Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

FoodWar

by Barink-social - Compo Entry

What is this game about?
FoodWar is a game where
you fight against food in order to safe humanity.

Tools:
-GameEngine: Unity5
-Texture's: Microsoft Paint & Unity Default material & Google
-Models: Blender
-Sounds: Audacity

About Me:
Hey there, I am Nigel and i really enjoyed
making this game.with a lot of effort and
a lot of fun here is my final result.

This is my second entrie for the ludum dare compo.
any opinions on this game ? give them down below.
your opinion and feedback makes the difference.
BTW if you play it on fullscreen. close the app with alt+f4

+ web come's soon

Things I would pay more attention to next time :
- Font Color
- Prettier UI
- better map generation (Maybe more random map gen's)
- Good Texure's (Makes the game look so much better)
- Don't spend time on fixing details the first day
- better tutorial

NOTE : if you really like the content i make, make sure to check out my website aswell.Also it will give you the change of playing further developed LD game's.

http://www.haveaniceday.net84.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2469Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

web version doesn't work on either Firefox or Chrome. Popup ads all over the place too.

Barink-social says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

@GeeItSomLaldy i noticed that after uploading , going to fix it tho. give me 1 day. for now download the other versions of the game. NOTE: all the downloads are .zip files so make sure to unzip them. :)

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Download version works fine, good take on the theme but the text is really hard to read. Solid entry though :)

Barink-social says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:30pm

@bencmcnelly, i was mostly going for a good looking game. and yeah text was a hard thing 'cause the colors where quite bright

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:49am

needs some work - could not build more than one turret at the start - good effort

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very fitting with the theme, good job! :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Lots of graphics but the gameplay needs more attention, I felt like it was hopeless, could not afford more than one tower while the enemies was destroying the base.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

"NOTE: all the downloads are .zip files so make sure to unzip them. :) "
Why is it in .rar then? Sorry, I have Mac and I don't know how to unrar it :)

Barink-social says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:27am

@Huo-cuo there's a mac version of winrar. search it up on google. plus i am planning on having a page with a tutorial on how this works. thanks

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]