Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tranquility

by tanjent - Compo Entry

Clean Castle Tranquility of Monsters!

Tranquility is a wipe-it-clean game - your mission is to fling the monsters across the floor and toward the exit. It's your job to clean the castle before the Hero Party and the King returns.

Controls are straightforward: tap once to unleash the "wrath of wipe", hold and drag to pan around the level. When all monsters have been cleaned up, the next level awaits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#165Audio3.44
#368Overall3.37
#401Graphics3.30
#420Innovation3.29
#461Fun3.15
#478Mood3.02
#556Humor2.70
#737Theme3.13

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47am

I liked this game. The only thing that bugged me was how slow the controls were. I know you probably did it to keep players from spamming them, but it makes the game unresponsive and slow.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Controls were a bit slow. But otherwise brilliant game

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

The game was enjoyable but as nuclear mosquito said, the controls made it a bit frustrating, good job though, was still a lot of fun

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Rather good game, thanks for making it. Graphics and sounds especially were good. I only hoped that rather than clicking without character, that there could be your player in the game. Cheers!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

An alright game, would have liked a bit more variety after the first couple rooms.

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Very innovative idea. A lot of potentials here. Fluent control. Everything is exquisite. More levels with different kind of environments can make it even better!

indigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I find the later levels a little hard to beat just because it's hard to see where you going just based on the tiny minimap in the bottom left corner. However, it's still great fun, has good graphics and a tune that fits the mood well. I enjoyed it!

Yvanor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Cool little game, and pretty funny ^^ Interesting gameplay, but it could be better with the possibility to zoom/dezoom the map :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Really liked this. Graphics were fantastic, and the sounds were very good too. Gameplay is casual fun. Adding a timer would have made this hardcore, especially since making a monster go where you want it to go takes time and practice.

Did you make this with flixel/HaxeFlixel? I'd recognize that font anywhere xD

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41pm

That's a very relaxing game. Thank you for a few minutes of recovery. :)
It got a bit tedious at the garden level.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Awesome game. Music was amazing, and the looks were really decent. Only problem i had was with the controls. I suggest not using the same button to pan as to bump the guys around, and have the 'attack' go off when the click goes down, not up. Felt sluggish.

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

A solid wipe-game, the controls could use some work, but the game is fun to play never-the-less, and the art is nice plus the sounds/music are good, nice job :)

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Prety good graphics and sounds. Early levels are realy fun. The garden is too hard for me. Keep up the good work!

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46pm

cool mechanics.. took some time to finish the garden
good job, had fun playing.

MacMC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I liked it. I really love the music, it was very relaxing, so you get 5 stars for that area! I liked the idea, but I felt the enemies were a bit too slippery, making them go all over and panning a bit tedious. I would have appreciated more compact levels. But, the presentation is good and you did a fine job I say.

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Interesting but I feel like it could have added a new mechanic or something after the second level. The game didn't develop over time, it just became the same thing but just more of it.

tanjent says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Man, thanks for all the great comments! It's funny because I've must have thought about all this things while messing around with the code, hoping no one will notice or that it will fix itself ... but it sure gets discovered + summarized so eloquently by you. Thanks again, lots of info/things I will think about for the next game :) I hate that you burn out so quickly in these 48 hours.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

Unique mechanic. I like the attention to detail -- the mini-map is helpful and makes the game a lot less frustrating once you get to the bigger levels. It got pretty hard for me once I got to the Garden area, but I had fun with this!

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17am

Very chill game. Art and audio were spot on. Doesn't feel like an incomplete game at all.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57am

Really awesome! Great work. :)

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The concept has potential. Take it further with the dragging having an actual impact too.

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Very cool idea and fantastic use of the theme! I really like the artwork too, good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Interesting. Lots of fun.

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:06am

Too bad you can't move around with the arrows, the game would have been more fast paced and more enjoyable. The concept is original and quite good, the graphics are cute and tidy, the mini-map is a really nice touch and overall it is a funny and nice game to play.
Feels quite complete ;}

ehtd says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:50am

Cool mechanic, but gets repetitive

Schwiggy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:26am

It's like an aggregated form of minigolf :D I also get the same feeling I got playing Osmos - A delicate balance of complete tranquility or utter frustration.

hypp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I liked this game, quite fun to play, but also a bit frustrating.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:53am

never heard of a "wipe-it-clean" category, but I like that name.
The idea is also pretty cool, but there isn't much variety right now, and it looses its appeal rather quickly

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:58pm

That was pretty fun. I wish dragging the map and using the power weren't on the same button, though.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Liked the graphics and music, thought they worked well. Could see this playing nicely on a mobile.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:57pm

This is a pretty fun game.

But I don't understand your level design. The first 4 levels are all basically the same, I mean level 3 was completely trivial. And then suddenly the garden level shows up which is so big and finicky I couldn't bring myself to finish it. Maybe try and put your levels on a curve instead, and have something interesting in each level.

John Vanis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:07am

It's very boring.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]