Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Friend Maker Gun

by elefantopia - Jam Entry

FMG is a survival FPS where the enemy works in team, using some pretty fancy group AI - and you're on your own with a gun that doesn't even kill.
But if you're good you'll soon *MAKE* a lot of friends and maybe not die for a while.

Story:
It is the year 1999, war has been raging all across the globe, the fight for the most precious substance on the planet: Silicon Implants.
You are the best, the creme de la creme, of the US-army and, retrofitted with the utmost in shooting technology you go against the enemy who holds prisoner professor X.
Your weapon of choice? The dreaded Friend Maker Gun.
What does it do?
It turns your enemy into an ally.

Bonne Chance Capitaine!

NOTE: there is no professor X, just a bunch of soldier dudes spawning and kicking your ass, the commander is super strong so if you convert him you're probably going to be in better health.

NOTE: Thanks go to the creators of Rain from which I shamelessly repurposed the commander level :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Innovation(Jam)3.96
#59Theme(Jam)4.08
#312Fun(Jam)3.32
#323Overall(Jam)3.44
#407Graphics(Jam)3.52
#506Mood(Jam)3.08
#583Audio(Jam)2.48
#654Humor(Jam)2.57
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54am

pretty fun, and a great idea. Was a bit buggy. The mouse sensitivity seemed reaaaallly slow and my camera would jump around sometimes. But it was really fun to convert all the enemies into my buddies. Potential for some good fun

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55am

oh, and the embedded file wouldnt work for me. said it "failed to update unity player" I went and downloaded the latest from unity, but it keeps saying that error.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24am

Thanks Bservers, I just saw that, no idea what's happening, maybe using a patch version is not compatible with the web player, will try with an old version of unity

elefantopia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Voila it's fixed, now you can play in the non-chrome browser.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Cool idea for a game. Turning the soldier guys to my side is quite satisfying. I like that my gun sounds like both a BFG9000 and an Arch-Vile.

RT_Jester says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Hey elefantopia! Jester from Rival Theory here (makers of RAIN and Squad Command). Thanks for the shout-out!

That's exactly what we had in mind when we build Squad Command. We wanted devs to take the package, tweak it to suit their needs and add an interesting gameplay component to make it unique own! Let us know if we can help in any way! http://rivaltheory.com/forums/

Also use #UsingRAIN to update us in real-time.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25pm

ArcturusDeluxe, good ear and wow that ages us, it was lifted from Doom :D

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Cool idea!

lizard455 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Haha, I enjoyed this. A lot of the time my friends all died to fast.

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:23pm

It's cool and innovative, kind of reminds me of the paintball minigame from Garry's Mod. Also I didn't know what I had to do when I was starting playing and the continued reloading is a bit annoying.

scumbly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:04am

Enjoyable! Tip for lizard455: try to convert the guys in the *back* of a group, so they can shoot their ex-friends from behind. If you convert a guy that everyone else is already facing, they'll mow him down instantly.

tajger says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:24am

Excellent! Pity there is no M60 or RPG available with micro-payments. ;)

decodersmith says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:52pm

That was a pretty great concept. I could see this being a weapon in a game, for sure. And I liked the level and enemy character graphics.

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Nice idea, impressive! But in practice the player movement is too slow and the weapon reload time is too long, it's a bit frustrating. Maybe it would be better with shorter reload times, faster movement, and more enemies to make up?

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:50am

great idea, nice graphics and audio. as has been said before the reload time is too long. a bit depressive that my new friends get killed right away ;)

Shrumdog says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:57am

I really like the concept here. One of the main problems that I ran into is that I couldn't make friends faster than the enemies killed them, so effectively I was just picking the next enemy to die. Almost as if I were shooting them with an actual gun.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Had a lot of fun with this, made it all the way to the spawn point by mostly shooting the commanders. Solid entry. I liked the contrasting palette.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Etrange étrange :)
Interesting concept. I like it. All works well. I think that this project can be improved by adding some features, but it's good enough. Well done ++

Krunoslav says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Nice graphics, the art dessing of the soldier is cool, the idea is very good.

Justin Mullin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Hah! This is amazing. The mechanics are a little iffy at times, but the concept is awesome.

Nkoo says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice idea, but the execution cuts off the potential. Most of the time a converted ennemy is just a dead ennemy since it will 95% of the time die instantly due to the grouping mechanic. The audio is really exhausting. The graphic part though is really nice ! Too bad there is no strategic interest in this mind controlling gameplay.

UrbanHelsing says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Sounds very fun but I could not get the mouse aim to work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]