Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

BOOMBOX

by Zielak - Compo Entry

Save people from sadness WITH MUSIC!

You have 10 seconds!

People spawn at random places, bring music to their life by shooting notes at them. Happy people will keep on dancing, but sad people can die.
Game over when the timer runs out, so make people happy or wait for them to die... you monster.

README: Web version required WebGL in your browser. If for some reason it runs slowly or doesn't run at all -> Download the native version for Windows. I'll make Linux version later.

Controls:

- WSAD / ARROWS / ZSQD - walk around
- Mouse - Aim and left button to shoot notes
- +/- - change volume of the music if you don't like it ;)

#NOKILL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#113Audio3.61
#220Humor3.39
#225Theme3.76
#247Mood3.32
#416Graphics3.26
#441Overall3.29
#461Innovation3.24
#523Fun3.09

Comments

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Nice idea, but I didn't like having to watch through the beginning every time when I restart the game

fserb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Very fun game. I was a bit confused about the fail criteria (sometimes I'd miss some dancers and I'd still pass). But still very fun. Enjoyed the music too. :)

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

@fserb, if you passed that means the last guy died before you made him dance -> insta next level ;) You can fail only when the timer runs out, people can die regardless.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Timer seems super harsh, especially when the restart loop has unskippable cutscenes in it :)

Nice idea for a game though, and I dug the stick figure animations dancing - Reminded me a lonely Island song

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I myself thought the boombox was a bit on the small side. Interesting game mechanic. I think I had beginner's luck on the first play as I played all the way through and no one died of sadness, but my subsequent attempts were more like my attempts at dancing in real life, ie, not so good.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

great game but retrys should be just one button press away from when you die

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice game, pretty fun !

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Interesting idea. But your character moves around like he's on roller skates, and when I shot a note the game crashed. Still a nice little game though. Good job!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Brilliant game. Simple and well executed, and doesn't give you enough time to be sad about how little there is to do. This game is a metaphor for itself.

Given exactly what the game is going for, I don't know what I would do to improve it.

morazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I really like the dancers animations, the art is simple yet very nice and fun :D

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:42am

This game is so much fun! :)

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:11pm

hehe. I like the concept of using music. good job :D !

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

The music and dancing animations come together joyfully! The timers are a little strict and it takes too long to loop around and start playing again -- I want to get back into the game, because it's fun!

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Nice game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Sometimes where the guys were at, made it almost impossible to complete the level due to the strict timer. Also seeing the start screen all the time, made me put off a little bit. (Really needed a quick start) Other than that, great simple graphics, good controls and a nice simple beat. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I like the simple art and the cool dance animations.

rallebauz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04am

Cool game, I like the dancing animations!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very short game, but I really loved it! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q8RvVjW24Io

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Love it!

rudra says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Nice game :) Pretty fun to play :) I found myself playing it for a long time :)

Multiplexor says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:57am

I liked it a lot! Everything is very polished and the music and dancing animations are top notch. Biggest complaint i have is the waiting time after you die. Also maybe it's too hard at the beginning (You could start with 20 seconds, and get less seconds every round)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]