Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Bros

by Mouch - Jam Entry

OS X and webplayer are currently unstable!

Jump through the world with your ninja skills. Throw your mate to kill the monsters.

Hint: This game needs 2 players.

================================================================================

Controls:

Player 1:
Walk - A/D
Jump/Double Jump/Wall Jump - W
Pick Up/Throw - E

Player 2:
Walk - J/L
Jump/Double Jump/Wall Jump - I
Pick Up/Throw - O

Hint: Hold E/I to throw farther.

Have fun!

================================================================================

Credits:

Developed by:

Simon "PixelRetro" Reiser
Dominik "Nerdheart" Beyerle
Michael "Mouch" Miedler

Sprites

Lucid Design Art
http://luciddesign.tk

Font

http://style64.org/

Music

"A Journey Awaits" by lemon42
http://opengameart.org/content/a-journey-awaits

"Artblock" by Jan125
http://opengameart.org/content/artblock

"Twentyone" by Jan125
http://opengameart.org/content/twentyone

"Title Theme" by ShwiggityShwag
http://opengameart.org/content/8-bit-title-or-theme

"8-bit Ninja" by FoxSynergy
http://opengameart.org/content/8-bit-ninja

Sounds

"Door" by Gobusto
http://opengameart.org/content/retro-sounds

"PlayerDeath" by sauer2
http://opengameart.org/content/oldschool-win-and-die-jump-and-run-sounds

OR Created with BFXR
http://bfxr.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#90Fun(Jam)3.77
#124Overall(Jam)3.77
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#448Humor(Jam)3.00
#478Mood(Jam)3.13
#512Theme(Jam)3.37

Comments

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54am

I really enjoyed the game! It's actually a really good game :3 I know it's meant for singleplayer, but if it had local coop, this game would've been even more amazing! 5/5!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

I didn't like being forced to use 2 players, but a fun concept over all. great graphics!

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

Thanks for the compliment XtremePrime :)
But the game IS a local coop game, and not a singleplayer game :D

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

Nice work ! The controls are really simple but effective and the concept is well found.

But I didn't have a friend around so...

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:13am

I had fun moving those two around. I should try it with a friend!

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Who needs second player... Meh, i played it myself and i had lot of fun! :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Regrettably, it won't run on OS X 10.9, doesn't even bounce in the dock. Maybe it's just my MacBook?

lanza says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I can't run it in OS X, the icon appears but the application quickly closes.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47pm

@Tangible_Games @lanza sry we couldn't test the os x version because we dont have a mac to test it on :(
But we will soon upload a webplayer version :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Such a fun game! We tried for an hour to beat the second level, but the controls were too tricky for us (a visible gauge on how far you are about to throw would help, and the wall-jump mechanic is very frustrating - it should be possible to drop down).

Lucid Design says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Awesome to see a game made with my art ^.^
Really fun as a 1 player game too, sadly I couldn't get past the last obstacle of level 3

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:45am

Although the platforming physics could have been tighter, I enjoyed this entry. Really well done game for this 48 Compo.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Solid Entry, had a great amount of fun!

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Awesome Game! Love ninjas

surpent says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Smooth camera movement, feels good operation, cute characters.
Great works!

renanlindner says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Very good!!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Fun co-op platformer. It might help to have a target reticule when holding your partner, because the throw can be hard to calculate -- this becomes an issue when you throw your friend, slightly miss an enemy, and they immediately die as a result. Great work, especially on the time-frame of the Compo. I'd love to see this expanded, with the platforming tweaked and tested further. Nice job!

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:42pm

This was so fun! We're lucky to have spare humans to play co-op games with when needed :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I played it with my brother :D ! We had lot of funs ! There should be more co-op games like that in LD !

swinestudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really fun game playing with other people! There were these 2 spikes in level 3 that seemed impossible to get past, but other than that, this was amazing.

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Very, very promising game. Also very frustrating at times — many double jumps won’t register, and I can’t find a way to just slide down a wall instead of jumping. But it’s really nicely done, great retro graphics and music, too!

Zinhet says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Great entry. The text on the first couple of screens kept getting cut off for me though.

Pierrec says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I plays with my girlfriend it was really cool.
My only complaint are the controls key which are too close from each others.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]