Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

KimmyJong

by EthanWebster - Compo Entry

Use WASD to move and Space to fire potatoes. Kim Jong Un has finally nuked the world, but his arch enemy Obama is safe in his underground bunker. After gaining access to his bunker, you must help Kim Jong Un finish his job.

Created in C++ using SFML.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#320Humor3.17
#698Audio2.34
#755Mood2.69
#867Theme2.90
#894Graphics2.45
#929Fun2.53
#993Overall2.62
#1003Innovation2.30

Comments

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Neat game ;)

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

I liked the humour of the game and it is really difficult. Music can do with a little more, since it loops quite fast, but looks promising overall

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The sound is too loud ... Gameplay worked enough ..

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

The beginning intro definitely made me laugh!

Yvanor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38pm

It's a good game idea, but the game would be really funnier if the gameplay was more dynamic, it's too rigid ^^ But good job after all :)

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43pm

The game kind of drags on, and I had to give up when I reached what I believe was the 5th stage. It's a shame because I really wanted to see where the story lead to. It would be interesting to introduce new enemies or mechanics to keep the game from getting repetitive. Kudos!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Its good,, the sound could be louder kkk

Karai17 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:32am

Hilarious concept! Throwing potatoes at the Secret Service to defeat Obama made me laugh for sure. The game itself was pretty mediocre though, it didn't really feel like I was making progress. I eventually closed the game before reaching the end or a game over.

The graphics and audio left a lot to be desired, but you definitely had a strong grasp of the theme!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Potatoes are the best weapon, especially when infiltrating a bunker that houses a president. Sounds were good enough, graphics were a bit bland but worked, and the gameplay was brutal. A bit smaller hitbox for the enemy shots would've felt more fair. All in all, good game.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:19pm

thanks for making this. it was fun to try out :P little more work to graphics/music and would be a big difference :)

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Cool game. Would have been a bit better with mouse or arrow key shooting but except from that very fun. Liked the lightning system.

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Nice lighting! Also the only game I've played where I have assassinated the president with a potato!

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

BIZM says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:39am

I lol'ed. This was a fun and creative game. Simple but effective controls. The enemy projectiles had excessively large hitboxes, though. Aside from that, good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]