Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blockman & Tuna

by ninjascript - Jam Entry

We came, we saw, and we didn't quite conquer. LD32 is the first of the LD compos that we've participated in where I can say --without any bad feeling-- that we failed to deliver something cool. So instead I'll list some lessons learned:

Lesson 1: Define an MVP early

An MVP is a "Minimum Viable Product." By not defining one we went forward with a half-formed concept that had no boundaries. The end result was a half-formed game that had no real playability. Oops.

For our last two entries we spent about an hour up-front on a whiteboard tossing out ideas and storyboarding some of the screens. That whiteboard remained a constant reminder of what it is we were going for. This time around we thought we had a solid idea between us and decided to skip that phase in lieu of getting down into the code.

Lesson 2: Make sure everyone knows what their role is

The team consisted of three folks, one of whom was new to our little cabal of aspiring game devs. Taking the time to set goals and expectations up-front would have kept all of us busy, and not looking for things to do or improve that may not have been necessary.

Lesson 3: When everything looks like a nail...

Our last two games were physics-based, and our idea this time wanted turn-based combat. All of us thought "well hell, we've built games before -- this can't be much different," and went right on ahead. Turns out different types of games want different architectures. Again, some time spent planning up-front could have saved us in the end.

My partner in crime says:

"'Blockman and Tuna' was a very important (if not very successful) project for us. The last couple of Ludum Dare jams we've made games that we knew would be well within our capabilities instead of trying concepts that we were actually excited about. I'm glad we spent the time we did and I'm sad that our vision won't be on display for this round. It was a great learning experience and has made me even more excited for the next jam."

All-in-all I agree. We learned a lot, and maybe some of the better ideas will go into LD33!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2240Coolness20%

Comments

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:08am

WTF^^

parity_b1t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:51am

for what its worth, I think this is actually a really good attempt if it was your first time making a turn based game. turned out much much better than my first attempt (also just in LD32) at least

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

An interesting start.

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Game seemed to lock right up when I opened my first can of tuna.

metalfist213 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I really have no idea. It has some good elements. I think the graphics are acceptable, but look at the pixelsize of everything.. A great rule of thumb is, that you keep all the pixels the same size. Good.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Was the first enemy from Abuse. o.O
Nice to see that you learned a lot, that's the most important thing!

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Interesting idea, like CowShark I experienced a lock up after my first can.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Gets stuck after I click the unopened can.

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:16am

I couldn't run it

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Also got stuck after opening either can. Good start, anyways.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Yepp, turn based games have their own mechanics :D I've learned that too a while ago. Anyways, the game works for me. Of course the sprites need some polishing and of course my first can of tuna also locked the game but I really love to see you guys working on another turn based next LD. Keep it up! Good job!

frokes says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice concept but i will have to agree with you that it doesn't really feel finished. Good attempt of making a turn based game.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:05pm

great lessons =)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:35pm

keep it up :)

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:41pm

LOL! this game was very weird! Couldn't figure out whether the cans were good or bad, i think they killed me a bunch of times. But you've got a pixel art guy riding a cat so big points for that!

sandrohaag says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I got the idea.

Exeneva says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:45pm

No rating options? D:
Don't be ashamed! This is a great attempt for your fist time :)

snapman_GT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:15am

I like the cat animation, but I'm a little sad I don't get to see the whole thing since it plays so slowly and the encounters are so close together. I laughed the first time I opened a can and bricked the game. "what they say about what curiosity did to the cat" ;-)

myachin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:05am

very fun))

dyfer says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:35am

I like the graphics of the characters but the game is very repetitive

theflocks says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:41am

Also got stuck after opening a can :-(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]