Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Improvisational Assassin

by Vantaug - Compo Entry

An assassin uses improvised weapons to kill his targets. If you touch anything it will make noise and you have to start over, you are a silent killer after all.

The second level is too hard for most, I'm sorry I made it during the last hour and was not able to thoroughly test it.

I used the unity web player so the game does not work in google chrome, use firefox or something instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#210Graphics3.69
#474Innovation3.21
#532Theme3.37
#611Overall3.11
#630Humor2.58
#664Fun2.93
#762Mood2.68
#764Audio2.12

Comments

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

The graphics are really nice. My only complaint is that some of the passages your supposed to get through are way to ridiculous.

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35am

Fits the theme pretty well. Needs some polish.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01am

The game is interesting but, in my opinion, the main mechanic, which would be moving around and being stealthy, is way to frustrating and not that fun.

I liked the graphics, they had a "hotline miami" feeling, which was pretty nice.

With just a bit more of work it could be a pretty cool game.

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

I think I killed someone with a toilet brush? Unfortunately I could only play the first level as the second one I couldn't get through the first passage way after many tries. I really don't think colliding with a wall at slow speed should kill the player. Unfortunately it's not really fun in it's current form, but could be a good game with some work.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

I likes the pressure the game gave me, it forces me to move really carefully. The setting is also funny. Nice work!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

I liked this!

I like stealth games. And the pixel-perfect sneaking was a good challenge.

I wish there was a third level... With some snazzy graphics and move levels and such this could be sweeeet

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:16pm

The movement restriction mechanic is awkward, and just makes things annoying instead of truely introducing challenge. The game looks great; and the concept is solid, but retool the stealth mechanics.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:20pm

awesome graphics, the game is a bit repetitive and hard.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I killed a man with a plunger and that was pretty great, but it was pretty hard to squeeze my broad shoulders through those passageways. It could have been more fun if there had been a bit more music and also if my shoulders didn't always get in my way.

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Graphs are very good! Fits the theme well. Gameplay is a bit cansative. The idea is very original. Needs some animation on walk and killing. Good job!!!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Bit frustrating. I like the stealth mechanics but it's really tricky. I've missed an ambience audio

EwChap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:06am

Nice concept. A little brutal with the pixel point accuracy on some paths. good start

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:06am

do i lose when I touch a wall? it zooms in, but im not sure whats happening.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Nice idea! But it's a little hard to not touch forniture xD

scorder says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice idea, and fun to use those weapons.
It was unbearably hard with azerty keyboard though...

May 10, 2015 @ 5:39am

You have to be just right to get through the narrow passages so it takes a few tries to beat the levels

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]