Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Chromos

by pikkpoiss - Jam Entry

Chromos - 'An Unconventional Weapon' for Ludum Dare 32

Color is key.

Move around with arrow keys. 'Z' to roll. 'Esc' to bring up the menu. The rest is for you to figure out!

*Note: There's some quick & dirty gamepad support for XBox controllers. If the arrow keys don't work it may be because a gamepad is plugged in. Try using the gamepad or unplug it and relaunch to re-enable arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#219Innovation(Jam)3.57
#255Graphics(Jam)3.80
#282Mood(Jam)3.40
#356Audio(Jam)3.12
#369Theme(Jam)3.57
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#404Fun(Jam)3.21
#798Humor(Jam)2.26

Comments

BtheDestroyer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

First time I've ever seen OS/X exclusivity xD
Nice concept!

Ludomade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:22am

Seriously awesome game. Brought me back to the stresses of playing Marble Madness. Happy to say I conquered Chromos!

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Interesting concept. Little bit hard. Love the graphics !

ZQMony says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice idea. It can be hard to figure out what to do though.

May 2, 2015 @ 9:27pm

I'm not going to rate because I couldn't move the guy... arrow keys didn't do anything, and 'Z' (roll) just wobbled the screen.

I'm using Windows 8.1. Tried 3 times and always made sure the screen was focused.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:41am

@BoxedMeatRevolution did you happen to have a gamepad plugged in? Unfortunately we added support in a way which disables arrow keys (quick hack). Unplugging the gamepad should make the keys work.

AkirAssasin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:58am

... I get the idea but I totally have no idea how to win. Something to do with the colours?

lucidsheep says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:26am

Great graphics and atmosphere, felt like a 2D Zelda! The gameplay was a bit tedious, just color matching while running in circles from an enemy.

rishal says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Great entry. It's challenging but I really enjoyed playing your game.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:27am

Too hard for my taste, but nonetheless a great game.

I also made a game where color is the unconventional weapon: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44370

May 7, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Nice graphics and concept, but it's a bit too tough at first. Maybe some more easing in or instructions would help.

NoWandStudios says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:50am

Titan souls based?

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:36am

I won, yay!

Pixel Heart says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:22pm

How do I win? I want to win!!

May 9, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Nice idea for a game. It's quite Titan Soulsy, but also does its own thing, which is cool. It really needs more explanation of what to do as it took me a bit to figure it out. Also the controller/keyboard thing was a minor annoyance, though these things happen under such a time limit so its understandable. Cool game overall though!

TetraQuad says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice roll mechanic and good music too! (Hooray for mac!)

Frozen Stick says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:54am

Wow a very good game with perfect graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]