Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Space Bug

by vicious_br - Compo Entry

Space Bug

For this edition of Ludum Dare I thought produce a platform game. I felt difficulty to translate the theme. I understanded as "an unusual weapon." But playing the other games I saw that it was not like this. :p
It's all right, I was happy with the work and "racked my brains" to create the puzzles made my weekend very good.

At first, the hero walked ... but to increase the difficulty decided to put the ability to "walk" like puzzle to the game.
Now, you can only shoot.
The skills that can be imitated are 'walk', 'fly', 'ilumine' and 'teleport'. You can use 2 abilities at a time, except walk and fly dont work together... ilumine and teleport so too.
You can use walk and ilumie, or walk and teleport; fly and ilumine or fly and teleport.

Shoot your enemies to imitate them abilities and Solve the puzzles!

Controls:

Shoot = Left Mouse Button
Walk (when collect this ability) = A, W, D
Fly (when collect this ability) = A, S, D, W
Teleport = First you must shoot. Click Right Mouse Button to teleport at position that shoot.


Softwares to produce this game:
Construct 2
Photoshop
Music Make JAM
SFXR

Tku 4 playing, hate and feedbacks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#94Overall3.81
#107Fun3.75
#122Audio3.58
#209Innovation3.65
#214Mood3.39
#429Graphics3.23
#433Theme3.48
#597Humor2.63

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

Very cool use of the theme and a great game overall.

Awesome game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

Great game concept. It feels very polished and well thought out. Controls can be a pain, and the abilities disappearing at the least convenient times feels clunky. Otherwise, awesome job.

vicious_br says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

Yes, taylor.smithgg, I designed for the player to be fast at times

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

Fantastic game! It was obvious while playing that the mechanics and levels were very well thought out. My only real issue was with the controls, which were a bit unresponsive at times (particularly when jumping across pits).

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12am

Nice concept. The game feels very polished.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14am

Fun to play and good pacing to introduce mechanics. Not sure about theme alignment.

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38am

link seems broken

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice job. I love the graphics. I love this kind of puzzle games.

vicious_br says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13pm

MattV, its all right.
For everyone else, thanks for the feedback

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Very smart puzzle game. Great mechanics and I really enjoyed the music.

drakekin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Great idea and a lot of fun. Although the fly ability being the only one to disappear is annoying.

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Great walk animation.
Well done game.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

This is good, the music is good, the gameplay is good, and the take on the theme is original. I will say this is a good game, the mechanic of take the enemy abilities is interesting, good work!

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I loved the game-play and excellent music - very effective! Not sure about the theme, but it was good fun anyway! Well done!

Kronics says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Wow!! This game has really awesome graphics and music, and I really like the idea.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Very polished and great player control. Loved the music also. Great work!

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Nice!

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

very cool, a little confusing at first but once all the elements are in play things go pretty smoothly. If you keep polishing it and you'd have a nice game!

vicious_br says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

uvwar, tku for your feedback.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Doesn't quite hit the theme of the ludum dare but its well executed on its own.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Really fun gameplay mechanic with stealing enemy skills. Great way to integrate instructions in the game as well. A very polished and fun entry, especially for the time limit. Also you understood the theme just right!

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Easily one of my favorites! Great job.

Zayron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Fun game. I enjoyed the game mechanics. :)

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Exceptional game!
The only complaint I have, is the fly ability disappearing...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Awesome game and use of the theme! Really fun to play and great use of tutorials in game. Makes very easy to learn.

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

Very fun and original! The concept of gaining your movement by destroying monsters lends itself to some interesting puzzles. One or two jumps were a bit tricky, but over all it was very well-polished.

phi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20pm

The idea of gaining abilities is great, but this implementation is kind of frustrating sometimes. It's less about the thinking process than about getting the player to move the way you want him to. Otherwise, nice visuals, great music, good level design. Nice work!

vicious_br says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Yes, phi. I was inspired in the game 'Clause'. In that game there is only one way to solve the puzzles. 'Cut the hope' too. I admit it's frustrating, but the challenge is motivating =D. Thank you for your feedback, I'll think how to improve the game experience.

jmborden says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Fun game! I also enjoyed the electronica music. I also appreciate the fact it is a HTML5 game. The enemies with the walking power-ups remind of Blubba from Bubble Bobble.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:29am

Nice game with a minimalist aesthetic. I liked it. Neat ++

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:39am

I like the idea of stealing the powers of the enemies.
Also very cool background music!

I would have voted for "space" as an alternative to the mouse button. (I have to admit, it took me a second to even regocnice what "LB to shoot" was meaning.)

cdgugler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:02am

Very well put together game. I enjoyed it.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:26am

Cool entry!
Nice aesthetics and really well thought-out the puzzles.
And the music is also very good.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:55am

To adapt the abilities of the enemies is great. It could be more puzzle like, but for Compo this is a great achievement. The music is stunning 5/5. Love it.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Music is soo tactical! :) It complements the game really well. THe mechanics are rock solid too. 1000/10 IGN

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:23am

Really enjoying this game, collecting abilities is a cool mechanic. And really clever use of coloured blocks for graphics, certainly looks striking and good use of your time spent doing art!

Curial says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:02am

This game reminds me Out there somewhere, I liked the tutorial and level design, though sometimens it feel too scripted. I would suggest to add some visual message to the main character when he cannot move (dunno, a cage, shocking rays, or character on his knees...). As a player, you don't like not to move and expect a good reason that justify this.

Hey, and great backgound music I would like to add som of this on my game!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:41am

Nice graphics. Puzzles are awesome and the mechanics are great and you have implented them in a correct way.
One of the best games I've played this LD

Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Cool game! I really like the music.

ztiromoritz says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:35pm

That was fun!

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst! You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysM6emYb6ZM

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:11am

Very nicely designed and executed.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:36am

The fact that even though the game lagged like crazy I still finished it, is just evidence of how good a game it is. Well done, very inventive and fun, I just wish I didn't have such terrible lag with it.

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Hey, great idea, it was pretty fun to play!

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:33am

Really cool idea. Would be neat to see you explore this game concept further - I can easily imagine a full game based on this.

psychonull says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Really fun game. Excelent game play, sounds and graphics. Good job!

vicious_br says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Tku for all players that rate my game. Tks for the feedback and for all else. See you in next LD.

May 11, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Intersting mechanics

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]