Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Trouble Cliff

by catchthefloaty - Jam Entry

Trouble Cliff is a game where sound is the force of the world. You have the ability to put enemies to sleep and the ability to wake them up again if your too careless. Enemies can also wake up each other.

Controls:
WASD to move
Left mouse to fire First weapon. -\
Right mouse to fire Second weapon.-The Difference is the bullet pathing.

Credits:

Design and Sound - David Kennedy
Programming - Nathan Kevilus
Environment Art - Trinity Holsworth
Character Art - Arthur Jackson and Raul Ramirez

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#511Audio(Jam)2.77
#546Innovation(Jam)3.05
#577Theme(Jam)3.28
#584Humor(Jam)2.71
#847Mood(Jam)2.54
#852Fun(Jam)2.56
#858Graphics(Jam)2.48
#875Overall(Jam)2.77

Comments

dvdfu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

Got really tough near the second level, but the music was neat!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23am

It doesn't seem to finish loading in Safari. Looks good though.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:30am

That's innovative! Had some fun with it. The faces the characters make are funny! Great job, guys!

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35am

It's a nice game! pretty fun

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49am

if anybody has issues i uploaded a webplayer edition. the opengl is still in beta

roving-stone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58am

Nice job. Awesome title haha.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45am

Great job. It was a nice game!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Innovative idea!

fun and challenging.

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20am

Fun characters and I like the bullet motions and level progression!

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20am

This was fun! second level was really tough for me.

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32am

Rightclick wasn't working in the WebPlayer (it brought up the unity player settings click-menu instead) but the game was fun. I enjoyed the character expressions!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32am

It's cool that the approach here is to hit things the right number of times, but it's definitely frustrating sometimes with all of those random notes floating around, especially when their movement is so wavy.

The wavy notes are very cool looking, though. I often found myself just spamming notes because I enjoyed how they looked/moved.

I'm glad I made it to the boss fight! That was neat, although certainly pretty easy compared to the level right before it.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10am

I couldn't right click but the game was cool to play. I like the environment graphics, you could improve character design though.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38pm

God job, very different idea, nice work.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Really liked the art style and very interesting concept.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:02am

Cute characters, cool backgrounds. I was confused most of the time, but for me that is normal. I think the music concept is a great idea, but could be better if you use the music to color grey characters and make them happy.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Good music! What went wrong with chrome?

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:25am

Pretty much the same issues that the other games are having with Chrome, I think if you hunt around the website you'll find where the ludum dare folks describe some fixes

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:33am

A challenging but enjoyable game with a mechanic that deviates enough from the standard shooter to feel fresh and new. With some final polishing this could be a fantastic game :)

Taldius says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Nice idea, but the game itself is pretty hard because the sound waking up the enemies and the weird patterns.
But good, job overall.

dallonf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:19pm

I actually wasn't expecting to like this game as much as I did... but once I figured out how things worked (that you have to hit every enemy exactly once, without them getting hit by other projectiles), it was really clever and challenging!

Flayk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:30am

The overall mood of the game was unique. I don't think the game was trying to be funny, but it had a charm to it that makes me think I would like these characters if I got to see more of them. The audio is alright, I think the main character's voice would have been better a bit lower-pitch, though. The graphics do their job, and kind of remind me of Doctor Suess. It fit the jam's theme really well and was overall innovative and fun.

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:58am

I thought there were a lot of great ideas that, put together, became a sort of a disaster. I think your characters moves a little too slowly to dodge notes, and its collider was really large. The note that you shot (left-click) was too unpredictable, and the right click was hard with the webplayer since it kept bringing up the context menu. The enemy bullet patterns was perhaps the most interesting part of the game, since it forced me to consider which enemy to take out first. I was also bewildered by the inconsistent styles with the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]