Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Shadows

by Jaloko - Compo Entry

Shadows is an adventure puzzle game where you play as a wisp (a ball of light) and your goal is to power the beacons to light up the area before the shadows overwhelm you.

Controls:
W A S D - To move
Spacebar - To power beacons (you must be on top of the beacon)

Requirements:
To run the game you must have a WebGL compatible browser. It should run on the following browser versions. Internet Explorer 11+, Firefox 31+, Chrome 31+, Safari 7+ and Opera 27+.

It is to be noted you need a decent video card to run the game smoothly. However even if you run the game bellow 60 fps this will not impact your chances at finishing the levels in time. This is because the timer is based on game loop iterations and not seconds. So even though you will move slower you will get the same amount of iterations to complete each level.

Made with WebGL and Javascript.
Graphics: Photoshop CC
Sound: Audacity and Bfxr
Lighting Engine: https://github.com/Jaloko/LightingEngine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#61Mood3.80
#137Audio3.52
#173Graphics3.77
#450Overall3.28
#515Fun3.10
#556Innovation3.10
#730Humor2.38
#1005Theme2.55

Comments

Dialglex says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:04am

I love the concept, and the lighting brilliant. May I ask you what the unconventional weapon is?

Jaloko says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:32am

The shadows because if you don't light up the area they overwhelm you.

Dialglex says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:04am

Ah, so the unconventional weapon is used against you.

Jaloko says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:06am

Yes! :)

FerraWare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40am

Excellent level design, and awesome lighting. If you want to take it to the next level, you should consider making a random level generator :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:42am

A bit tricky at first but great fun and concept :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

Fun. Maybe make it a little clearer when you are near a beacon.

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47am

great atmosphere, cool graphics. Sometimes hard to see the beacon even when standing next to it (not sure if that's a stylistic choice). How'd you do the moaning/chanting sounds? Those are great!

Jaloko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:20am

@MattV This youtube video explains how to create the moaning/chanting sounds in audacity: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_c2Awf-S1s. Thanks for the feedback.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34am

It looks great, congrats on making this in 2 days! Only it needs more of a challenge.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Nice! The lighting is great, the sound is spooky and awesome (although the blips and bloops are a little loud, but that might be because I'm using headphones). Definitely got easier when I realized I could press the spacebar with my right hand haha. Great job!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:14am

Love it! Game is fun, spooky ambient music is engaging. Really hard to tell when you're over/near a beacon, though. I hunt for the slightly darker tiles, but ultimately I mostly slam the space bar repeatedly as I move about.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:48am

Fantastic lighting. I really need to learn how to do that...

Blobo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:43am

amazing game! when i got to the level with the moving tile, i got crushed, was sent back to level one, and didnt have a player object. not sure if that was intentional or not.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:55am

Great lighting, but it's hard to discern the beacons from the ground.

Also, would be nice to have some sort of jumpscare effect at the end if a level is lost; it's kind of anticlimactic as is after the spooky ambience build up

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:45am

Very atmospheric game, and I like the lighting and shadow effects! It was almost impossible for me to see the beacons though, even when sitting in a somewhat dark room.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Enjoyed the lighting, wish there was more to the gameplay, though.

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Great atmosphere and nice level design. It’s a bit frustrating to restart from level 1 when you lose, though.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Nice, omnious feeling, and really nice looking shadows and light effects! The gameplay itself wasn't so challenging, maybe one could introduce for example moving objects that has to be avoided.. But it was enjoyable anyway. Will look at your source code now, to try to figure out how you managed to do the visuals!

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:06am

It would have been nice if the game didn't reset me back to level one after failing a level. I sat still for several seconds on the fourth level after collecting 5 orbs, thinking I had won and the game was lagging ;-)

Zcience says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:36am

First of all: The lighting was great. I loved the way it created a gloomy feeling in the game, as long as the beacons weren't lit and the audio emphasized that feeling even further. It got a little bit destroyed though by the removal of shadows at the ending of a level :/
The levels themselves were well thought out, even though I think the learning curve was too flat (I hope that's the right word), meaning that I got bored after a few levels, until the doors were introduced.
I think you hit the Theme really well, introducing light as a weapon against darkness. Doesn't sound like an unconventional approach if you think about it though... doesn't matter :D

I was really impressed by how well it worked as a web game! Great work!

jmborden says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:02am

Decent game, like that you used pure WebGL/Javascript. There is another similar game I've played where you have a sphere of light that helps you out to solve puzzles. Unfortunately, I can't see far enough back in my history to tell you which game it is!

tikilittle says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:28am

Really nice mood. It would be nice if when you land on one of the beacons it lets you know to put a beacon down. It was really hard for me to see and lead me to become easily frustrated. I quit after playing a couple rounds because of that.

gnx says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Wonderfully simple mechanic, skillfully expanded through what seems to be a rather large number of levels!
The visuals are crisp and the audio is carefully thought out create a specific mood and setting for this game.

I played this by far the longest time among the entries I've rated this time :)

Zeriver says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice idea and execution, i really like the lightning effect. Minimalistic graphics and audio set the right tone. Gameplay is simple but enjoyable, in overall it's a solid game.

SledKnight says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:41am

Nice concept. Would have liked a Continue button... lol I didn't want to play level 1-2, just to get back to 3... :P

And I don't get the unconventional weapon part...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]