Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sticky Bomber

by bazld - Compo Entry

Control the unconventional sticky bomb as you navigate the level. You get points for descending, but big bonuses for collecting stars. Avoid other bombs, they're out to get you.

Mouse control: click any peg to attach your stickiness. Hold mouse button anywhere to reel in. The sticky strand can only extend a certain amount.

Windows desktop version available -- see links on itch.io page.

Pretty simple little physics game, made in less than a day after I gave up with my first idea! Hence, no time to blog as I went. I'll write post-mortem asap. Thanks + good luck all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#360Fun3.29
#578Audio2.64
#590Overall3.13
#608Graphics2.96
#647Innovation2.95
#659Humor2.52
#714Mood2.73
#1031Theme2.45

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:50am

Fun mechanic! Reminds me of the pull stars from Mario Galaxy. I think it could've benefited from being able to let go of your current peg, but for the time you had to make it, it's pretty fun.

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20am

Nice mechanic, although it didn't feel like the movement was as smooth as it could be. Was a bit cumbersome to fling yourself to another peg. I like how the music fit in with the bomb theme. Well done!

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22am

Good stuff! I like the gameplay and the simple music loop. The interpretation of the theme was a little less strong, but the game itself made up for that.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32am

Damn this is good.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11am

Really "mobiley" (that is definitely NOT a word..), fun nonetheless

pixelballoon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:07pm

The swinging feels like it could have a bit less momentum, or only holding onto the peg when you hold the button, mainly so that it's easier to get out of the way of the bombs. But I really enjoyed the overall quality of it, good fun.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Liked the simple graphics, and was fun.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54pm

3280 HiScore, It's funny, reminds me of cut the rope

Cherrymochi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

very addictive!

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29pm

liked the clean and simple setting ! great one !

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Have posted a short post-mortem on the main page.

@ccglp I got 5080 today :) Yeah, its a bit like some other games, but not completely I hope!
@pixelballoon & @Ossi - I did mess around with the physics settings etc, hard to say what is an ideal setup.

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Really addicting gameplay :D Lots of fun

Hectigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:39pm

The movement feels stiff and makes the action too slow-paced. With tweaking this could be made into a decent game, but right now it doesn't quite do it for me.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Simple but clever and addicting. Really nice entry! Great job.

amonkalagin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Cool Mechanics and smooth implementation. Pretty fun and challenging gameplay :)

MaesK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:38am

Great idea! A little hard to control (well, my touchpad is not helping either) but quite fun, nice work.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Simple but fun game! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/N2U1d1bXaPI

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very innovative mechanics ! Good one ! Keep it up !

bazld says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:38pm

@Jupiter_Hadley - thats awesome! I got in early this time :)

Yeah, game had to be simple due to time. Am wondering if the jam might suit me better than the compo next time (but I do prefer to do all art etc myself).

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

This game would amazing for mobile, even as it is. With some little adjusments (explosion upon death) and some additions (such as power-ups) it would rock.

Good job there!

bazld says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:03pm

@fixitteam - very kind. Will throw it onto mobile asap. Any ideas for power-ups?! I struggled with the new particle system, will replace explosion etc.

hbocao says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Cool mechanics, too bad that I suck at it hehe

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:32am

Fun! I could see this being expanded into a pretty addictive mobile game

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Physic feels a bit weird but like other said you should consider making a mobile game with it. Good job

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Pretty fun to play! Interesting that you're descending instead of ascending. The physics felt a little sluggish to me, and I was kind of hoping for a big explosion when my bomb collided with another bomb. I could see this working well on mobile, too. Good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:52am

little tough control - but when it works - nice - great job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]