Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Floating Island Shootout

by felix3456 - Jam Entry

In this game, you are on an island, the goal is to shoot Blue Rectangles (yes, the graphics weren't finished) with your gun. You can switch gravity with the given powerups which spawn randomly around the map, same with enemies. Play till you die, get a high score. Post your high score in the comments if you can.
Controls:
Movement: WASD
Jump: Space
Run: LShift
Shoot: Left Click on Linux, Comma on windows
The unconventional weapon is that you can kill you're self if you switch gravity and fall out of the map.
NOTE: to run the linux version you need libsdl2, if you are using the apt-get package manager run: sudo apt-get install libsdl2-2.0-0

YOUTUBE VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_6LqrpmwlA

======== USING THE LEVEL EDITOR ========
to use the most useful features of the level editor, you need to run the game from a console, command prompt in windows, terminal in linux.

The level editor is not meant to be user friendly, made just so I could make a level for the game.

Once running from console, press F4 (in the game window, not console, the only time you use the console is when pressing 1 and 5) to enable the level editor, now you have more keys available.

Enemies and items should now stop spawning and you should see the spawn locations (where enemies and items spawn).

1 - Switch left mouse tile
The game should freeze, this is normal.
in the console you need to enter the layer and the tile id. (listed below), then you can place tiles with left mouse, and delete them with right mouse.
3 - Put down moving platform
The type of moving platform is specified in 5
5 - Set type of moving platform
There are a few factors that you will be asked:
Width, Height (self explaining)
Radius X, Radius Y (how far in both axis)
Speed X, Speed Y (speed in both axis)
Type (the type is the same as the tiles in the tile layer listed below)
0 - Delete entity, (this can be a moving platform, pickup item, or enemy)
- (MINUS) - remove the entity spawner where the mouse is
+ (EQUALS) - add an entity spawner where the mouse is
Page up and page down switch gravity

==== TILE ID'S AND LAYERS ====
Layer 0 - Background:
0 = No Tile
1 = Dirt Background
2 = Rock Background
3 = Purple Brick Background
Layer 1 - Liquids:
0 = No Liquid
1 = Water
2 = Waterfall
3 = Lava
Layer 2 - Tiles (moving platforms type variable uses this list):
0 = No Tile
1 = Dirt
2 = Grass
3 = Sand
4 = Metal
5 = Rock
6 = Dark Purple Brick
7 = Cloud
8 = Spikes
9 = Ladder
~~ 10 = Vine (planned, but NOT added)
11 = Sinking Sand (not used in the main map)

To save the level press ENTER while in level editor mode
The game should make a leveledit.bin file, this is the map you have just created
map.bin is the hardcoded file the game loads up as a map, so to play your new level again or give it to a friend, rename leveledit.bin to map.bin.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Fun(Jam)3.61
#239Overall(Jam)3.56
#299Mood(Jam)3.38
#429Innovation(Jam)3.22
#500Graphics(Jam)3.33
#527Audio(Jam)2.72
#1006Theme(Jam)2.22
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49am

This is really good, and I had a lot of fun. I think just throwing in a few non animated sprites (even little pulsing circles) would have been nice, as I couldn't draw my eye of the very contrasting red squares. The rest of your graphics were so good too! The audio was good, and definitly added a lot of atmosphere too the game. The mechanic of the world switching was really fun too, although despite what you said in the description, I don't really see how close it is too the theme.

I really like this. It's good.

The small touches like the undenyable lava and water were cool, and the excitment of having enemies leap from the stars was cool.

Also, +1 cpp +1 linux.

Good job :D

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

I had a lot of fun playing this :) I was screaming and shouting a lot. I got 4500 :)

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:19am

Great job, I love the twisting mechanic!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:50pm

This was loads of fun :) Got 4200!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Felt very satisfying to shoot and kill things, cool gravity mechanic. Shame about the unfinished graphics but good job otherwise :)

-Hando

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Nice entry!
Liked:
- Graphics. They looked very nice and fit nicely with each-other. Gave the game a unified and polished feel; impressive for an LD game
- Controls. They felt smooth and responsive. The physics was matched well to them.
- The diversity of game objects. Water? Lava? Bouncy things? Moving platforms? COOL!

Disliked:
- Didn't fit the theme. You used a machine gun (conventional), enemies were deadly to touch (gaming trope), and rotation-things aren't weapons.
- The rotation-things felt unnecessary. They were easy to avoid, so they weren't a threat, and the level wasn't designed in a way that let you use them strategically.

Overall: Didn't really fit the theme, but looks nice and has an impressive amount of content!

jprogman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:00am

Your work does have a lot of elements that can be turned into a nice platform game. Some glitches here and there, but I'm not too concerned about those. The rotation is a nice touch, but are usually in the wrong places. (I take it those are randomly placed.) Hope you'll continue developing this further.

radmars says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:05am

Cool idea but the fact that gravity switching just kills you more often than not is pretty annoying. This would be awesome if the levels were more bounded & took more advantage of the gravity mechanic.

smokecastles says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I loved the controls, very responsive and enjoyable. Also the gravitational changes that only affect your player, nice idea, and it also looks very well implemented!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:15pm

I liked the look of the game, quite fun!

SamH says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:48pm

The mechanics are great, the pacing too; the level design a bit less, enemies seem to keep jumping on me from nowhere and after some gravity switches many places become just unreachable… but with some carefully designed levels, it could become a great action game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]