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Good idea for a game with programmed moves! The UI with all the stripes was hard for me to process, it felt too busy. The way you constructed your program felt hard to use, and I wish it would retain my prior program when I lost so I could make small tweaks instead of trying to recreate what I had from scratch every time.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

goadrich: yes, at first it was saving your previous input, but the game was to easy that way. Now its to hard and we had no time to figure out the middle ground. So you are 100% correct :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I liked the concept. After solving the puzzle, I had to try the level several times just to see if I had estimated the number of sequential moves right. Maybe it could go until it hits a trigger, or have some kind of grid. After figuring out why I failed, it was a bit tedious to do the level several times but with slightly different repetitions of moves.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

maybe this helps: you have to explode in the end.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

It's a nice idea, but a bit too clunky to be enjoyable unfortunately. A few small changes could make it really good fun. 1) Speed up the interface. Clicking buttons has a long pause. This needs to be super quick. 2) Tutorial mission is very hard to understand. You have 3 symbols on the screen as if that is what you need, but you actually need to place 20(!) instructions to complete the first level. You should make the first level <5 instructions. 3) The icons aren't very clear (I thought the shooting one was move backwards) Still, good sound effects, nice idea, a little re-working and a new tutorial level and I it would be fun.

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Controls are annoying, but the idea is great. Why are the commands added in reverse order?
I also liked the music and sound

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:05pm

its absolutely needs reworking. but realy.. its far from finish. its like 50% of what we wanted to do... We were merging the code in the last 2 hours before submission. We weren't even sure that we want to submit it. We totally agree with your feedback! :)

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

The game was a bit difficult at first, but really cool premise. It almost feels like lemmings to give your unit a command. Overall pretty sweet game.

LeoM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice one but a bit tricky to play.
With the fail and retry concept it should be nice to not clear our board each time, when we have to make 20 enter each time it's long... And we dont know if the elevator will be 12 or 14 waiting time. ;)

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:24pm

The idea is really cool, but the game itself is really hard to handle, it could have been easier is the robot could be reprogrammed in the middle of a level, for example.
Anyway, the atmosphere was also pretty cool, good job!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Seems promising

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Interesting, but the game lacks in predictibility. There is not way for the player to know in advance what length a move will be, how many actions are needed to reach a given point, etc. Otherwise, graphically and on the audio side, this feels really polished.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Hum, interesting idea. In practise, it's hard to play because there's no clear instruction on what to do. Also, the sound volume at the beginning is way too loud X).

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Could be a little clearer (I thought I had to input instructions last->first) and with a gentler intro level, but I like games that involve programming.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:52pm

I wish there were descriptions over the commands, but other than that great sounds, cool graphics, cool game!

Dickie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

managed to get through the first level, just about, though was frustrating. got onto the second level and after a couple tries pressed the wait button 25x times and the elevator was still going up... my RSI's to bad to be clicking the same button trip 50+ times.

otherwise nice concept, just needed a little better implementation i.e. view distance, I know it's kind of a trail and error game but that's not really fun that's just punishing the player and wasting their time if they have to watch this little bit play out then re put in a bunch of clicks just to get one click further.

cool aesthetic and I liked how the little tanky dude bobbed up and down.

May 6, 2015 @ 9:06pm

It seemed like a cool idea = albeit a little frustrating. On my 3rd attempt at the first level I blew up and then couldn't do anything - had to refresh the page and restart the game.

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:11am

It's an interesting game for sure, but it's a bit too difficult to play. The concept of giving your robot instructions is easy to get into - the problem here is that there's no way of knowing or figuring out what instructions to give beforehand. Essentially it becomes a game of trial-and-error, where you give enough instructions to get the robot far enough to get a view of the next part of the level. Then, you redo the same instructions again and input additional instructions for the next part.

This game would really benefit from giving the player a way to move their view around the level, or making the length of movements a bit more obvious. That way the player can plan things out more. Alternatively, try to design levels that fit in one screen.

Other than than I found both the graphics and audio to be really impressive. With a bit of polish on the mechanics this could become something special. :)

Cstudios says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:07am

Just drag and move the camera :D. Sorry for the frustration.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]