Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Doorman

by jtpup0 - Jam Entry

Play as a bellhop/door man and use your enchanted door as your weapon! Place the door to gain access to other rooms and obtain secret technology cubes. Collect them all and you win! Avoid the security guards or its game over!

Instructions:
WASD – Move
Left Click – Place Door
Right Click – Pickup Door

Notes:
Try not to walk off the level, or you’ll have to start all over again… sorry!

Credits:
Nick Mudry (@Nick_Mudry) – Programming & Level Design
Jacob Peltola (@jtpup0) – Art, Design, Programming

Visit http://www.PlayNimbus.com for more of our awesome games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#25Innovation(Jam)4.15
#135Theme(Jam)3.90
#191Fun(Jam)3.54
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#457Audio(Jam)2.91
#473Humor(Jam)2.95
#609Mood(Jam)2.93
#627Graphics(Jam)3.06

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:21am

Great idea, and fun to play. Especially the animation and the AI need a bit extra love.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

nice use of the unconventional weapon :D
(is there an ending screen or something? the game just ended on a black screen)

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I played it and really was getting into the groove, but suddenly screen went black and 'trial version' was displayed. What gives! :(

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

@jk5000 - Thanks! yeah this was my first time playing with Unity3D's "navmesh" system

@rzfmzn - Thank you!, And no we were not able to make win and lose screens in time, there were only four levels.

@mantis - Aww man sorry to hear that, our WebGL build was untested so it is very hit or miss.. if this happened on the PC or MAC build I'd like to know what happened when it turned black.

Nick Mudry says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00pm

@mantis - We also only have a few levels, so once you get the last cube, it either:

- Does nothing!
- Goes to a black screen!
- Might crash, who knows...

Totally a thing we'd fix if we had a bit more time or if we do work on this more in the future. :)

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Really amazing concept. I keep playing it a lot of times even though I always get caught in some bugs. However, still love it very much! Extremely intuitive idea with a very interesting strategy in it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Graphics and audio were good, gameplay idea was good. It all started to unravel though when I glitched out and fell through the floor. But otherwise, neat game!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19am

Neat little game, I loved the mechanic!

diiq says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20am

Very cool idea! I like the way you walk around with a door having on your back -- it's like the opposite of a turtle!

I think I'd have enjoyed it more with more "how do I get *there*?" puzzles and less "avoid the enemy" -- just something thematically about door seems like it should lend itself to exploration.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42am

Awesome concept, I really liked the mood that this game created with its slightly sad background music and its simple graphics. This idea is awesome, sneaking past the bot was fun.

As mentioned in other comments, there are a few bugs. One of them that I found was that one of the rooms in the fourth level had no floor.

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Nice concept, the bug of the end of the map is annoying but the game in general is good. Good work guys!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:58pm

loved it, if it had a few more content i would still play it :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:01pm

The theme usage is so, so deliciously well done!

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Pretty nice mechanic and puzzle solving. I liked the physics on the door and the AI movement was creepy. I think it could be expanded upon in a fun way!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Its a fun game and its a really unconventional weapon . good work ^^

jrserjeant says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:35pm

This is a great game. I think it could be a really good puzzle game.

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Great. Original and entertaining.

lizard455 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Neat idea, and it was pretty fun too!

justthestudio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Wow! I was really surprised. At first look it seemed awkward, maybe beacuse of poor graphic design. Despite that, gameplay and idea was fantastic, and I seriously enjoyed playing it. Well done!

alex31016 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Woow this game is simple but it is really fun, great idea and gameplay. Congrats! BTW, the game crashed in the level 4 (I played the webgl version)

Fabraz says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Great, fun idea. Pathfinding is frustrating since the office dudes don't need LOS to know where you are, but time is a limiting thing, I know.

Love the idea and I think it's a cool puzzle solving mechanic. It's like an analog Portal.

4/5 overall.

Cheshyr says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:43pm

that was a really clever idea. it looks like navmeshing is quite burdensome. I had a good time. :-)

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:12pm

AI needs some working on (It always seem to move to my position even when we're between walls) but other than that, I absolutely loved the main gameplay mechanic.

May 4, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Loved the mood! I love puzzles! :D
Unfortunately, the controls are a bit buggy, I was trying to put a door and ended up dying because it wouldn't work :/

Tuism says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:01am

Are there only 4 levels? I picked up 4/4 green cubes on the 4th and the game didn't go anywhere.

The game idea is there - using a portable door sounds like fun.

But it suffers from some basic flow issues: going from level to level I had no idea what was happening - getting "caught" and moving into the next level looked exactly the same.

The picking up control feels superfluous - every time you walk past a door you want to pick it up, and every time you try you misclick... Either make it easier (and for there to be a reason to leave a door behind) or take away the need to manually pick it up. The dexterity barrier to dropping/picking up the door shouldn't be the game - the game should be working out the route to take.

In fact with the mechanics as they are you should walk up to a wall, the door should be there, walk through, door picked up. It's like you have the power to walk through walls, that's it.

If you had multiple doors, that would make the pickup/drop make sense.

Good start! :) I can see it was a lot of work :)

hexdie says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:06am

This is a pretty nice game but it's rough around the edges. I like the gameplay mechanics and there is some pretty good level design. The audio and visuals need work though. And when I got hit, I got sent all the way back to the beginning of the game instead of starting a level over.

FeniX says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Nice idea! I would love to see more complicated levels. :)

It would be good to add restarting the game when player leaves room with a floor and starts falling.

Mr. Jif says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:30am

Fantastic idea. Great use of the theme!

May 9, 2015 @ 5:49am

Nice idea and great graphics

leffe108 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:34am

Great original game idea. Appears your enemies uses path finding to find their way and around walls as soon as you enter their room which is great and add some further challenge to the game.

rojo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Really cool concept! It was pretty fun running around and outsmarting the guards. Some sound effects would have been a nice addition. I also encountered a bug that made me fall through the floor while I was in a room. Don't remember exactly what happened there, sorry. A restart button for the current level would have helped there. Overall great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]