Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Remote Control

by Geckoo1337 - Jam Entry

Remote Control is my entry for LudumDare32. It's a platform game with a graphic style which seems coming straight out of our old machines such Sega Master System or SuperNes (and consorts). I love retro style games which keep a good gameplay. What is the storyline? Daisy got a problem with her old TV. This dysfonctionnement creates a dimensional door which catches and projects Daisy in a castle where many ugly and bad hooligans will try to zap the intruder. Fortunately, Daisy got a fantastic (but unconventional) weapon - the remote control. She has to fight so as to survive, by finding in each level the key - a yellow star. Use arrow keys to move and jump. Press SPACE key to shot. Music by NightDriver (NoSoapRadio). Thank you ++

PS : I am very sorry for those who use only Chrome, but I will try soon to export this project on Unity 5 for WebGL. Instead, please use another browser or use the tip which has been explained on top of the page.

Voici mon entrée pour ce LudumDare32. Il s'agit d'un jeu de plateforme avec un style graphique pixelisé, lequel rappelle nos vieilles bécanes comme la SuperNes ou la console Sega Master System (et les autres). Quelle est l'histoire ? Daisy a un problème avec sa vieille télévision. Ce dysfonctionnement créé une porte dimensionnelle qui aspire et projette Daisy dans un vieux château dans lequel vivent d'horribles individus - bêtes et méchants. Ils essaieront de la zapper. Heureusement, Daisy a une arme formidable (mais non conventionnelle) - la télécommande. Elle doit lutter pour survivre en trouvant la clé de chaque niveau (une étoile). Utilisez les touches fléchées pour vous déplacer et sauter. Tirez en utilisant la touche ESPACE. Musique de NightDriver (NoSoapRadio). Merci ++

PS : Je suis désolé pour les utilisateurs du navigateur Chrome, mais je n'ai pas encore essayé la migration vers Unity 5 et WebGL. En attendant, utilisez un autre navigateur ou l'astuce qui est expliquée plus haut. Merci :)

Я бы хотел добавить на русском языке некоторые слова, чтоб сказать моим братьям, что желаю им удачи. На самом деле, на этот раз заданная тема мне не нравилась, но альтернативы нет. Поэтому, я попробовал сделать что-то, которое бы мог отличаться от моих предыдущих проектов. Надеюсь, что я смог создать какую-то приятную игру. Сейчас я жду оценок. До свидания ++

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#248Audio(Jam)3.34
#541Graphics(Jam)3.24
#650Fun(Jam)2.85
#677Humor(Jam)2.52
#762Mood(Jam)2.70
#766Overall(Jam)2.91
#950Theme(Jam)2.49
#987Innovation(Jam)2.08

Comments

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:25am

Very good game.
I went for the TV remote as well.
I like the retro art and the sounds are well elaborated.
Thumb up.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

This is quite an amazing little game. Really enjoyed playing it. Sweet beats

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

The player character is a bit hard to control. art and audio is nice.

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Realy solid game. I also like the character and the music. It's realy hard, the second level is though. Adding a slight delay where you can still jump after the end of a platform whould be a lot more forgiving. Keep up the good work!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Very nice job fitting in with the theme. Not a bad game, except it gets tedious and boring after awhile. Nice job!

dlowe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Thanks for the game!

skiper4e says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24pm

i like the game but i think making shoot shift was a bad idea with sticky keys and all that.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Really great and fun game but holy hell it's hard :D

paulfysh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

I like it, gives me a good retro vibe :)

Kitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Good job. I liked it. It was difficult, but not overly so for this sort of game. Everything looked and sounded awesome.

Only real criticism I have is that the foreground color is a bit too close to the background color. It can be hard for us old fogies to figure out whether we're falling or landing.

Good job though. Thanks!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

Well done on creating a game with a story!

Too bad that the shooting mechanic is not very unconventional...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

Nice looking graphics and good music! Good job!

gatinmnsok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49am

Very well done game, great graphics and audio.
A bit, but not too challenging.
I would maybe want some more feedback on when an enemy is hitting you.

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Solid game, I love the art style and the music, it was fantastic. One complaint though, using Shift key for a shooting game is the worst idea IMO because it keep on triggering the sticky key so I couldn't really play the game for long

renatopp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Congratulations for your game. My only critic is the use of shift key for firing, windows use it to call some sticky key dialog. Anyway, nice job.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Thank you for your comments my friends. I will do today a minor update so as to change key (for shot action). This way we avoid this problem with sticky key dialog. I did a little mistake. All my apologies ++

pixzleone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45am

Very good!

Aumni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:49am

Challenging game, good work!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:38pm

The graphics are a bit repetitive and though the weapon is intended to be unconventional, it still plays like a conventional gun. Otherwise it's a nice game, I enjoyed it!

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:50pm

very nice job

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:53am

The art is simplistic, but neat. The theme wasn't sooo well explored, the weapon doesn't seems like "unconventional". However, gameplay seems nice but need some adjusts on leveldesign to be more challenging, polished and nice. Good job, keep it up :)

jthistle says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice little game, except my health bar dissapeared half way through :P but I loved the music, great job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:35am

The weapon is very much conventional. All the game is really. But it's fun to play (real gameplay and progressive challenges).
You tried my game (but didn't tried to click that's why you didn't see anything...). Also it's not my first LD game (only my first 3D one).

Filoox says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:23am

Avec Daisy, on a tué quelques méchant garçons !
Bon gameplay et musique entrainant. Bien joué.
L'héroine est réussie.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Pretty cool music and graphics. But from gameplay standpoint movement seems a bit wanky, there is small delay with jumping (i downloaded Windows version). Anyway pretty fun game to play.

sprawl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Fun game ! The controls are a bit frustrating sometimes.

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

The music and art are quite striking! Plus the gameplay is nice and tight but also very challenging. Nicely made!

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Nicely done! The music is nice, and the mechanics are solid. A bit too difficult/punishing for me, but that's a personal thing. Good job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:23am

Solid platformer. Good job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Not a bad game! Nice spritework and music. Backgrounds are ok but a bit basic. Controls are solid too. I feel like the theme could have been worked into the gameplay better, as even though you have a TV remote it still just acts like a gun (maybe pause/rewind functions or something would be neat!) Anyway, good job overall.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:56am

Kinda difficult,but I enjoyed it alot :)

Knowledge says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Cool game, a bit annoying (in good way).

May 4, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Excellent art, music and sound effects! As far as I went, though, the unconventional weapon played exactly as the same as any weapon. I couldn't figure out too what the items were for. :/
Despite that, it's an amazing entry! Nice job! :D

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:23am

I love the audio and the overall mood!

By the way, you can play our entry now :)

May 7, 2015 @ 4:58am

Pretty cool! it was really hard. i rage quit at channel 3. it was really interesting learning all the different enemy behaviors and the best strategies. i also really like the idea of levels as "Channels". the art was solid.

Pietdagamer says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:16pm

A bit too hard sometimes.

gelisam says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:32am

The combat was great! I liked how the level design made those same enemies harder and harder.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]