Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Transposition

by Robotic-Brain - Compo Entry

I wanted to try out Löve as a quick prototyping engine.
However it turned out to be a bad idea to use a foreign engine within a short amount of time :P
So I wasted lots of time reading the manual instead of actual coding.

Anyways enjoy the one level game xD

=== EDIT ===
Enabled rating on "Fun" since people seem to like it more than I thought...
(I consider this more of a tech-demo than a game since it has just one real level)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#705Audio2.31
#725Innovation2.85
#855Humor2.09
#873Theme2.88
#908Graphics2.43
#914Fun2.57
#952Mood2.32
#967Overall2.65

Comments

Lord bobyness says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

Well it was buggy, confusing and (as you mentioned) short. But ignore that because you LEARNED HOW TO USE A NEW GAME ENGINE IN LESS THAN 48 HOURS! Congrats man.

NIGIC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

Experimental LD is best LD.

Had a weird glitch on Level 2 where I had to pull the crate off the switch to activate it. Had me confused for a while.

Short game, but it works fine (mostly). Art is pleasing to the eye, and everything feels fluid. (Except the lava. "Thud" doesn't exactly suggest fluidity. But I digress.) Good job!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Keep Working,, your concept is nice

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38am

Took a while to figure out level 2. I would have liked to see some more levels.

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Really short but cool main mechanic anyway. Would have liked to use pull at least once. Why did you opt out of fun? Why is this even possible?

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Kudos for using SDL, pretty ambitious for 48 hour game.
Gameplay holds a lot of promise but only two levels :(
Getting the portal vibe.

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06pm

I opted out of fun because I don't really consider this a "Game"
For that there would have to be some more levels...

However I enabled it now...

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Good job trying out something different, even though it is indeed quite like a tech demo. The puzzle had me thinking for a while though, so I too got some fun out of it.

Once again, thanks for going the extra lenght to play my game :). Who knows, maybe it taught you more about Löve too. And if you took a look at the source it probably taught you what to not do too :D.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Pretty sweet! Wanted more levels cx

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Like the concept, thought it was fun.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

It was rewarding to figure out the puzzle on the second screen, but then I wanted more :(

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:21am

Enjoyed the gameplay and level design.
Well done on using a new engine.

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:20am

It's good, maybe more time could make a difference here. But is pretty impresive that you use a foreign engine like this

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:46pm

If there was more content, this could have been brilliant puzzle game. But, LD is all about experimentation, so well done!

xplicitone says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:25am

Very fun! I got so close a couple of times until I really figured it out. Love puzzle games so I can see this being really awesome!!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:11pm

It was a cool concept, however it could have been polished more...congrats on finishing a game and learning though!

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Well done as your first try with this engine, i share your pain cause my first LD game was made not only using C but also using pdcurses that i had never used before.

Cool concept but obviously it need more polish and levels.

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Nice job trying out something new! I dig the teleportation mechanic. Worth exploring further. Good work!

JonathanG says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:04pm

This may be a one level game, but that one level actually made me have an "aha!" moment, so well done on that. There is certainly potential for something fleshed out with this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]