Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Invaded

by TwittleCreator - Jam Entry

Hi, this game is obviously not finished... which sucks. I tried to write some code that I didn't now how to write and ended up screwing up all of the AI. But I reset it up to more like a tech demo. I am only 12 years old so I am proud of this. Please give suggestions and ratings. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#485Audio(Jam)2.83
#607Graphics(Jam)3.11
#652Humor(Jam)2.58
#751Mood(Jam)2.71
#860Innovation(Jam)2.42
#897Overall(Jam)2.73
#933Fun(Jam)2.38
#943Theme(Jam)2.50
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

Nice entry, also since as you said that you are 12 it's very good, when I wa s 12 I only played games :D

But maube next time you can try to make the game with construct 2, it is very easy compared to unity, keep it up!

Photon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39am

For some reason the loading bar fills up and then the webpage hangs. Not sure what the problem is. Sorry!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

12 years?!?! GREAT WORK! Congrats!!! :)

chrissi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

The web version also hangs for me. Not sure what's wrong... can't play :(

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

Nice work, it's always good to see younger people getting into the game development gig :D

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

Can't try the game, I enter a level and can't move.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

Hey don't worry man, I can see that you tried and the story/graphics came out pretty good. Voice acting made me laugh I won't lie.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

EPIC VOICEOVER!

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31am

I cannot run the game in firefox, could you upload a windows build?

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Awesome graphics! I´m only 14 yrs old myself, so it´s fun to see other younger people here too! I recommend watching youtube tutorials to learn scripting. Good Luck!

igoramendola says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

It takes a while to load the game. Nice graphics and your voice acting is pretty good hehehe.
It's good to see somebody with your age coding. Keep coding, it's awesome. Meanwhile, if you want to try something simpler for now, my suggestion to you is to try to use Stencyl :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:54am

Even though it isn't finished, you got a ton of stuff done here that sets up the premise of an interesting game. My advice: keep at it. Don't let your lack of code knowledge be a roadblock, learn your way through it!

Blobo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:23pm

The text is offscreen a bit. other than that, good entry for 12 years old.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Very impressive... I was a dumb 12 years old, obviously you're smarter than me :)

Somnium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

You managed to get in a lot of content, both nice graphics, and even some voice-overs. I'd say the game show potential - so just keep practicing :-)

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Nice game for someone who is only 12. However I had some problem with the enemies, I felt like I didn't hit them. The art style was pretty cool and the controls were smooth.
Good job!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I really liked the introductory phone call, which set a nice mood.

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Stuck on a black screen... but the intro was better than anything I've made so far.

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Congratulations for entry.
Keep doing games, is the best way to learn!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Neat idea, and nice effort, well done. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:02am

cred for being 12 - this was great work - keep it up

MiniBobbo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:34am

I wasn't sure how to enter a mission, but I enjoyed the introduction and listening to the sweet voiceover during the mission selection screen. As you practice more you will start to develop a better understanding about what you're capable of and how to approach things.

Just keep going and keep learning! Programming games is fun and teaches you all sorts of useful things you can use for the rest of your life!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]