Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lagman

by reiknight - Jam Entry

Don't be afraid! Lagman is here to save your life fighting those badass soldiers!

Use your lag as a weapon and collide with the enemies. They will explode from the inside as soon as Lagman spawns on their position. He is unstoppable!

The game is fully playable and has 4 levels.

Enjoy!

Objective:
- Complete each stage killing all the soldiers
Controls:
- Arrow keys: Move and jump

Credits:
Programming and music: @reikval
Programming and art: @beagleknight

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Innovation(Jam)4.05
#101Humor(Jam)3.75
#198Theme(Jam)3.80
#532Audio(Jam)2.70
#624Overall(Jam)3.09
#637Mood(Jam)2.89
#785Fun(Jam)2.66
#863Graphics(Jam)2.45

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:20pm

This game is good and frustrating!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice concept. Great idea, I really like how it lags! Good audio too, I like the sound when he dies. :) Great job!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50pm

This game reminds me of when I had slow internet, but then I got oxy-clean and it all changed! RIP billy mays

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Wow this game is annoying but that's what makes it fun/funny! I wouldn't call lag a 'weapon' or 'anything else that's actually useful,' but it was still interesting to play a client-side that had extreme server-side style lag.

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:04am

That was hilarious.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:04am

This is an extremely clever idea, even though it is rather difficult to play. Nice Work!

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I like the concept for this game, but found it a bit too frustrating to play.

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Lag simulation 10/10 would lag again xD

And serious, nice take on the theme, graphics are cool, but the sound is great because it is so mellow and calm, while the player would be raging... Cool entry :)

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:10pm

This concept is soooo good. I got to 3rd level, which I couldn't finish no matter how hard I tried. Maybe the game could be a bit easier?

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Such an interesting concept! Unfortunately super frustrating for me couldn't get past the first level

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:47pm

i kind of hate your game, but in a good way. <.< hehe, clever idea, and while I wouldn't call it fun, it was interesting. nice music too.

Waterman7 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Really funny concept, it just LAGS some variation.

(Sorry, I just couldn't resist that one :D)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:27pm

A novel idea but its more frustrating than anything.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

ho my god such a frustrating game haha !
realisation is good like it very much for the concept ;)

Null DIES says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37pm

The lag mechanics idea is innovative. But the experience I got out of the game was frustration.
I have mixed feelings about this game :D

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Wow that was like playing CS 1.6 in 2000 on a crap server with 50 people!

I wanted to beat a few levels but never quite got used to the LAG! Great idea and caused me 5 minutes or pure frustration.

Not even sure how I would go about coding that lol!

nassi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Even if the lag isn't real the frustration sure is. Good thing the rest of the levels were easier than that first one. I must've spent at least five minutes on one of the platforms there. Loved the idea and execution, but I hope for the love of God that no one ever makes a game like this again :D.

I like how @Cheshyr put it:
"i kind of hate your game, but in a good way."!

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:36pm

This game is so frustrating that I'm now addicted. I will have to dig some old US Robotics modem to play some FPS online, thank you for the miserable time :D

I think this is the most creative/unconventional weapon I see in this LD. Good job, the game is awesome.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Love this entry, really unique idea, I felt the game was a bit hard an frustrating but it was hilarious and fun at the same time.

-Neith

peterfsat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Funny mechanic! Though the lag is annoying! :p

UannaFF says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:44am

This game is so frustrating!! omg... but i had to keep trying, good job!!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:47am

the rage is real in this one XD

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I just don't get the game when I played it, but then I read the name twice and... OHHHHHH. Little fucking programmer (in a good way)

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Ahh! Really nice idea, and really frustrating to play!

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:40pm

hahahaha, this is fantastic

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:02pm

This is the most frustrating thing I have ever played. Nice idea, but I wish it was easier to digest.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I swore more times in the last 5 minutes than I have in the last 5 months. 5/5

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

This is amazing, I hate you so much.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Great game, very innovating, but I find it just too random and frustrating. I know it's the idea of the game, but too much for mee!

celisoft says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

Original gameplay. Happy to see a web game without that damn Unity :-)

Hatsome says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Concept is nice, but it's too frustrating.

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:43am

I think the lag should be an ability of player, or it should be explicitly shown to player, when the next lag will occur, so he knows exactly when to jump safely, and when to attack:-) The idea is funny

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Ha, this is a funny take on something that (thankfully!) most of us don't have to deal with these days. It skews towards frustrating occasionally, but generally you can persevere and get through the levels pretty successfully. Good job!

FYI, I've fixed the bug that stopped you progressing in our game - please give it another shot if you feel like it! Cheers.

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:57pm

pretty good, very frusturating

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Fits the theme perfectly. Great game, but very frustrating.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Fun idea but unfortunately it did not make for a very playable game :-)

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:51pm

It's a great idea, but it took me five minutes just to go up two platforms...

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Annoyingly hard, but in a good way. It's a very interesting take on the theme and I love how it's used in the game.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Nice theme interpretation. I enjoyed playing this game and the audio is neat ! Congrats

Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:07am

Great idea! For me it is not frustrating at all. It is not easy to play but I really like it! Good work.

goerp says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Haha, top marks for originality and theme. Really Meta!
I like the music and sound and the graphics are fine.
The only thing is: your weapon is a frustraing and annoying thing, and it still is when playing. So I didn't played it to the end.

Sorry

jukimv1986 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:25am

Interesting concept, but extremely frustrating. Good job!

RARoadkill says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:47am

very funny, liked the concept of using lag, brings back bad memories of bad connections

BIZM says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:43am

Had a good laugh.

reiknight says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Thank you for playing and comment the entry! We are very proud of the results, thank for that too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]