Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Avenging My Gran, the Famed Botanist

by Chris M - Jam Entry

Avenge your gran's death using an unconventional weapon.

iFrame is a little funky so suggest you Toggle Fullscreen to play.

Z to undo
R to restart
WASD/Arrow Keys to move and advance cutscenes.

Made with PuzzleScript.

Part of Beijing Jam (jingjam.com)

If this is your bag you can follow me here: @chrismcmath

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#65Innovation(Jam)3.93
#76Overall(Jam)3.90
#132Fun(Jam)3.66
#150Theme(Jam)3.87
#252Humor(Jam)3.40
#282Mood(Jam)3.40
#461Graphics(Jam)3.40
#583Audio(Jam)2.48

Comments

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Nice mechanics. Very smart and tricky!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Gran! Those darn shrubs. Excellent use of puzzlescript. and, of course, I loved the story. "Killed, just like my gran!"

kristof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Wow, I didn't expect a puzzle game at all at first. You did a great job at slowly introducing the mechanics! The graphics are simple but effective. This is also a very unique way to interpret the theme.
If I had to bring up one negative point, it would be the length of the last level. That was a bit much running around.
Overall a great entry!

bradur says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I liked the story. Puzzle was fun once I got the hang of it!

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:45am

Really smart game! It is a bit like those push box puzzles. Hard to realize at first. Fit the theme nicely!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56am

Aaah. Too hard for me. Got stuck in day 5 :(
Awesome game though :) 5 stars for overall!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:24am

Took a while to figure it out. Very nice idea :) Great work :)

Draknek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:40am

Lovely graphics! Neat mechanic.

The rules for when you're next to multiple sticks are very unintuitive though. Always felt like a bug when it prevented me doing something.

The map on the last day was bigger than I'd like, made it really frustrating and I stopped playing eventually. Was enjoying it until that point though!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Gotta love the puzzles to the end!

ripatti says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Really cool puzzle! Love it!

PixelPerfect says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Quite tricky puzzles but I liked the mechanics

hrd_games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Fun puzzler. Too tricky for me, but I loved the theme of shrub revenge.

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Interesting game. The final day is very difficult, my brain is exploded! Good feelings, I love puzzles, thank you.

liquidminduk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Excellent submission, That final day had me for a while, but a great feeling of accomplishment when I finally finished it. Would love to see more levels!

The learning curve was quite intense, so some further padding missions might be cool!

Very nostalgic art style and sound effects!
Great work

pkenney says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

Solid original puzzle!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

Very clever mechanic. The game does a good job of teaching you how to play it and then gradually ramping up difficulty. The colors are soothing and the sounds are pleasant, but a music track would have really brought it home.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:52am

One of the best games I have seen in the whole jam! The levels are so smartly designed that they are challenging to figure out, yet understandable. Please develop it further and include more levels and, why not, new mechanics?

dunin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:04am

clever puzzle game!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:21am

Very nice puzzler - took me a while to figure out what the plan was. I thought the second level was easier than the first.

got stuck on the one screen one with 3 sticks

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Well done! Good puzzle with a story!

Wonkubus says ...
Dec 11, 2015 @ 6:52am

That was a beautiful experience

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]