Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

carena

by TomBoogaart - Compo Entry

just wanted to make something about cars, ok!

its last car standing or something

controls:
- arrow keys to drive around
- X to boost, very useful yes
- Z to enter cars
- C to crouch

used:
- game maker studio
- sfxr
- audacity
- laptop
- mouse

known bug: sometimes when you beat all the cars it shows there is still 1 left, but there isn't. nothing really happens when you win though, so you aren't missing anything

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#20Fun4.08
#52Graphics4.20
#60Mood3.81
#69Overall3.88
#157Humor3.56
#202Audio3.36
#478Innovation3.20
#634Theme3.24

Comments

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Wow this is really cool! It's fast and frantic and seems very polished. The presentation of it is highly stylized and actually reminds me some of Hotline Miami 2 with all of the effects and motion on screen. Impressive for only 48 hours!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44am

Hard to play this game without yelling AAAAAAHHHH the whole time. I GOT IN THE CAR OK! Love all the smoke and particles and general mayhem. Really fun!

napoleon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07am

I have to be honest here, the audio was a bit too loud here, but, it was a fun little game, but, it' s hard to enter the car in the first times. Nonetheless, I actually enjoyed playing this due to massive destruction.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

Crazy hectic fun, most fun I've had so far with an entry. Liked how addictive it was and that I couldn't stop playing until I was the last car standing. Although when I did when the game closed by itself. Liked the graphics and thought they worked well in setting the hectic atmosphere.

rogberth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Great game!!! Reminds me of Cactus Squids firsts games.
I really was expecting a victory text or something when I managed to survive the other drivers haha

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:03pm

The Hunger Games of cars. 10/10

runvs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

The game totally reminds me of Hotline Miami as well but in a completely different scenario. Very nice entry!

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Wow Tom, I don't know how you do it, but everytime I play your games I'm laughing so hard about the stupidest things! You are a guy...hahaha! I died about 5 times, till i got in the car, and then I killed everyone. I especially like how the game quits without me having to press anything! 5 stars!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:20pm

At first it was fun, but then I was left all alone... I had no other choice but to put an end to my suffering and kill myself.
;___;

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Great style, as usual ;) the game itself was well made,'al worked smooth but there wasn't much challenge to it. Loved the beginning of each match.

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Very fast start, I think I almost enjoyed just crawling on the ground and letting the cars wreck themselves more than actually trying to climb in a car in the first place.

pLaw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

This is fun! I don't get how to win, or how the damage between cars is done (I guess hitting with the front does damage to the opponent) but it's fun to find out. Nice effects and hilariously chaotic.

bazoo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Ahhh, nothing like drifting after a deserved victory in the arena. *picks up the cigar from the mouth*

Nailed it. Fast and funious. Reminded me the first time I played Hotline Miami because the unfair start haha.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Love ur style brooo, it's so unique <3

pkenney says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Very cool entry! I love the style of the art, the sound, and the menus/title text. It really has an identity and it fits with the fast wrecking theme of the gameplay.

I had fun blasting around in the car, and getting run over and smashed. The action is a little on the frantic side so it's hard to track and think about but it was still fun. I wish the car drifted just slightly. It was fun to boost around and the difficulty was about right for the size of the game because I played about 8 times and learned the ropes and then won. The game thought I was all done but I did come back for a little more.

Also, I found a weird bug. You can reproduce it like this:
- Start game, play once and lose. When instructed, press R.
- On the "You are a guy" screen, instead of pressing space to play, press R. Notice it plays a sound and makes the text leap but keeps you on the screen, this is fine.
- Because you like watching the text dance and hearing the crazy sound, press r about fifty times as fast as you can. Use multiple fingers on the key and play it like drums!
- Now press space to play

BUG: When you play now, the white flashes will not be tiny split second effect any more. Now they will last much longer and dominate the experience by blinding you for most of the game. So weird!

rubna says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54pm

fun!! i like that you have to get into your car first and that you can still walk around if you lose and that the cars have eyes like in cars. playing this against your friends with some xbox controllers would be ace!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

You should say how to enter in the car as you say "r" to restart :p
also very hard game and fun XD

eott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Aaahh, what's happening?! Oh right, nice game. Very, very fast-paced.

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Very good game! I had a lot of fun playing it. You should consider polishing it up and publish.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Fun entry, enjoyed the art as well. Nice job. :)

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

fast paced, sexy goodness across the board. Controls are a dream, super polished, super satisfying

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

CARS! The first time I played it I was very confused and wasn't sure what to do and why I died. The cool polished effects got me hooked though. The second time I understood what was happening and that made it super fun. The car controls are very satisfying and killing other people with your car is as well. I think it would have been nice to have some deeper strategy in the game so that there's more of a way to get really good at the game.

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:32am

really juicy!

OddballDave says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:17pm

This is manic. Great sense of chaos. Would be interesting to try this local multiplayer. Good stuff.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:57am

very cool game - love using car for the theme - greath graphics - everything - awesome job!

Nkoo says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:35pm

The flow is awesome ! Really well polished with really good feedback and rythm. The AI seems super hard to beat though haha

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:34pm

really fun. congratulations ! :)

DarkGrisen says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:40pm

This was a really cool car game!

jmborden says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:18pm

This game is pretty hilarious. Nicely done.

block97 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Cool simple game. Like the art and the driving feels very satisfying. Congrats

ajopart says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:16pm

All this in 48h ? Great !

May 4, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Very fun game! "Rad!" "Sick!"

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:32am

I felt the game was too quick for me, and it was difficult to tell when or if I was destroying other characters. I think some pauses and camera shakes in the game would help me read that. It might also help to tone down less deaths on the AI getting after other AIs.

Overall, very juicy game, and that boost feels really good. I think only a bit of polish is necessary.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 6:37am

So... I guess we're in the 69 position together... Chears ! (And great game BTW !)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]