Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Global Warning

by fueelin - Jam Entry

Game Summary:
Mother Nature is tired of those pesky humans and their polluting ways. She has entrusted you with some of her power so you can thin the herd.

Use rain and lightning to make those climate change deniers expire!

The less you can impact the natural order the better, but Mother Nature knows that some sacrifices must be made for the greater good.

Dev Summary:
I had too many obligations this weekend to finish within the Compo, so I decided to switch to the Jam. I still didn't have time to make decent graphics or add any sound - apologies for that!


Tutorial:
The goal is to kill all of the humans by drowning or crushing them.

Click and drag a rain cloud to move it - watch the water flow!

Sewers drains halt the flow from nearby tiles.

Lightning can be used to knock over trees. Click on the tree and hold the button to aim the tree's fall. Falling trees will block the flow of water, block sewer drains, and can crush humans.

The less you move rain clouds and the fewer lightning strikes you use, the higher your score will be.

Every level can be beaten while only moving each cloud once!


POST-COMPO ADDITION:
Hold Control and mouse over a tile to see details about its flow. Normally, it will draw white lines to indicate its sources. If the line is red, the puddle is evaporating. If it's flowing into a drain, a red line will be drawn to the drain.


Controls:
Mouse (see tutorial)
R - Restart level
N - Skip level


IF THE GAME CRASHES ON START:
Install the XNA 4.0 distributable (located in 'IFCRASH' folder in .rar)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#697Overall(Jam)3.00
#810Fun(Jam)2.62
#825Humor(Jam)2.21
#904Mood(Jam)2.39

Comments

Martins says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52pm

"LD32 has stopped working" - immediately after opening ( on win7)

Datamosh says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

I liked it, but left me wondering if weather or nature can count as a weapon or not :P

haveric says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

It was a little hard to tell if leaving a cloud alone for a while would flood a certain area or if it had to be moved. I couldn't quite wrap my head around which tiles were going to be flooded, especially when multiple sewers were involved. Clouds can also get stuck on top of each other if dragged to the same tile, which ended up making one level unbeatable (or maybe I didn't wait long enough).

With all of that said, it is an interesting concept and I enjoyed it. It fits well with the theme and has a lot of potential.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

I loved the idea! And it's a pretty cool unconventional weapon ;)

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:26am

Nice idea! Definitely needs polish, but it's a great prototype. Communicating what's going on in terms of drainage would be good - maybe via a flow animation.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:08am

The idea sounds interesting but I couldn't run it.

calavera says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

Great idea! i dont even wanna know how you handled the flow

fueelin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:21am

I'll work on fixing the overlapping cloud bug - hadn't encountered that yet.

I definitely agree that one of the biggest things that's missing is more graphical indicators of exactly what's going on/affecting the flow. Unfortunately I just didn't have the time to implement that.

fueelin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:21am

Davikin92, what happened when you tried to run the game? Did you install the XNA redistributable?

fueelin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:14am

I updated the game with a fix to the overlapping cloud that haveric mentioned, which was a game-breaking bug.

Note that you can also press 'r' to restart the level and 'n' to advance to the next level if you get truly stuck.

fueelin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:10am

I also added a Post Compo version with a new feature added to help visualize the flow of water between tiles, including drains. See the updated description for more info.

Somnium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:29am

Innovative puzzle game. I liked the concept :-) As has been mentioned (and as you have fixed in the post-jam version), it was a bit hard to guess the effect of the storm drains in the jam version.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:20am

I really like the gamebase, the idea of the rain is nice!
It's a little easy but good! Well done! :D

Boberro says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:31am

Quite original. Water flow might have been a little faster, as it's irritating to wait two minutes (first drain level) to see that it won't go further.

jprogman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Great idea of using monsoon rain as a weapon. Clever puzzler!
Hopefully the post-compo version addresses some issues with the water flow. Some spots not near the drain wouldn't flood with just one cloud.

Croze says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:04am

That was a really cool, reminds me of a game I played about infecting a human and spreading it through choice of placement, idk the strategy concept was similar haha. Nice to see a realtime puzzle game fitting with the theme though, very innovative.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:49am

Good idea. Outside of the screen are an invisible indian who dancing the rain dance. XD

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Neat concept, liked it!

LukuluK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:10am

I liked the concept, but I was feeling too passive while looking at the water expanding on the ground.

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:38pm

A very apocalyptic concept hahah great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]