Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Lighter

by HawkSandwich - Compo Entry

The Lighter - A low-fidelity art style mixed with brutality using... Your lighter. If you play the web version, you must use something other than Google Chrome, as they've disabled the Unity Web add-on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2469Coolness0%

Comments

Nova 6 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:25am

Lol, I am using Chrome and works fine. Is there anything I don't know?

Nova 6 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:31am

This one's pretty nice/good job.
It was pretty hard to kill the boss; just had only 7% left and defeated him with the lighter.

factorial says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I didn't beat the boss but lold at the death message. :) Fun, nice retro style art.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great game! Not a big fan of retro art, but thats just me

morgondag says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice minecrafting!

joylessSnake says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 2:44pm

fun game at the final boss i had no idea what to do but i figured it out eventually

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Nice game :D I cheesed the boss tho (my little Dark Souls player inside of me told me that i should keep all the dynamite for the boss :D)

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21am

I love the art style. Gameplay is good. Polished, no visiblke bugs. But the weapon is kind of like a regular flame thrower (press button to kill), so only 4/5 from me.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Lovely game! Love the retro FPS look. Just curious since I didn't find any, are there any secrets in the game?

danidre14 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I found out about your game from Newgrounds, so you should really post a link there to get to it, for rating, without having to search.

I like the game, it kept me going... and that flying thing is hard! How many hits? XD

A bit scary when I turn and the ghosts are right there. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]