Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb parts

by wilpel1234 - Compo Entry

This is "Bomb parts". it is a game where you have to find all the missing parts for a bomb that will blow up the planet qr34.

Known issues:
-Sound doesnt play at all if a much higher sound is playing
-Stuck on "dead screen" (happens 1 on 1000)

I dont know if the mac and linux version is working so comment if they dont so i can fix it :)

If you get stuck during game play simply press 'R' for restart

12 levels
1 boss

If you dont get it i am trying to make it 2.5d so if the bullet seems to go through you it is probably going behinde you.

Comment what you think :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#339Fun3.32
#352Mood3.17
#411Overall3.32
#420Graphics3.25
#439Audio2.90
#575Humor2.67
#940Innovation2.49
#1087Theme2.10

Comments

racarate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56am

i don't see the exe anywhere in the windows download?

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59am

I love it. Beginning announcer is great, and I love the challenging puzzle aspect. All art is put together smoothly and looks great. Definitely able to get a good amount of play time out of this.

Overall interesting, fun to play, and unique.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03am

A fun puzzle game. However, I was constantly shot down by missiles.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

A good puzzle game. Two things I'd like to address: The pistol bullet is 1x1 px size, alsmost not visible on screen. And due to the camera angle, your character is way bigger than the hitbox (which is only the feet), causing some problems for me in the later screen with lots of lasers and stuff.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Good, Collision boxes are a little off and missiles are too fast. Otherwise great.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I found it quite difficult so I didn't get very far, and the music was repetitive. The controls were a bit awkward, but it was quite fun to play and the graphics were really nice.

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Cool game with nice graphics but your weapon didnt really seem quite unconventional.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It is a really good game, It's mood is really awesome. The graphics are good too. I have noticed a small problem: If i walk on the slime of a dead slime, my screen fades.

Jon Reid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Pretty fun, but I dont see whats unconventional about the guns/lazers. Theres a little bug when killing the aliens, you can get killed by their dying glow which seemed a little off to me.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Looks good, plays well, this is definitely a solid entry. The music is slightly annoying though. Being able to mute it would have been enjoyable. It's quite challenging but not frustrating. Good job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Looks good, plays smoothly. I just don't see where the theme comes in, but maybe that's because I failed to reach the ending? Linux version works great for me by the way!

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Nice game, made it through! Although the hitboxes took some getting used to it had the desirable property where it feel like it's my fault when I die, not the game's fault. Nice minimalistic music, I wasn't annoyed by it even though it repeated every few seconds.

Sytech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Very addictive game, even though it was really hard I had to play all the way to the end! I like the graphics style and the minimalistic music.

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Thanks for all the comments :)

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Hey ! Very nice game thanks

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:33am

Fun game,,, Congratulations

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:16am

Nice game! Liked the art and the puzzle aspect of it!
Just the hit box was a bit ackward, since it the foot, and I got constantly hit in my shadow >.<
Also I don't quite see the unconventional weapon.
Other than that, great job!

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

The Mac version is working fine :)

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13pm

This is pretty good! The music, graphics and gameplay all tie up nicely, and I felt a real compulsion to finish it!

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15pm

That's a nice game, i like the art, good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

While perhaps not fitting with the theme at all, the graphics, audio, music, and execution were all really good. Level design was really good for this type of game! like really good!

gjvonn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Pros:
The levels are nicely designed
The concept of the game is interesting

Cons:
Player bullet is way too small
I didn't like how you could die by walking into the fading slime-puddle after killing a slime.
The attempt at 2.5D makes the hitbox seem misleading. Maybe adjusting the hitbox or the angle of the art could improve it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Fun and challenging, I played through the whole thing. Some of the sound effects were a little loud but that's just me :P

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Great game. A bit frustrating, but that made it more rewarding. It looks really nice too. Don't really see how it fits the theme, but otherwise it was good.

Just one thing I would change - after you kill a slime, the gel shouldn't be able to hurt you.

edve98 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:04pm

yo, where is your source code?

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:04pm

edve98 o sorry forgot i will update it thanks >(

w1n5t0n says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:57am

It's challenging but fun!

tompudding says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Pretty cool, but very frustrating! Once I realised that my hitbox was only my feet it got easier, but still pretty tough

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]