Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nögg Saber

by Shivur - Jam Entry

This time I saw a little too big so I couldn't implement all I wanted, but I hope the result is still very fun.

left/right arrows keys = move left/right
up arrow key = jump
down arrow key = down a platform;
1 = attack

Shivur

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#645Audio(Jam)2.00
#660Graphics(Jam)2.98
#860Humor(Jam)2.08
#880Fun(Jam)2.51
#933Mood(Jam)2.30
#951Innovation(Jam)2.22
#952Overall(Jam)2.64
#1022Theme(Jam)2.09

Comments

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very cool action game!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:21am

hm, I got 'A Java Exception has occurred'. Any tips to fix?

binarycoder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

Character moves a bit too fast, but entertaining otherwise.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

The character moves WAY too fast for me. The buildings are nice and the swing animation looks sweet. I tried playing a few times because it looked nice but couldn't get around the super fast movement.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

Couldn't play, Java exception error

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41am

It's nice. But falling through the floor/roof without realizing it would happen is not fun :(

With some tweaking, sound, some effects this could be great! Good job, man!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26am

Your game moving too fast so player has a high chance to fall.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53am

It's very hard to control, you should work on that.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00am

After 14000 souls the game gets pretty slow here :/ I don't know if it's my computer's issue, or a programming one. Anyways, nice game.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01am

Great game, I like the enemies!

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Cool game, good mechanics, and nice ambiance. Definitely would be better with more content, and also some feedback (like a death animation instead of flashing immediately to the title.)

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I really like the movement and the animation, but I had the same problem MobsterSquirrel had, after a certain number os souls the game slowed down.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

It's a bit hard to control as the main char moves very quick on pressing the arrow keys.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:34pm

The game seems really fun, but every time I play for more than 10-15 seconds it crashes. Really unfortunate, because it seems great

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Great game, I like it! ^^

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Thanks for your comments.

About the speed I don't know what to say because in my test I had no problem controlling it and progressing.

For the slowing at 14000 souls thanks for pointing that out I will check what I can do to enhance the performances.

For the content I wanted to add more like different enemies and types of attacks. I realized I was seeing too big so I had to cut to have a chance to finish my game in time. But I agree a death animation would not be luxury.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Wow, it took me a while to figure out the controls. I agree, the character moves a bit too fast and I was running down the rooftops all the time. All in all, it's a nice little game - but to be honest, I don't see the "unconventional" weapon here...

Geared Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Animation and models look pretty good! Though walking through the side of a building and dying felt quite unfair.

benjamck says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Nice little rogue-like platformer. I like the randomly generated building layout. It seems a bit buggy at times, sometimes I'd fall through a rooftop as if the collider didn't generate in the correct spot along with the building. The controls could probably use some refinement, but I found it simple enough to move the character from building to building. More content/sounds would be nice, but as we all know it's tough getting a finished product up within the limited time available, which is part of the fun ;)

2R says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Good game! Well done:)

davidB says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:23pm

too fast for control reaction (lag in jump). Suggestion: bind "start game" to 1 (or the attack key) to avoid using the mouse click to start and have a quick retry.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The artwork and character animations look very nice. I'm not too sure how the sword is unconventional, unless I missed something. As others are saying, the character movement was a bit fast. Good work on generating a new building layout every game!

CowShark says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Got a java error trying to run the jar.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Cool visuals and a good concept! Character moved a bit too fast and the jumping was a bit too high/fast for precise platforming, but cool nonetheless!

java the hutt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:13am

I fell so many times and got frustrated. The jump height is way too high and player movement is too fast to control accurately. Also some roofs seem to not have a walkable surface.

jmborden says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:46am

Nice game after I got used to the characters speed and height jump. Big complaint was that I had to take my hands off the keyboard and click "Start Game". Should have just made the game restart with any key hit. I also don't like using the 1 key as attack, it would have been better if it was z,x, shift or ctrl.

HeffJoker says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Can't play it, I get this:

---------------------------
Java Virtual Machine Launcher
---------------------------
A Java Exception has occurred.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

ermrk says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Really fast game, but attacks could be faster. Nice theme running on rooftops!

May 8, 2015 @ 1:42am

The controls are awesome, don't change them! Super entertaining

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]