Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tinka The Turtle

by ruerob - Jam Entry

This is my #LDJAM entry for #LD32. My unconventional weapon against weapons and raised tempers!

I'm a pacifist and because of that I had some trouble with that theme!!! So I decided to make a game as an unconventional weapon against weapons. In this little game are no enemys, no weapons and no harm. Just swim with your turtle, collect as much gold and diamonds and stuff as you want and calm down after all these games full of weapons.

I hope you enjoy my little game as much as I enjoyed this Ludumdare.

Have a lot of fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#418Graphics(Jam)3.50
#499Audio(Jam)2.80
#545Mood(Jam)3.02
#680Fun(Jam)2.80
#748Humor(Jam)2.39
#818Overall(Jam)2.85
#870Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1046Theme(Jam)1.83

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:13am

Despite not fitting the theme, I actually quite like something about the graphics and movement engine.

There's some kind of weird forced perspective that hurt my head at first, though.

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58am

I like the approach to the topic because it express' your view. I have two questions.
Is there an ending or any goal?
Why does the turtle need gold?

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:06am

I'm inclined to agree about the head-hurting, the short vertical height is mostly to blame, since your movement extends beyond the frame. Imagining the position of objects in rotation while filtering out the moving water pattern..

The water pattern, while unreliable as a spacial reference, does look entirely fabulous. :) Well hidden seams, and just the right level of variation, it's great work. Pleasing color choices overall too.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22am

Had some fun swimming, but after a while it feels too repetitive. The upgrades is really expensive

careless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57am

The water noise when you swim is really great, I would like to version of this where the screen is much larger and you can just swim about.

Apart from the collectables its very calming the sea sparkle is spot on.

Some top marks in there for me as I played this for longer than you might expect!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

I liked it. Relaxing! =)

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:43am

While it's not exactly fitting the theme, it's a fun concept. I liked the idea, liked the water and the sounds you made for the shop by your own xD. Maybe it would have been more fun if it featured a timer and you would have to challenges to collect certain amounts of stuff before the timer runs out. Hope to see you in future Ludum Dares aswell. Good Luck!

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:54am

Surprisingly addictive. I played for way longer than I originally intended.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:57am

I liked the sound and the art. Especially the water is beautiful.

rallebauz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:11am

I got a little sea sick from the background and the camera rotating, other than that it's a pretty game.

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:15am

The shop is a nice feature that keeps the player motivated to play, but there's still not a lot of variety to the game and progress is restricted to finding things more easily. The graphics are very appealing, although I would have liked more "dynamic" movement, the very linear physics kind of made me feel dizzy...
Also, your interpretation of the theme makes me think you couldn't come up with an idea... ;)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:40am

You have my gratitude for making a turtle-related game. As a long-time turtle games developer, I am proud that turtles are now getting the full representation they deserve on video games.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:48am

I really like the mood this creates, it was super easy to waste a lot of time just floating around - though a few more active mechanics or set pieces would be awesome

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:50am

Well this is pretty good but it becomes a bit long quickly :p Liked the mouth sounds and the way the turtle moves =)

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:52am

Quite boring for me. There are no attractive goals but I get your point about the "no weapon" thing.

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:07am

very cute, very dizzy. i like turtles!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:53am

Not really in the theme. But graphics are interesting.
There's no particular fun to play this. Boring...

sesteves86 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:58am

I enjoyed the water effects.
Had some headache with the screen always turning around fast and trying to visualize out of the screen where the items were.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

Shoot, I really want to play this because the graphics look lovely and the concept sounds delightful. I am getting errors in Chrome 42 for Mac though after the WebGL player fully loads. If you'd like a more detailed report of the console just let me know. (Twitter @jackrugile)

jackrugile says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:53am

Nice work! It was nice to play a calming collection game that was peaceful compared with all the other games I've been playing. I love the graphics, especially the water movement and ripples from Tinka's path.

A few things I would consider tweaking:

1. The size of game feels very small. I'd like to see more at once.
2. It would be cool to see more of a variety of upgrades. I didn't get enough money for the final upgrade, so maybe that one is different than the rest. I was thinking of maybe a way to incorporate the mouse by being able to create a magnetic field in an area that pulls an item toward you slightly. Or, upgrade and have little baby turtles pop out and they swim around and try to nudge items toward you. You get the idea ;)
3. The controls were a little tricky to work with. Due to the nature of how it handled, I would continuously miss hitting a specific item I was going after. Since I couldn't slow down or turn with enough force to reclaim an item, it could get frustrating. I'd have to wait until I was far enough away, the item was off screen, then try to guess where it was as I fully turned around. Maybe mess around with a way to slow down or alter your course better. Those could be upgrades too.

Other than that, it was a delightful game and I enjoyed it.

ruerob says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:20am

Thank you for that great comment jack! There were more upgrades planned, some were just visuals and others for controlling the turtle! My wife and me love your idea with the baby turtles! We also have planned a post compo version and I hope I get it done before another idea bites me! I am very happy that you enjoyed it!

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:11pm

My curiosity about the 20K item managed to keep me playing a while, but it got kind of tedious. Here are some thoughts I had along the way:

Even though superficial, it would have felt more rewarding if the sound effect for collecting more valuable items was different. Maybe even just raising the pitch up by a half step for each tier.

Given the window's short vertical distance, only one forward stroke strength, and slow turn rate, it was obnoxiously difficult to aim for and collect gold. Once I got a radar, all I did was swim straight for the radar object, ignoring everything else along the way. Trying to pick up all the stuff passing me by would have slowed me down too much, especially since I couldn't see objects early enough to efficiently aim for them. If: the turtle was placed at the bottom of the screen (upgrades arranged vertically on left?), or the screen zoomed out the faster the turtle was moving, or multiple radars could be active at once, or some more controlled form of side swimming were available, I might have bothered with the side stuff. Instead, it was just aim for a radar object and go to auto-pilot.

Some control schemes you could play with would include: Long press on forward key does a strong stroke, while shorter taps would do weaker strokes for better control. Turn keys could apply one or the other flipper, inducing both rotation and a little bit of forward movement. Quick tap on left/right key could shift turtle to the side without rotation.

Some indication of distance with the radar; I found myself aiming just to the side of the target object, so that I could tell when I was getting close (because the dot started veering off to the side more quickly). It didn't make me any more efficient, but it was valuable psychologically to see that I was making progress toward the object.

The lateral movement of the waves messed with my eyes and made me always unsure I was heading directly for the dot. I felt like I was always going slightly sideways, even if I wasn't. It was a nice effect in isolation, but once the game became mostly about swimming towards a radar dot, it became mildly unwelcome.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Doesn't really fit the theme but I do like the particle effects plus I love those self-made (I assume) ping sounds.

01101101 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Really Cool "scroll" style with the swim/noswim effect ! :)

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:13pm

The game really needs some goal or an ending. I got to the last item, but I had no reason to use it. Unless there is something I don't know of : P.

yuigoto says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:58pm

A kind of different approach on the unconventional weapon, as being "no-weapon". :P

Nice work on graphics! Animations are quite nice and I liked that detail of lighting on the turtle's shell when you turn. Sound fx are nice, but something more than "splash" and "bing" would be a nice ting. ;)

Having said that, it's quite a relaxing game. :3

May 10, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Very relaxing, but the camera made me dizzy.

goerp says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:28pm

No weapons, just unbridled consumerism!
Just joking, this was a serene gaming experience. Although it could use a goal it was relaxing (especially when I found the exploit of putting a weight on the up key and going for lunch :)

maunovaha says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Hehe. Thanks Rob for voting my game, you are a funny guy and making funny games. I remember playing "walk the plank" before and it was a really good game.

I also liked the relaxing atmosphere of this game, when I found my first bigger star I wen't crazy and tried to catch it asap before it disappears lol. :D The movement of the turtle also felt very real which I liked. However, I did miss enemies a little bit, the turtle looked so big that I thought that I could mash every enemy I face! :) Good entry regardless, see you at twitter !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]