Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mimesis

by Jimjam - Jam Entry

Take on the role of a deadly parasite and tear your way out of an icy compound filled with armed guards. Possess them by latching onto their heads and use their weaponry to your advantage, leaving a trail of carnage on your way out!

Controls:
A / D or left and right arrow to move
Click and drag the mouse to prep a jump, release to jump
Right click when controlling a guard to shoot
R to restart


Credits:
Jem Smith: Code and design
@jemmiwinks
manikingames.com

Jeremy Carver: Art, animation and design
@steamhat
steamhat.deviantart.com

Ivo "MexicanOpiumDog" Sissolak: Music and sound
@Mexicanopiumdog
youtube channel - http://bit.ly/1QbKCL8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#40Audio(Jam)4.04
#87Mood(Jam)3.83
#165Overall(Jam)3.66
#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#273Graphics(Jam)3.77
#285Innovation(Jam)3.45
#355Fun(Jam)3.27
#598Humor(Jam)2.68

Comments

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:50am

Great game! Loved the concept, the gameplay was pretty smooth (though the web-player controls could be better - I'd rather not have to use full-screen mode to avoid the right-click context menu) but otherwise very well done!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

The mood was pretty good, atmospheric, dark. The gameplay however is flawed...

The platforming is slidey and difficult to manage. That's what happens when you use the built-in physics for platforming without a lot of experience tweaking it.

The drag and jump attack is very hard to aim - I know it's hard to do a prediction line in native physics but that's what we need for something like this.

The inability to run up and down walls seem weird when you're a facehugger :P

The countdown till the human exploded seems weird. If you're a facehugger that's what you want to happen - you procreate, but in this case it's a lose condition. That's weird, why didn't you just pop off instead of die?

The restart time between deaths is too long when you're playing a one-hit kill thing like this. It gets irritating quick.

The music and graphics are really good, the rest of it are just niggly bits that unfortunately are more important.

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:44am

I love this type of games and the concept, i like it!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Awesome idea, and the mood/music is really well done!

As Tuism mentions above though, the controls of the platforming is super slidy and awkward. I also felt the dragging attack should have had a much higher lower jump threshold (i.e. you jump much higher, more easier).

That said, making a good feeling physics Unity game is no mean feat, it takes ages to tweak it correctly :).

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Slight problems with controls, or maybe I'm not good at such games :D
Other than that, this game is PERFECT!

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice work guys. The slippery movement when walking was a bit off. I liked your concept, and you had some nice mood going on there.

Demy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:48am

Very cool game and I love these sounds. Could be adapted to be mobile game.

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:23am

Too dark, but the idea and gameplay are great!

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I agree with Tuism, on basically everything. But I'm also going to add a criticism on level design. The one represented by your second screenshot is incredibly frustrating. You start off basically half a player-length away from instant death. That made the long respawn time even longer since you had to wait for the one guy to turn around before attempting the level again.

I also found it very unclear what the rules were, so to speak. In that same level, I took control of the middle-right guy, dropped off the side and exploded. Do the humans take fall damage? It's possible the bottom guy shot me and I didn't realize it, but it really seemed like I died from impact with the ground. That's the kind of thing we need to know about. In another game, I'd just experiment, but the respawn time made experimentation frustrating. (It was similarly frustrating to learn that you died when the time limit on controlling a human expired...)

TheCams says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:39am

Really cool concept, but as a lot of people said, the buggy controls make it hard to enjoy. But the rest is really nice, good job.

creative630 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:49am

Music and animations are fantastic! The controls are pretty difficult to jump around. Really cool game overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]