Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cortex Control

by Smokeylope - Compo Entry

Sneak through increasingly complex levels and turn your foes against each other with the power of mind control!

Instructions
-Use arrow keys to move
-Press space near an enemy to control it
-Press space when controlling an enemy to shoot or to commit suicide as the last one alive
-Your objective is to eliminate all enemies

Tools used
Eclipse
LibGDX
Bfxr
Audacity
LMMS

Font used is Andina

The web build has some audio issues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#181Fun3.58
#248Innovation3.56
#274Theme3.69
#281Overall3.47
#308Audio3.16
#314Mood3.22
#434Graphics3.22
#795Humor2.25

Comments

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07am

Cool idea, but very very hard in an unpleasant way. Might benefit from mouse aim rather than relying on 8-directional shooting?

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Great idea and graphics but for me the controls are a bit frustrating sometimes

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Awesome idea! It's somehow too hard to aim, which makes game harder in a inconvinient way.

duck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I think I just spent about an hour messing up the last level and trying it again. I found the controls to be fine; if I felt like it was difficult because of the controls I probably wouldn't have bothered finishing it - but no, I was just being crap :) Nice tense feeling to it, especially when there's only a few enemies left to clear. Would be nice if the music was a bit louder in relation to the sfx, but that's a minor issue. Really enjoyed it!

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice concept and quite fun but as the others said a bit too hard.

PaulJs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Awesome d&r ! But hard !

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Dang how do you kill the last enemy? Fun game I liked the aesthetic a lot. Cool music!

IL_yoshioka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

great!
difficult game,but very fun!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Very fun but very difficult! I like the idea of mind control. I think you could have made a easier game with it though!

Smiley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

yay.. another libGDX game :)

a bit difficult especially with only 1 in health and enimies that targets you very easy.

great graphic

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Woo this is really nice! I really like the core mechanics!
Music is good and graphic too. Well done!

Javabot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

really difficult, but loved every second.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:16pm

The idea is cool, really hard too play, and that's a think I love. You should consider keep working on it and close the product (with a menu, etc)

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21pm

This was really fun. I enjoyed every moment playing it, even failing was satisfying. The entire system was intuitive and easy to grasp yet brilliantly challenging and engaging. If I could as for one thing it would be for a new mechanic to turn up, some new way to develop the idea but the game is also brilliant in its simplicity.

talecrafter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

That's very cool. I like the mechanics a lot.
I thought it was a bit hard but I kept playing so maybe it was exactly right.
Graphics are OK, but display of a dead enemy should be clearer/faded out, so that distracts not anymore.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Awesome game. I didn't really mind the aiming. It's just sooo hard. I with there was a way to know how long the mind control is going to last and it's a bit unfair, that the guards have a seemingly infinite range of vision. I never beat the third level. Anyway, well done.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Quite tricky but once you get the hang of it, it's fun. Well done! Only the music is a bit too dull for my taste.

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Want multiplayer ;D

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Also, web player hangs at the beginning of the loading for some reason

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:56am

petty neat idea - but very hard to play - i can imagine playing this on my old 2600

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I will beat this! Then I will score it

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:41pm

One of the most fun so far, played it for ages, got to level 4 or 5 and still have the tab open to try and get further.

Once you get used to dodging bullets, killing and moving the guy out of the way so you can survive its not so tough.

graphics and sound didnt matter so much as the gameplay was great

coderitual says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Nice concept! Very similar to Messiah game :)

aidarbek says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:31pm

This game rocks!!!

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:59am

Nice game! I love the mind control mechanic, although some kind of indicator of when it runs out would be nice.

Tense, and quite hard!

daltostronic says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:12pm

OH DUDE! this is cool! It's actually really hard, but I really love the use of theme :)

Rialgar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:27pm

needs a countdown to know how long the mind control lasts, otherwise it is great. Difficult, but I like it that way.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This is a really neat mechanic. I couldn't figure out how to know when the mind control was going to wear off, which resulted in a lot of frustrating deaths. If you provided that information to the player, perhaps as well as a visual indicator of when you are close enough to control an enemy, I think it would go a long way. As it stands, I still really enjoyed playing around with the mechanic. Nice job!

ceosol says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:36am

Great entry. It ranks up there with the bests I've played. I'm being a little nitpicky here, but it would have been a lot better not being so blocky. There was very little chance to hide since all of the corridors and walls are just as big as you are. But still, it has amazing potential for further development. I would totally play the finished product.

wilbefast says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:57am

Interesting concept. The game may be a bit too hard I think :S You might want to introduced a slight delay or inaccuracy on the enemy shots, or slow down their bullets: computers can fair at a speed and precision which seems unfair.

kipelovets says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:05am

The gameplay is really cool. As others commented, the interface is lacking some indicators, but it still is a very fun to play and engaging game.

JenniNexus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:47am

That was awesome! Hard!! But fun!

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:44am

Cool stealth game. Played for quite a while and completed it.

hitchh1k3r says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:02pm

The gameplay reminded me a bit of Hotline Miami, it was an enjoyable challenge to attempt overcoming each level. Because the player dies so often though (at least I did), I'd suggest shortening the respawn time, that way you can immediately try again.

gelisam says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Maybe I just didn't figure out the strategy, but I felt like there was too much luck involved and not enough skills.

May 9, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cool concept, but a bit overly difficult. Once an enemy is active they seem to shoot and kill you very quickly, even from the other side of the level. Nice simple pixel art and music create a cool sense of mood for the game. Solid entry overall.

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:56am

Nice game. I enjoyed both the atmosphere and the gameplay. Could maybe have a bit more gentle initial levels? I made it though the first, but gave up on the second after dying repeatedly.

eemmbbeerr says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:33am

Don't listen to them! It's not hard, it just need some practice. It was cool when I looked around and saw that all the corpses were lying on the floor.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]