Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Slaughter the to Lamb

by SuperMsp10 - Compo Entry

My third LD game,was fun to make as always...

The objective of the game is to climb up the ladders and kill as many chickens as possible before you die. The trick to climbing the ladders is to get a running start then right before you hit the ladder you jump. The video has annotations to show exactly where to jump.

Feel free to watch the video if you are stuck and also post your high scores below

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#653Audio2.44
#718Humor2.40
#917Graphics2.41
#939Mood2.35
#1077Theme2.20
#1091Innovation1.88
#1099Fun1.96
#1132Overall2.09

Comments

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25am

I was a little confused by the game. It looked neat and walking around hitting the chickens was pretty funny. But I didn't know how to advance in the game. I couldn't jump up the ladders or find a way to climb them. I would hit reset, a single chicken would fall down, I would gruesomely kill him, then I would just walk around until hitting reset.

Maybe some description of how to play would help? I feel like I was missing some key feature.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

I think the game is a bit too hard, I have only been able to kill one chickenlamb and somehow it's quite hard to go up the ladders.

The music is nice

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

Took me a while to see the hit Esc in the lower right to start the game. Decent music, for sure, though i had a bit of trouble getting him to do what i wanted to the ladders.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41am

The objective of the game is to climb up the ladders and kills as much chickens as possible before you die. the trick is to get a running start before hitting the ladders.
Here is my play through of the game:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4Q1K3hOB7w&feature=youtu.be

Please post your high scores in the comments

GanonsSpirit says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

The game doesn't load. The page doesn't even load the ad, it just tells me that the game will begin after the ad plays (and that's with adblock off).

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13am

The game feels kinda buggy, but it's still pretty fun :)

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15am

Controls feel a bit floaty to me. Also, the green text for instructions was a bit hard to read on that background.

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:16am

Very nice looking game but I really just can't get a hang of those ladder mechanics! I climbed up the first but the second just wasn't happening. If I were to choose 1 word to describe this game it would probably be "Esoteric"

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Sorry, way too hard to play - the ladders are glitchy and broken

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

the game shows me the highscore screen (I guess?) without me doing anything, also I don't even need to click, the chicken dies direclty without interaction

sliphtrex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

I don't know why, but that game felt pretty unsettling. I like the concept, but I had a lot of trouble climbing the ladders.

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:19pm

The ladders are glitchy and sometimes the chickens die randomly without any interaction.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:21pm

It's kinda buggy, but the atmosphere is good. Check that ladders and the chicken collision and you are all good

Stechas says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Climbing ladder in this game is maybe bigger challenge than killing the chickens :D I like how you can jump on chicken to give it a deadly blow.

polegar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:23pm

After multiple try, i can't figure out how to climb the ladder, but it looks funny

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Haha so brutal :)

Couldn't really figure out how to climb the ladders though. Sometimes they worked and sometimes not.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

I also cannot figure out the ladders - running start you say, but even with a full screen-length running start dude just stops partway up. I made it up the first ladder once with a running start and a jump.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Intersting graphics, and concept. But still difficult

KBF123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

interesting concept
Fun to play, but I kept dying.
Though it's probably due to my own ineptitude.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Srsly, I couldn't climb the ladder?

peterkirk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I had know idea what to do, but the playthrough video help a bit. Loved the music.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

Pretty creepy looking art! The ladders didn't always work for me, and I was only able to blow a chicken's mind once and it was by accident. Didn't know how to do it otherwise. Other than the bugginess it seems like an interesting basis for a game, good work!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Simple concept, not very unconventional. It was hard to hit the chickens while climbing the ladders.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26am

I loved the idea, and the visuals and audio were great!
I did find the gameplay quite difficult to understand.

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:49am

Dig the graphics but I couldn't go anywhere..

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Looks like Stephen Dillane went finally crazy, put on a joker mask and went to quench his thirst of blood

jk5000 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:33pm

The humor was really good.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:30am

It is a bit confusing, but after a while I don't even care and just look at the that guy, with the horrible face that just stares at you. As if did something wrong playing this game. Graphics are real good with their own style...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]