Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

6RAVITY

by MFEP - Jam Entry

You wake up in a strange place with hazy memories. Try to find your way out of this dreamlike maze with your gravity-bending weapon!

Movement: WASD
Interaction (for carrying boxes): Left click
Gravity change: Space bar

Developed by a four-member team. Original music by Seaside (facebook.com/seasidesounds)

Update Log

2015.04.22.
-boxes don't block view when hauled
-cannot drop box out of the level anymore
-unintended slow walking with box bug fixed
-multiple door opening sound fixed (this was confusing, since doors open only once)
-now you actually have to solve level 2 to pass through
-invisible weapon bug on level 2 is fixed
-missing fonts bug on level 2 is fixed
-windows build
2015.04.23
-sticky boxes are now sticky initially

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#176Overall(Jam)3.64
#282Innovation(Jam)3.46
#303Mood(Jam)3.37
#306Audio(Jam)3.22
#404Fun(Jam)3.21
#489Theme(Jam)3.39
#640Graphics(Jam)3.04
#801Humor(Jam)2.25

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

The concept is good, level design is fine. The box's blocks my view when I am waking with them.

KCrimson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nice idea, worth expanding upon. Boxes could do with being smaller/transparent when picked up.

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54pm

great concept, fun puzzles. Only complaint is the block restricts view a lot when you hold it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Nice weapon concept and level design.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21am

Great concept and atmosphere!
But the box is blocking my view so much that I can't see the road :(

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

I loved playing this game (and not just because we have games with a similar name :) - they play completely differently).
I especially liked the approach, mood and audio - all those fit well together.
The texts that pop up are neat.
The gameplay would be better if boxes didn't block my view (should be positioned further away), and if they didn't fall down and got stuck in the ground/wall. One such box couldn't be moved anymore so I couldn't continue playing it.
Also maybe it would be good if there was a way to get better orientations - I was kinda getting confused from all the gravity switches (but maybe that's a "feature").
Still, best game I played so far, I hope you make a final version eventually.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very good concept! Would scale the boxes a little bit down when youhave them in the hand. But really cool, love the ambient sound!

dyfer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I liked the idea and the ambiance. very confusing !

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I see valve buying the idea... omg! this will be on half life 3? Sorry, i am over reacting. Great innovation, reminded me portal and antichamber.

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Great idea for a game mechanic. :)
The gravity change didn't seem to affect any of the boxes that I had previously carried, is that supposed to happen? Maybe they were getting stuck in the wall?

Luminar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Daaamn interesting concept. I really liked it :)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Really nice idea that fits into the unconventional weapon theme nicely. The gravity changing was handled really well and the sounds and music were great. Only complaint would be that it gets quite confusing as to where you are as the walls kind of blend in and look the same. Great Idea with lots of potential

-Neith

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Awesome concept!

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Thank you all for playing our game! We are surprised how much positive feedback we got, because that was the first LD we participated (even the first common project of ours), and we hardly succeeded creating the first 2 levels of the 5 planned, but now we consider to bring on!

@DeadFragment, @SpringCabal
The lack of orientation is intentional, but there's some help: the floor is always gray, the ceiling is always brownish and the walls are always colored in a gradient of the two

@novadream
If you mean the red ones, that's also intentional, they are the so called "sticky" boxes

PanKamil says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:48pm

My God... that plot ;_;

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:36am

First thing I notice is that this game had a very familiar mood. Something about first person puzzle games brings this bitter-sweet sense of calm. The graphics were alright, it was innovative and I caught myself having fun during those tricky moments. The audio was soothing, and fit the game. My main criticism is that the gravity-gun seemed more like a tool than a weapon.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I think this is a neat little game! It's a very clever mechanic that you're working with, although I must admit that I did find the levels a bit disorientating.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Enjoyable and colorful style, Liked the simple design of the level, there's alot of similarities between this and our game!

Fabraz says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Physics based puzzlers are always great. Very "portal" like. Nice take on the gravitational mechanics. I'd suggest steering away from the "testing lab" theme though, been done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]