Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Internet Argument Simulator

by Jessica Hayley - Compo Entry

Ever wanted to know what it was like to hold an argument on the internet? Look no further!

Keep shouting curses at people until they give in to your obviously superior opinion! (Hint: it'll never happen)

Made with Elm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Innovation4.04
#154Humor3.57
#284Theme3.67
#367Mood3.15
#512Overall3.21
#822Fun2.74
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Ovidios says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I really liked the idea and anwsering was fun at first but then, no matter if I sweared or not, the difficulty rapidly increased and I found myself not thinking about anything more than the amount of curse words I use...

Furthermore, can you actually affect how much hate you get? Without typing anything I ended up with ~75% hate when I lost, wich doesn#t really make sense...

Great idea and a nice and polished design but I feel like my input should be more relevant so that I don't just sit here spamming curse words.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

LOVED the idea, but it was a bit hard to understand how everything works. Would love to see this hooked up to real people talking. I wonder how long this would survive the Turing test?

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30am

Very interesting idea. Didn't think I'd enjoy playing a game about arguments on the internet.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

@Ovidios: I didn't put enough effort into making it ramp up logically, so right now people only become more angry based on time

@DarkMeatGames: Thanks for the feedback! I wonder if people would still play if we made it so people actually posted the things that they say in-game on their Twitter :D

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35am

I love the idea. Very funny at first.

Unfortunately, to make this more fun you need language recognition, which is still relatively bleeding-edge as far as CS research goes.

For example, what defines an insult? It's not just all caps or swear words. This is relatively difficult for a computer to figure out. Perhaps you could associate words with "negativity levels" and amalgamate a number representing the net negativity of a sentence. But that doesn't define an insult, and more cleverly worded phrases would get missed.

A system like that is difficult to implement in the first place, never mind 48 hours. xD

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40am

@winmac32 yeah I tried to make it as robust as I could within such a short time frame. I ended up having major swears, minor swears, and negative words that all combine into an overall score level for the text. But it's almost impossible to define all of the negative things that could be said. I would've gone into linguistic analysis if I had time, heh :P

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

Bonus point for writing it in Elm. If I feel adventurous I may try to use it in a future LD. :)

snade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:30am

Genius!

gamehelp16 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:04pm

:)

Pajama-Llama says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:34am

Quite the original idea, quite refreshing to play. I did however end up just mass typing curse words in order to keep my sanity up instead of actually thinking about what I'm writing. Overall though, good job!

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Great concept! I actually found myself feeling kind of backed into a corner after I'd pissed off a lot of people. I wasn't clear on the underlying system, but it provoked an emotional response nonetheless. Good work!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Neat little game, there should've been bonus points for talking in all caps :P

tininsteelian says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Neat idea!

Pierrec says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Haha
I started the game, a few people began to talk, and in the same time my smartphone started to vibrate, like if I was getting Twitter notification. It blew my mind. For a moment I really thought what I was writing on your game was published on my twitter or something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]