Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spoon-Fu

by vortex - Compo Entry

This game doesn't have anything to do with kung fu, but I couldn't think of a better title...

You are facing soldiers with space laser guns with nothing more than... a spoon...
Good Luck

Controls:
WASD - move
mouse - turn
left click - throw
middle click - punch
right click - block (Pro Tip)

Tools used:
Unity
Paint.Net

ChangeLog:
21.04 - Added Linux version
Added more Level version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#295Theme3.66
#339Fun3.32
#479Graphics3.16
#504Overall3.22
#513Humor2.77
#683Innovation2.91
#714Mood2.73

Comments

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Finished it. Wish there we're more levels!

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:59pm

nice game idea ! Spoons are my favorite !!!

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Unity Web Player doesn't work on Linux so I can't play it

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Pretty fun! All the mechanics feels polished and the levels are well designed. The 2d sprites on the 3d background felt a bit distracting, I think you should have gone with full 2d or 3d, but that's just my opinion :)

Good job!

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Intresting concept and feels good to use the enemies own projectiles to defeat them.

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Good material for a much longer game! I like that I can use one thing as 3, but one of those could be used eg. on Q key. I'm not used to pressing middle mouse button in games.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

NIce game, could have some more levels, also the mix between 2d and 3d felt a little weird, but very nice gameplay.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I see you have played Knifey Spoony before!

I liked the mix of the 2D and 3D graphics, I would have liked a longer game because it finished just when I started to understand how to play.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Standard top down brawler with melee, projectiles, and blocking.

Enjoyed the aesthetic and theming. Using the spoon mainly to reflect lazers was a cool idea. I wish the other weapons had spoon-related counters as well, like if you could pick up grenades with the spoon and throw them.

Hurt/death animations for enemies would have been a huge help graphically.

Props for having tutorial levels where you only fight one kind of enemy at at time.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I like it. Good feeling :)

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Nice idea, i like it . ^^

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very nice entry. Audio would have made it one of my top picks, but the items you did get done were well polished. Hitboxes could be improved slightly but worked well enough for great gameplay.

OadT says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice Idea. I like the controls, because you have multiple choices.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

A spoon as a weapon. Yes, why not.

Liked the idea, but it missing sound.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:57am

Nice. I kinda liked how you could complete most of the game by just blocking. A bit more feedback on enemies being hit would help. Good use of theme.

shrapx says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:01pm

i really like this character control and the setup. I like the pixelated people and their movements, but the world seems very different in graphics. I think its crying out for sounds and more environments!

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Pretty great game, it's a shame that it's so small. i would love to had play more.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I liked the design and the graphics. But the basic spoon attack was really weak, so in the end I got through the levels using only the shield/block.

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice game, liked the idea of using the spoon in different ways. Good job!
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Very well done, got to the end : P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]