Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mighty Magnetic Force

by pvwradtke - Compo Entry

After a work accident, you become a blue/red ball that generates a very strong magnetic field. On top of that, you've been transported to a world with enemies that can destroy you easily. All normal on a scientist's day.

Manipulate magnetic forces (red and blue) around you, and use them to destroy all enemies around you. You can move one way and manipulate the madnetic field independently using the controls.

- Gamepad (best, use it. I mean it!):
Left stick to move
Right stick to rotate the magnetic field (you point the direction the red field will be)

- Keyboard:
Cursor keys or WASD to move around
Mouse cursor to point the direction the magnetic field (red) will point to.

Good luck and enjoy.

Works on:
- Linux Mint and ubuntu
(you can compile it for your Linux flavor, depends on SDL2, SDL2 image, SDL2 mixer and SDL2 ttf)
- Windows

Not officially supported, but this should compile on a MacOS X without a problem. I just don't have one to do it.

What I used to do this game:

- C/C++
- SDL2 + Chien2D (my open source game library)
- Code::Blocks + gcc
- Gimp
- Audacity
- Tiled
- Bfxr
- Ogg tools
- Linux Mint
- Mingw32 (cross-compile to Windows)
- Punk-O-Matic

edit: added support to WASD /(silly of me to forget it! :D). Still under the submission hour, that was pretty fast :).

edit2: added info about what I used to make the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#91Audio3.69
#110Innovation3.86
#160Overall3.67
#191Fun3.56
#257Theme3.71

Comments

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08am

WOAH. Very nice gameplay! Once again, you did it! :D

But the song... is... a bit too loud @_@

10/10

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

Thanks Foxtacy. Owing to the amount of work on other parts of the game, there was not much time to better engineer audio ;). I'll look into it in a post-compo version :).

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

Really cool mechanics, I played it with my gamepad as recommended. The learning curve was solid as well. Overall a great challenging game!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17am

Pretty solid game! Fun mechanics and great introductory levels! Nice job on the music too!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

Good game. It's hard with the keyboard but nice.
Thanks for sharing

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30pm

hehe, music is epic. clever puzzle game, nice work!

Lord bobyness says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54pm

That was brilliant. There are a lot of "magnet weapon" entries but this one stood out. I think it just the hundreds of small design decisions. From the level design to the way boxes are launched rather then pushed.
And a hundred other small things I cant put a finger on, but that must be there because the game was just that fun!

Anyways, I think this entry deserves to win.

Lord bobyness says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

Also, controller support :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03am

Cool concept! I found it a little hard to control and actually hit enemies though. Nice take on the theme though.

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:21am

Paulo muito criativo o jogo, parabéns =D

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Great gameplay and mechanics. I really like this magnetic idea.
I have to agree that the music is a little too loud and gets old fast but beyond that it's a clever action / puzzle game. Good Job!

Beanalby says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:33am

Control was great, I wish there was a bit more analog ramp-up with magnetic repulsion when you get closer. As you get closer it's nothing nothing nothing SHOOT ACROSS THE ROOM!

I liked attracting the square to me, then slamming the right stick in the opposite direction to shoot it, felt very Magneto-ish.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:12am

Really cool take on the theme. Controller support was a nice touch, too.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:16am

Very good music in this game, and an interesting mechanic too.

6x13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:18am

Loved it. It needs work but I loved the idea and execution so far.

uberscientist says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:19am

I hate giving 5 stars all down the board, good job

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:27am

I had fun playing this game, it was way longer than I expected I had to go at like level 10. But it will probably be a game I come back to. Music doesn't fit the mood but I like rock so I guess it works out. I got the hang of the mechanics(good level progression) and started dominating, which is always felt nice. I'm sure the later levels will be hard.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:49am

It's my 6th attempt to download the Windows zipped file now. I want to play this but I can't seem to finish downloading whole files.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Sorry to hear that. I tried it now on my cell phone and I could download it correctly. I'll try to provide an alternate link later tonight.

Wevel says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Great game nice the magnet mechanic although it would be nice if there was a reason for the different colored squares. Also, if a square isn't moving it doesn't kill the enemies and I managed to catapult the blue square out of the last level. Overall a fun game to play.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Thanks for the bug report, seems like the collision code could see some improvement. As for the different colors, the idea was to play with the opposite magnetic forces, but I didn't had the time to properly work on that for the compo.

Finally, as for the squares not killing the enemies while idle, that's the same as with bullets, they only kill when shot, so it felt like a natural decision. But it's good feedback, nevertheless, as it should be more clear through the tutorial.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:37am

@ranmaru90: I've shared a link on my Dropbox, please let me know if you can manage to download it.

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Fantastic game! Using magnets to push or attract things is genius and a good use of the theme. Audio is great, well done!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:23am

Really cool mechanic! I appreciated that you gav hints to guide the player through each level.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:23am

I really liked your title screen. I'm glad I had a gamepad on hand, it made playing it much easier.

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:25am

This was really neat! Loved the concept. Lots of fun!

tummyache says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:34am

Impressive soundtrack for 48 hours. The physics are a bit wonk, but I had a lot of fun playing it and beat the whole thing. Don't remember what my score is because I don't think I saw it on the credits.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Good concept, use of the theme, and puzzles. Stage 10 was very challenging. It'd be interesting to see more puzzles that expand on these concepts--for example, enemies that could only be killed by a certain color.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:59pm

@dylanwolf: thanks so much for the comments, I guess that your idea helps expands why we have different colored magnets and can really improve the game and make it a bit more challenging on later levels. :D

Tortoise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Great gameplay, art, and audio. Only things I'd mention is the music is loud and there is some major input lag where the game has to catch up sometimes.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Hi Tortoise, thanks for the feedback. As for the input issues, were you using which version, Windows or Linux? Were you playing with the mouse/keyboard combo, or with a gamepad? If a gamepad, which one was it? The game barely uses 5% pf the CPU on an old Core2Duo processor, so it'd be interesting to know more about the issue.

Bergara says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Very fun and kinda hard, I lite it!
Mine is also about magnetic force, check it out XD

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Hey, I'm Rodrigo Oliveira, from IGDA Curitiba ;)

Nice set of puzzles, had to think a lot on some levels :p

Sometimes the red rectangle didn't collide with the enemies. Also, one time the blue didn't collide with the wall, travelling to outside from the map.

The music is amazing too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]