Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hold Space To Fart

by talecrafter - Compo Entry

Welcome to the vernissage!
Everything is prepared, but the food is not enough.
Hinder the visitors from eating too much.

Luckily, you have your unconventional weapon always with you: Fart away!

Move with A and D or Arrow Keys. Hold Space to gather farting power, release for... release. See to it that there is still food left when the time runs out.

https://twitter.com/talecrafter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#30Theme4.24
#38Graphics4.32
#45Humor3.97
#170Audio3.43
#203Mood3.41
#236Fun3.47
#243Overall3.53
#336Innovation3.42

Comments

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:45am

Delivers, I like the painting selling for 170K :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:00am

Beautiful.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25am

Excellent art-style, and fits the theme really well. The farting sound is also great :P On the downside, it's kinda repetitive

omaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:12am

Animations are great. I particularly enjoyed the use of screenshake, which really helps to sell the action.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

I'm ashamed for laughing so hard at that game. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Simon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09pm

:)
Nicely done.
Very. Good. Audio.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Love the artwork, really beautiful. Also really liked the simple waddle animation for the visitors.

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Beautiful art style, great concept and the gameplay is good. It's a great game!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15pm

That's a very unconventional weapon. Art is GORGEOUS !

met44 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I liked the visuals but I couldn't stand the audio for the whole duration of the game haha :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Honest gov, it wasn't me, it was the game.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

great farting game with nice art

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Haha, great fun! I like your "art" ;) style too. Thanks

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

GAMES ARE ART

renatopp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43pm

You have a great art style.

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

This game is art.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Ha, this is great. I invented my own mini-game; herd all the patrons into a single corner and unleash the largest fart possible on all of them at once before either time or food runs out. It's great.

vikpek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Art is great. Animations are great. Idea is sick and awesome. Game is fun.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Simple and awesome.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

haha. I have never enjoyed to fart that much.. I only wish that you would have made bigger and noisier fart sounds :D

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

That's no Picasso! But great art none the less, kept laughing throughout a couple of levels :) Well done!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Very funny game, a little complicated sometimes to see what people are saying on the legend, but good entry.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

The game looks great and I love the humor! The walking animation looks good on the main character and the weird shuffle of the background characters are perfect.

Miltage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

One of the better ones I've played. The characters look great! The concept is simple but executed well.

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Well that is an impressive bout of flatulence! I'm not a trained doctor but I would advise her to look carefully at her diet.

A really fun game with great graphics, sound and mood. Highlights for me included the little remarks which float off the visitors and the central painting which reminded me of something I can't quite put my finger on...

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Had a kind of Terry Gilliam feel to it. Audio made me chuckle. Not sure if there is much to the gameplay beyond constantly farting.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:12pm

First of all: great art style! The unconventional weapon here used to achieve a not less unconventional goal is really silly and fun. I like the background noises of the murmuring people. Is that you? :D Nice game!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I particularly enjoyed running from end to end of the room and letting rip a maximum trumpet.

talecrafter says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:15am

Thank you for all the great comments.
Yes, the background noise is me, too.
And I acknowledge the game is a bit low on the gameplay side, probably boring in the long run.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Very nice art style!

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I hope you wouldn't come up with this idea in real life :) Got to difficulty 6. Pretty fun for a fart game :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]