Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid Escape

by Wevel - Compo Entry

Trapped in an asteroid field use space ships to push asteroids out the way (or blow them up) to make a path to a wormhole. Uses Newtonian physics (probably) and explosions affect everything, also when objects (space ship/stations or asteroids) get destroyed then split up into smaller parts. The map is infinity randomly generated so if you just want to see how many space ships you can blow up, without running out of spares or your your space station blowing up, you can play forever.

You get money by crashing your ship (or parts of it) into asteroids.

UI:
-Green circle means that something can be brought
-Red circle means that you need more money to buy something
-Buy more space ships at the space station
-Blue line is velocity
-Red line points to wormhole.

Controls:
-W or Up arrow to move forward.
-A/D or Left/Right arrow to turn left and right.
-Space to detonate rocket if at less than 50% fuel.
-Escape to pause.

Used:
-Unity 5
-Photoshop
-Audacity
-BFXR

Feedback is welcome (Positive or negative).

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Wevel50000

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#360Fun3.29
#434Mood3.07
#450Overall3.28
#528Innovation3.14
#575Audio2.65
#651Humor2.54
#672Graphics2.86
#830Theme2.97

Comments

phi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Once I understood the interface, I started to enjoy it quite a lot. I love the spacey physics, the indication of the velocity helps a lot and gives it a kind of "technical" feel, which is appropriate. Of course, the content could be more elaborate, but for this short time, it's awesome!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

The controls get a little frustrating, and I'm not always sure what I'm purchasing when I click on the green pluses. But I think the potential is there for a fun game. I did enjoy eventually clearing out enough asteroids and blasting through the space. Kudos!

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Pretty fun! I enjoyed that the launch pad moved in space. A arrow or something to point towards the wormhole would help.

piratequentin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Good game even if a bit hard and hard to understand first time.

remiv says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The linux version do work \o/. Neat game, It's fun to blow stuff.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Great concept, nice level and rocket velocity system. Space to blow up seemed to stop working after one game over, had to restart to fix each time.

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

This one is a lot of fun. I'm a sucker for physics-ey space games, but the mechanic of the explosion pushing the station was really cool (if not entirely realistic, but it was fun so who cares). One thing that could have been cool is having the thrust from your ship push against objects, to give an alternate way of moving things that was more difficult to do but didn't create a shockwave that moved your station. I had a lot of fun with this though, great job.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Wow there is a lot of detail in this game as far as gameplay goes, also very challenging requiring a bit of patience to get a hang of. Nice work.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Good physics, neat premise. Going slow though seemed to be the best course and I wouldn't have the patience to see it through. Better signage would help

zzForrest says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Interesting. The controls on the spaceship are realistic, which is actually in this case not a good thing. It feels very hard to control, and I ended up fighting more against the ship than against the asteroids. The actual action of trying to work through the asteroids worked very well, and was a lot of fun. The only petty annoyance I have is that the UI is not very descriptive. Other than that, good game. Also, just being real here, those asteroids are butt ugly. But hey, ludum dare art, what can ya do?

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Surprisingly open spaced. Pun intended.

Ranmara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Enjoyed playing through this little game. Found the turning a bit wonky but other than that was fun to play.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Since there are no gravity wells to eat your delta-V, I think you could do it with a single ship and a lot of patience. But it was fun to play and try to keep the rocket under control... or not :) SAS would help a lot to make it more controllable, i.e. gradually cancelling angular velocity.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:25am

A bit hard to control, but I like the idea to use a rocket to move objects around the screen. A bit more polish and this could be a nice app for portable devices. At least this is the kind of game I'd play on the go on my cell phone.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Gameplay felt smooth but I found the rockets hard to control, the UI was nice and had a great way of showing rocket's current direction, definitely an idea with lots of potential.

-Neith

IDidGame says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:41pm

i did it!
this feels like one of those games i'd find on shareware cds back in the day and play for hours, just good simple fun
turning was quite difficult though and a map would have been nice i think

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Well I had fun playing it, but even after 3 attempt, I still have no idea on how I get money.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Quite cryptic but very nice entry.

ermrk says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Nice game! Just Newtonian controls is not my couple of tea.

arhpositive says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:47am

Hard to maneuver your ship, then again that's why you're expected to crash into asteroids to clear a path! :) Fun idea but the game itself is a little rough around the edges. Then again, this is expected for a LD compo entry.

Decent entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]