Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Uprooted - a carrot simulator

by Two Scoop Games - Jam Entry

Charge, jump, DESTROY! Help a lost carrot get back to the carrot patch, but watch out for evil rabbits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Audio(Jam)3.95
#128Theme(Jam)3.92
#184Humor(Jam)3.54
#188Innovation(Jam)3.63
#199Overall(Jam)3.61
#215Graphics(Jam)3.89
#220Fun(Jam)3.47
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Liked the graphics and the interesting use of theme. It was kind of super hard? It felt like every jump was a leap of faith, but I liked the concept.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

Very funny game! A bit tricky because it's hard to spot the next platform, but I liked the carrot attack on the bunnies!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

The animation and music was awesome! Really great aesthetic overall but I've come to expect that from you guys ;) Overall game feel was great to. It was really satisfying smashing down on those rabbits. (p.s. I loved that they were on treadmills)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35pm

That was fun, especially when you get a rabbit. Very addictive game, I died a lot but kept coming back for more.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

A really funny and great game. The movement is awesome. :-)

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Hard to master but fun to play :) And the visual is lovely!

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice and funny game :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

You heard me!

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Pretty hard as you can't see much in front of the carrot. But I guess that's pretty normal for a carrot to not to see - it is a carrot simulator after all. Fun little game!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58pm

24 carrot gold! (Sorry...) I found it pretty hard, but I like one-button interface and procedural map. For some reason it hangs for me if I do a full charge (Safari, MacOS), so I had to be careful not to do that.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:49am

Interesting game with a pretty neat mechanic. The jump distance based on charging is fun. The only issue I have with the game is that it's hard to see what's coming up before it's too late, especially when the carrot moves fast.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very interesting mechanics. loved the aesthetics and sound. Feels very polished. Great work!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

5 star audio, the music was awesome. Nice graphics too, and nice innovation. Fun game overall, great job!

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:24am

I loved this idea. well executed. One suggestion would be to have the camera zoom out based on your height from the ground so you can still keep track of a target to spear.

Well done!

FungalCactus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:01am

This seems like a pretty cool concept, but it's really hard to see anything in front of you.

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

Very nice graphics, audio, and game feel. It feels really good to hop across and that all makes it more fun. However, every jump is a leap of faith and you die very unfairly because of that. It'd be nice for there to be some way of seeing ahead.

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:16am

Great sprite animation! Could use some more explanation of the keymaping, it took a while to realize I could hold down the forward to leap further, and I could control where I stop leaping with the down arrow.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:09am

The audio is pretty good. The graphics aren't bad. The gameplay could be better, or rather, more fun (I don't feel like playing this much).
Carrot as a weapon? Sure

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

What an AWESOME entry! Especially, when I found out that the carrot also served as a flying dagger. mehehehhehe

Great graphics, perfect music blend and sound effects. I loved how the levels were dynamic and refreshing every time.

Good job, senpais.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:47am

The art is standout here. So is the idea of a carrot burrowing into the dirt and springing back out again. Sound and music were good and fit the presentation.

When I pressed the arrow key to land, I usually held it down long enough that it counted as the start of another jump, which always got me in trouble. If you hold the arrow down to fully charge right next to a rabbit, you're just screwed. It would be really helpful to have a way to cancel a charge.

The random number generator could be harsh, leaving you leaping into an area with 70% gaps that you couldn't see until you were falling through them. A little bit of air control might've helped, though it would complicate the controls.

The game was unplayable in Firefox. As soon as the carrot came onscreen, the browser basically locked up. =P Chrome was better, but still dropped some frames here and there. On the initial how-to screen where the carrot leaps out of the block, the block sort of flickered black after the leap. I didn't see any tile flickering in-game, though.

A distance counter! My kingdom for a distance counter! =P Nice work, guys.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:10am

I really liked the concept of the carrot planting and then jumping into the world. I also, like tapping the control to bring it back like a drill. If the carrot was more to the left of the camera it would make it easier to see obstacles that are coming. Nice work

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

Great job! I really enjoyed the mechanics and whimsical animations. The game was a lot of fun to play and felt very polished. I wish there was a way to gauge how well I was doing though, like how many meters I've traveled in the corner.

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Love it. The mechanics are nice and simple which I love. The one thing that made it a little harder than necessary was the positioning of the carrot on screen. I think I would have liked it more if it were a little to the left. But in general, it's awesome. Audios all great too, very fitting :)

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

this is sooo cool! love the graphics and mechanics.

Lynx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:24am

I like the concept a lot although I kept experiencing a glitch on Safari where if I charge the jump to max I got endlessly stuck, might be a random fluke, but I thought I'd let you know. Really love the concept and music, great job!

Plustech says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Really nice! Even though I felt like every jump was imminent death xD. The visual feedback on the carrot jump strenght was awesome. I tried to break the mechanic by jumping the farthest every time without thinking but I couldn't!!. The sfx and music was great. Overall a pretty neat experience. Kudos!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Nice graphics and music. The concept is pretty fun but we can only wish not to jump on a rabbit or into a hole. And despite some unfortunate intense lag, due to the game being available on browser, it was pretty fun, good job!

leafo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:21am

nice, love the music

Dorgam says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Really nice audio and graphics!

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:49am

I really liked this game. The limited horizontal view and long horizontal jump meant you had to be really careful about your jumps so you didn't fall into a hole, but that's my one complaint. The music was jolly, the graphics were great and the idea itself is really funny. Also, I can't say no to a bouncing carrot fighting treadmilling rabbits.

Skiddings says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I like the control style, it's pretty intuitive and fun to play.

LukeZaz says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:19am

Bit difficult, and I lagged a ton, but the graphics and sound were great and I still had fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]