Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rock Paper Scissors ATTACK!

by ruthiepee - Compo Entry

Rock, paper, scissors... RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!
//////////////////////////////////////////////////

Use the mouse to aim and shoot, and use Q-W-E to switch between rock, paper, and scissors. Use the appropriate weapon to destroy the enemy, and don't let them reach the warehouse!

Code: HaxeFlixel
Artwork: Pixen & Photoshop
Music: Milkytracker

Special thanks to RVA Game Jams for hosting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#177Graphics3.76
#225Theme3.76
#248Audio3.24
#295Humor3.23
#441Overall3.29
#484Mood3.00
#515Fun3.10
#592Innovation3.05

Comments

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:20am

Nice, a little fast

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:14am

Nice little game!

I really like the graphics (the enemies animation is awesome, so is the gameover screen), and the music (simple but catchy chiptune.

I'll have two complaints though:
- The player projectiles aren't fast enough compared to the enemies. Instead of slowing down the enemies, I think you should make the "projectiles" fly faster.
- As an AZERTY user, the Q-W-E combination is a bit odd for such a fast-paced game ;).

Congrats for your entry!

JamesOfJames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:17am

I like the idea - it seems unbalanced in favor of the player, since you can always predict where they'll attack from and you can always have some of each weapon headed that way.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06am

Very good graphics and animations. A little too easy.

brennen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06am

Clever idea, and re-use of an old game. The music was pretty funny too and matched the theme.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

Interesting take on the theme. Nice work!

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

An interesting take on a classic game. Would have liked some "death" animations.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

Haha, that was fun.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

hehe, good times. got crazy tough at the end. :-p nice work.

dingotime says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18am

Nice game. Difficulty scaled a little fast for me (was easy then suddenly got impossible)

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

Cute animations! Hitboxes on the enemies are a bit big, could use a bit more feedback when hitting something instead of just disappearing.

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10am

Fun game. good take on the theme.

Difficulty ramps up really fast though.

nice graphics and solid concept.

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10am

Love the art style to the game. And the animations well cool too.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11am

Some type of feedback when you let an enemy past would be nice.

I love the animations, especially the paper enemies bouncing along.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04am

Wot that game got really tough, really fast. I liked the style of it, graphics were awesome, as well as the music. This was a really fun play on the theme.

The game crashed on me multiple times on both chrome and firefox, you might wanna look into that.

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32am

Heheheh I thought it would have a alex kidd in the middle. I enjoyed throwing papers, stones and scissors enemies, very fun and cool. :)

My assessment is as the speed that things happen, when I died I was still pressing the left mouse button and then neither saw what appeared as the game gave restart :(

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47am

I scored 83. It's a very hard game. For one moment i througth i was playing LOL :-P

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Hilarious, never saw this idea before. Although this game lacks of some small details that tells the player that he destroys an enemy, or enemy enters the base, right now everything just disappears without ant graphical/audio notifications.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Haha good take on the theme :) Overall fun game with very nice gfx and music. However difficulty suddenly ramped very fast and I was overwhelm.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10am

This was great. I like the protagonist's throwing animation. At first I thought this was too easy, THEN IT REALLY GOT DIFFICULT! :) By the end the enemies form a huge conga line and I just spammed the keys and clicked like mad.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I really like the wacky music and graphics :-) Fun game, although the game very suddenly becomes crazy difficult and I start spamming Q,W,E and LMB, and then I die. Also one of the better interpretations of the theme I've seen. Good job!

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31pm

MilkyTracker! Anywhere I can get the .xm? :)

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24am

LOVE :)

Music is sooo good puts a big smile on my face. Love how crazy it gets at the end. Great!

Suese says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:17am

Cute, I like the graphics. It needed some visual / audio feedback when you hit enemies.

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice idea for the theme. I also liked the music a lot! I quickly found out that it was much easier to just spam all the buttons ;) But the difficulty curve was a bit steep I think.
Still, a very solid entry!

wooltech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice idea. Just as I was thinking maybe it could use a penalty for hitting something with the 'losing' weapon, it got really hectic and I realised how bad an idea that would be :)

Graphics are great, the audio too. It's a shame there's no 'death' animation when you hit something.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nicely done! I could 'cheat' thru the first 85~ points by just alternating weapons and shooting as fast as I could at the spawn point. At 111 they just became too much for me tho haha

2Bit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25am

Cool game. Looks nice and gets pretty crazy at the end.

Schwiggy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:12am

Your composition of the whole game was really good. I also liked the animations and gameover screen. My final score was 127, it's a lot more difficult than you'd expect at first glance.

Team MAC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:07am

Nice game. Good use of the theme.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nifty game! Really hectic but fun at high scores. Nice art too, I especially love the Paper sprite and the ending splash screen. Kudos!

Conflei says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:50am

Re-using an old game it´s always a challenge, well execution!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Such a fun idea! I like the evil look on the attackers' faces.

The difficulty curve seemed a bit to nonlinear for me... first nothing happens, then suddenly a rush of enemies coming in without a break. They should stay grouped in waves or something like that or form recognizable patterns that one could memorize the combinations for. The way it is now, I had to spam the ground with all I had.

Anyway, great game!

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

Haha, really funny and enjoyable! Loved the enemy animations, and enjoyed the unique take on traditional RPS. Was a little unbalanced (easy to win by mashing QWE and clicking) ---maybe you lose points if you hit an enemy with the wrong weapon?

01010111 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

Awesome work! I think my favorite part of this game is the music, super catchy tune!! The throwing animation is also cool, but some of the frames seem like they're off-center, like one of the feet that should be planted moves around too much or something.

I think you could try out some other mechanics with the same RPS premise - like maybe a 3-sided pyramid that you rotate to match the incoming enemies or something. What could have really helped this is if there were big explosions every time you hit an enemy with the correct piece. I'm also curious to know if enemies can shield the enemies behind them by absorbing incorrect projectiles.

I can cheese the heck out of the left-click - managed a high score of 321 :D

uvwar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:07am

Needs 13+ types/dual types/+EV's and IVs otherwise good gam

Dreauw says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Good job !

The difficulty goes up too fast I think, but otherwise, I had fun :)
I loved this graphic style too.

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

cool idea. The "bullets" could fly faster and the collision detection could be better but very fun overal.

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:34am

http://i.imgur.com/RebSPMN.png

I think I'm winning.

MrShoestore says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:36pm

nice twist on rock paper scissors, and i dig the enemy animations

May 11, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Love the graphics :) Cool game. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Fg_0-yj__pU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]