Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Words Are My Weapons

by Adam Gould - Compo Entry

First person puzzler where you use "power words" to achieve your goals - opening doors, etc.

I know the graphics are very sub par - I am not very good with 3D! I hope I've made up for it with my original sounds and music (with the exception of the player movement sounds, courtesy of the built-in Unity player controller).




My twitter: @ad_vurt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Innovation3.89
#95Audio3.67
#141Overall3.69
#184Theme3.83
#286Mood3.26
#371Fun3.28
#719Graphics2.78
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Cool ide!

I didn't leave a rating because I wasn't able to type -- I would WASD navigate just fine, but when the text entry thing popped up, my keyboard did nothing :(

So I got stuck at the swirly door.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:48pm

It was quite difficult at times to see the crumble walls, and I think a bit more colour could have been used throughout. Also, some way to quick-recast your last word would have been nice.

Otherwise it was a great entry. First Person platforming normally turns into a horrible mess, but it was well executed here.

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Very, very cool, very well done atmosphere and mood. Feedbacks are awesome. But you don't use words as a weapon per se, so for me it's a bit off-theme. Still very cool :).

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Best game ever, 10/10 would play again. :-) Absolutely brilliant, I will be surprised if this one does not rate somewhere at the absolute top. Great great concept, I kind of felt like a wizard. Liked the music and the simple graphics. Some parts of the level design was annoying (falling down and figure out how to get up again) but otherwise great game! Please continue development on this.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39pm

cool idea, i like typing being added to game :)

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

This was nicely done~
Though, I would agree to GeeItSomeLaldy because imagine if you did continue this and you need to learn a word to defeat enemies.
Overall it was good!

Shared says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Nice game, hard to play on a AZERTY keyboard, but the game was fun enough to make up for it.
The keyboard thing does not influence the grade obviously.
4/5 Overall

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I really liked the concept behind the game. I think you had a lot of interesting ideas here as well. I do wish the game could have been more about solving puzzles and combining the words together cleverly, but I didn't mind the platforming action either. I see a lot of potential for this idea. Keep it up!

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Really cool and innovative! Gameplay and music were awesome, but controls were a bit finicky.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

This was an incredibly fun game! A great idea that was extremely well done with good graphics, good music, good level design. Very, very fun.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

It became a bit of a chore having to type the word every time. Good solid game though.

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I loved it. Felt like the old lara croft games when there are only blocks as terrain. The sounds were awesome and I really liked the spell system. However the first time I was playing I was reading the intorudction and didnt know what word I picked up so I needed to restart the game. Also you could add mouse acceleration just using the default windows mouse acceleration.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Cool little maze game. I loved the audio for the command words. Nice job on the platforming aspect, it was solid.

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great idea! Nice difficulty threshold as well. Well done!

SwizzMan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I REALLY enjoyed this game! I like the idea of using words to break through walls, open doors and do other stuff. I found it quite enjoyable to roam around picking up coins and exploring different rooms. Music was really nice and not annoying at all.

You could add some textures to walls and floor. Sometimes I found myself wondering where I am :D Player controller could be improved as well, but it wasn't bad. One improvement or even upgrade of some kind could be clicking buttons to say certain words instead of typing, because I found it annoying having to type something every 10 seconds. Overall, this was a nice game! Map is awesome!

fabsenet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Hi! I liked the idea of typing words, this could be used as a learning game for a foreign language. the 3d graphics are a start but everything looks too identical. it was hard to orientate in the levels. music was good but way too loud for my liking.

drakekin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:06pm

The last level was needlessly complicated, there were a lot of walls that looked at a glance like crumble walls but weren't and I dislike random platforming.

But.

It's a neat idea and I could really see it being used (with some tweaks) as either a vocabulary building game or a touch typing tutor. Good job! Main thing to ask for would be a UK/US english toggle. Damn zeds.

Volvary says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:06pm

My biggest complain is the fact Materialise has a capital 'M' for some reason, while the other two spells do not.

Miltage says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Great entry. Neat idea, and well executed. Felt that the jumping was a little iffy at times.

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

@Volvary: The word input isn't case sensitive. In fact, it's not even spelling sensitive - both "materialise" and "materialize" are accepted.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:14pm

I love the mechanics even though it gets a little clunky at times, this could leads to great level design in the future. The puzzle are good even if I felt the time passing. The movements are a tad inprecise and some rooms may need some fixes (thinking of a room with a too steep slope).
Good job and good luck!

lamogui says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Simply the best I have played yet

Andrea says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice idea for a game!
A little difficult to play the platform parts without QWERTY keyboard though :(

Sytech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Good idea - fun and nice music! You should continue to work on this game!
Somewhat lazy level design on the last level though, an unnecessary labyrinth which didn't use any of the word mechanics. Other than that it was good!

recursor says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Quite an enjoyable game. Your idea was similar to mine, and you implemented it well. A couple of things. It would be nice to not have to keep typing the word in every time. Maybe have a list of words that you know so you can click on them.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]