Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

They Come from Behind

by nonetheless - Compo Entry

UPDATE:
I've seperated second cutscene from the action so you don't have to see it every time you die. I don't consider it post compo, rather a fix, but still here are links to both versions.

FIXED:
https://babcdc983b5cd38fc3787a12463c3cd3d613948e.googledrive.com/host/0B54eWCk5eSFdb0c3ZEdmNi0xRG8/v2.html

OLD:
https://a708b92cdc03809dcb80c49d5a3a1f761c247022.googledrive.com/host/0B54eWCk5eSFdfnExMXZxT24tVWVkRjBJaTdORFVMZmxlMC1DSnRVWVVUZU1SZUNMRWVXMlU/TheyComeFromBehind.html

This time I have small space shooter for you. Pretty straightforward gameplay, arrows and space for controls, two levels.

As for the unconventional weapon - scientists improved your laser and in level two you are using some wormhole to shoot directly from behind the enemies. Works as a charm but the problem is that you can accidently shoot yourself. As most of the testers did...

Hope you have fun :)

KNOWN BUGS:

1. To retry after dying press space, message may be missing... Also at first it may take a second, or two, then it works fine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#86Graphics4.06
#238Overall3.54
#329Mood3.20
#334Audio3.11
#356Fun3.30
#470Theme3.44
#478Innovation3.20
#486Humor2.80

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice :D

vitviki says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Hey, the game is fun and challenging. Nicely Done. :)

prankard says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Would be really good to skip the second cut scene. I keep dying with my own bullets (as I suck) and the cut scene is quite long to re-watch.
Otherwise I quite like the concept and the silly science behind it :)

skylinegames says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:18pm

its fun

louki0101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:57pm

<3 the graphics! nice mood.

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:13pm

The graphics look really nice and clean. The only thing that bothers me is that the explosion particle effect shouldn't have gravity because it's in space. The opening cutscenes are a bit long for someone who is bad at this game. Very creative idea though.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Nice graphics! I like the game play and, yes, I was one of the testers of the upgraded weapon as I didn't move. Ha ha.

Very nice game! Great Job.

diiq2 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Very pretty! I like like the idea and the execution. I do wish you could skip the opening dialog after you die -- given how often it happens.

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:37am

The graphics are beautiful. And the concept is interesting. I had trouble on the second level and eventually gave up because the dialogue kept replaying. Also, it would be nice to add a short delay for the reset button because if I'm spamming space, it happens instantly and I don't get a break.

LuisDC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Good graphics and sound. I agree with the comment from other user about the cutscene, it would be nice to have a skip button. Good job anyway.

ladybenko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Absolutely in love with the art. Congrats!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Nice graphics and cool gameplay =D

timmik94 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Very Long boring dialogs before each level. And very bad that they plays again after every Game over.

sentendo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Quite fun little game. I like how the weapon becomes unconventional instead of starting with it. Also great graphics, I loved the attention to detail.

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Excellent graphics, palette and sounds. Nice work!

Park says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Yeah I also had to stop playing because the cutscenes take too long, even though I enjoyed the rest. Nice work.

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Really great execution of the theme, incredibly clever! I really like the graphics and the music goes with it very well. It may help improve the readability of what can hit you or not if the planets and space junk in the background were more in the distance and faded out. Otherwise, great job!

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Bloom makes all better!
Hard game, i died like other testers ot that gun
good work!

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Haah wow I got thrown off when the lazer starts shooting from the back! It suddenly gotten so hard I laughed out loud.

Everything is so beautiful!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Hah, neat mechanic! Really makes shmups interesting again!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Thank you all,
the cutscene is broken, that's a fact :)
the bloom is very subtle and only in 1st level - I couldn't decide if I like it more with or without ;)

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

It's a great idea but theres a few issues that need to be worked out.

Let me start off by saying, I really adore the art style; its very storybook esq. It really suits the space theme,I think. It goes well to set the mood along with the music. Also the varying speeds of the sprites in the background was neat too.

The idea is simple and its awesome! Just change the direction of the lasers? Thats great! I must say though, I really struggled to beat that second part, it got pretty insane at moments. In the end I actually found myself hugging the walls and flying from left to right ( up and down? , whatever) in a blaze of lasers, blasers if you will, eliminating the enemies, and most of the time myself in the process.

Difficulty isn't bad in a game like this, but its becomes a bit laborious when it replays the beginning level dialogue (which by the way is pretty cool too). Its a trial and error game, and it takes a bit to get the hang of the controls. I did like flying around before the enemies came though.

On a sidenote, the enemy bloops are a bit hard to see against the dark purple (just a lighter shade of red?) and I also got a weird glitch when playing the game immediately after beating it. Everything was slowed immensely.

Overall, I enjoyed the game. It has its errors, Im sure you of all people know that, but its a really cool idea and you should continue it!

-Sirmi: Team Toast

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

I love the polish of this game! Very interesting game mechanic. My only criticism is needing to read the text every time you die is somewhat burdensome.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Graphics are stunning, and the lazer from behind is really original, well played !

kunzbe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:57pm

little but super effective twist! gratz !

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24pm

The controls are realy good! The game runs nice and fluid! Smooth!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Neat mechanic, funky graphics - good job :)

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:31pm

I liked the game, it's fun, inverting the position of shooting is very interesting, I really liked the style of graphics, the problem is the cutscenes, too long for this type of game, and unskippable.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:36am

There is a reason that humans generally come back to the conventional weapons. This unconventional one is much more difficult to use!

Fun and very smooth. It looks like there is a cooldown on the laser firing but not the sound effect, so if you hit space too fast you get the sound with no laser.

Also, not sure what happened, but I was at the bottom of the screen and just blew up. I know it wasn't the enemies because they don't come that low, so it must have been my own shot, but I couldn't see one. Maybe it was slightly off the bottom of the screen? That or when I press space it is firing even if I can't see it.

Dhim says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:06am

I died a lot. Waiting 20 seconds for the initial dialog to repeat one more time made me rage quit before going very far in the game. What I played was nice though

oparisy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Good idea, and I like your take on the theme. A little bit hard to time shots so as to touch enemies; gives some feeling of randomness/luck-based gameply. Or I'm just too bad at it ;-) Your graphisms are nice, love the background!

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Wow, that's an awesome twist on a genre that's sometimes pretty un-twist-y (but that I still really love). Also a great take on the theme-- a weapon that is unconventional but still a weapon. I loved it!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Um, yours is pretty damn hard too. :)

Nicely done. Creative (and frustrating) idea.

On the second cutscene, I shot myself with my own bullets while the dialog was still playing out. I'm all, "wow, glitch!" But no, that's the gameplay mechanism. :)

Seems to work okay if I fire a stream of shots, and then get the hell outta the way. But I still usually die eventually of failing to dodge myself. Much like all the weapon's testers. ;)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Amazing game! Good job :)

Plustech says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:14am

Nice entry, I really like the take on the bullets from the other side also damaging you.
I wish there was a more clear pattern on the waves of enemies to actually feel like I'm anticipating the opponent and take advantage of the weapon. Was a little bothering to see the intro every time, would love a skip button. Besides that I think is a great idea.
Also really nice art proposal/color palette.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:55am

The bullets are small and hard to see. They should really be about 4x their current size, but with hitboxes still around the same so you have to get hit by the middle of the bullet to be damaged.

I died in the first level and had to watch the first cutscene again, which wasn't great.

The enemies would benefit from multiple movement sets and shot types. Right now having them move up and down rapidly firing doesn't give an interesting use case for shooting them from behind.

The artwork is nice, though more animations would be a huge plus. Especially a firing animation on the ship if you're going to have them warp their shots to the other side of the screen. People often look to their character to know if their inputs have been recognized.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:31am

Loved the Explosion Animation. Graphics are great, really unique. The way you shoot from behind is an ingenious design choice. Also Loved the Explosion Animation. Good sound. the backgrounds are little hard to distinguish between the enemies, which may be a problem if you add more enemy types. Also, really loved the Explosion Animation.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:48am

I liked how shooting from back increased the importance of accuracy. Since the enemies are the same old, however, it didn't nearly as interesting. Pretty average.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]