Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Flappy Shrimp Ninja Blob VS Blue Water Saussage !

by elpaulo - Jam Entry

First Ludum Dare Solo ! Here is the magnificient scenario of the game :

2049 AD. After his fight against the bubble hordes in the cave of darkness, Flappy Shrimp Ninja Blob must defeat le Blue Water Saussage.
Problem! Flappy Shrimp Ninja Blob cannot swim! "That's not a problem, people" says Ninja Blob, "I'll send my best Shrimp bullet in the water and guide it using TELEPATHY!". What an unconventional weapon !

So, list of tools :
- IDE : phpstorm
- Graphics : Paint and Gimp
- Sound : http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/ for sfx and Reaper with some free VST's for music. Audacity too.
- Javascript libs : phaser.io with p2 physics (never again !!)
- Level Design : Tiled
- Local server : Xampp
- Browser : Google Chrome

There is a lot of possible improvements, like the 3 coins to gather on each level, a timer for each levels, more levels... More enemies with different patterns, a key / lock system to make doors. I think i will keep all of this in mind and try to implement these things in the future. For now, i'm really tired, working solo was more difficult than i think :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Fun(Jam)3.87
#218Humor(Jam)3.46
#267Overall(Jam)3.52
#301Audio(Jam)3.24
#370Innovation(Jam)3.31
#515Mood(Jam)3.06
#624Theme(Jam)3.21
#787Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

EdwardGreysky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31am

FUn concept. Controls and graphics might be improved but you did a great job within 48 hours.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:47pm

I had no idea shrimps contained so much fuel.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Nice levedesign and gameplay. Port this to iOS and you got yourself the next flappy bird.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

The concept is simple but the gameplay is quite fun. The jumping moments kind of reminded me to "Ecco the dolphin" ^^

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14pm

hehe, poor water sausage. and all those poor dead shrimpies. :-p that was fun; nice submission.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Managed to beat all levels. That I actually wanted to beat all the levels says something about this game ^^
Were a bit too easy to cheat on some of the earlier levels with shortcuts though =)

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I've not got much to say except that this game is really fun! There's just something really satisfying about landing a bit jump between pools of water. Keep making games :)

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

hahaha, that was the best one I tried so far, and the only one I finished. 5 stars in fun!
gj!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Infuriating but really fun! Great level design really made this for me, even though it required some "unconventional" water physics and Level 11 was just cruel. Graphics could have been a bit more polished. It was hard to tell where the shrimp would go at first, perhaps if the bubbles behind him were a bit more directed it would have been clearer. Other than that fantastic job!

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Good job. Simple and fun.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40am

Amazing xD it's a realy fun game !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I found this game super fun, played it for ages. It was nice to control, and there was a good challenge too. Great job!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Enjoyed it a lot - Some of the level design was a bit mean, but it was a solid experience

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I played until level 6. things i like:
- feels and plays very well
- the notion of jumping from pool to pool was really cool
- the bubbles :)

somehow the overall is way higher than the components for this game. good job

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Neat little game, I enjoyed the graphics and the mechanic :P I loved being able to do little flips out of the water :D

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

In a lot of games, swimming feels sluggish or tedious, but not here -- the controls felt great to me. The levels start get really interesting after Level 5. In a game like this, I'd love to have a timer and high scores, since there's a lot of room for mastery of the controls, and a lot of the levels have shortcuts if you can pull them of. Awesome work!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

One of the funniest games I played here, hilarious, random, but at the same time with a really good game design, physics and controls are really polished, and you explode when you die 5/5

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Best name ever, pretty fun moving the shrimp around too :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:04pm

What an unconventional weapon! xD
Good difficulty and I liked the levels that took advantage of the fact that the water does not have to be contained in something.

psychonull says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I got hooked into this game! Good job

asobi tech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:31am

I thought this was too easy to begin with, then at round 8 it got tricky. Got stuck on round 11 before giving up.
Really nice use of out of the water areas. Jumping through the air is very satisfying. The mechanic is good, it all comes down to the level design.
The music was suitable watery affair, with the sound effects help immerse you further as you jump in and jump out, not too sure about the 8bit sound effects fitting to well with the rest.
The graphics are functional and do the job.
Nice work doing it on your own.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Nice one! Enjoyable mechanics, and felt like a complete game with all those levels. Found many of the later ones very interesting. Could maybe polish those tiles a bit, but they made their job well :)

ALobker says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Yesss!!! All 12 levels complete! Great game

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I love the jump part, very cool.
Well done!!

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Take all my stars! Fun game!!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:12am

Great concept coupled with some good level design makes for some really fun puzzles. Graphics could use some more polish, but it has a lot of potential.

cdgugler says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Fun game! I think the controls are balanced just right. Enough to make it a challenging.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Great concept plus good level design results in a great game! :D

nazav says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I like the concept

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:09am

It would be nice to have a way to stay put in one spot (like using a drag factor or something). Aerial rotation would be nice as well. I'm fine not having aerial movement control, but being able to rotate at the correct angle was critical in my playthrough.

Overall, I consider it a very solid entry, with the art/randomness being a rather big detractor to the game. I really you have something going on here.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really cool game ! Would play more levels :3

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Surprisingly fun to play for a 48-hour compo entry! A bit reminiscent of old-school cave flyers. I played it through the end, but the last level made me feel like I had just been lucky. You could turn this into a pretty enjoyable game with some careful level design.

thaaks says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Great entry! Music great, graphics great, sound effects great, idea great!
A wonderful, funny little game - not very much to critize at all!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Sweet mechanics even if the controls are a bit tough to master. The level design is interesting and the art might need some upgrades but overall nice entry!

Plustech says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:36pm

The jumping between pools was great! I would like to see more exploration on that mechanic. good job mate.

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Got to the infamous Level 11 before having to give up. I'm definitely going to give it another try later.

Cool mechanics, especially when it comes to the puzzles that require jumping between sections of water. Controls are a bit floaty and difficult, but I found that the more patient I was the better control I had. Good work all around.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:31pm

It's a very fun game. I'd play if there were 20 or 30 levels instead of 12.

broknecho says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I had a lot of fun with the game. Cool concept. Made me want to just keep going. Controls were not too bad and I got better at them the more I played. That shows some skill gained in the controls.

Great job!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:46pm

That's.... really unconventional kkkk
The game is fun and the level design are awesome!! Great job!

May 1, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Cute little game, needs polish of course, but it's a great start

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:12pm

The game was fun and simple. Well done.

jukben says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice! Great concept!

KloudRazor says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I really liked the level design (even though some levels caused some rage xD)

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:56pm

all hail the flappy shrimp!

Crowbeak says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:04am

Level 9 was too much for me and my lack of skills. Good level progression to teach the mechanics, though. The water hanging in midair is unrealistic, but I never have demanded too much realism in my games if the strangeness contributes to good gameplay, and it does so here.

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:23am

I had way more fun with this than I ever could have anticipated! The concept was silly and could have been anything really. I did love how you made the first few levels obey standard water "physics", and then quickly FLOATING ISLANDS OF WATER THAT DEFY GRAVITY BECAUSE SCREW IT! Nice stuff!

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Nice little game, the concept is great and it could be a pretty interesting physics based puzzler with lots of room to expand on this concept. The controls could use some work, and I'd like to see a little air control. Nice work!

Dorgam says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Very fun game also funny. The level design was challenging and the mechanics was simple and good. Controls are a little weird but you get used it as you play. Solid entry indeed

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]