Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Backfire

by Marjie62 - Jam Entry

This cellular automata based puzzle game tells the story of armor-eating nanobots living on a bullet in flight. Created as a military experiment in armor-eating rounds, these nanobots have woken up early, and have plans of their own, despite understanding very little of their environment.

NOTE: The behavior of each nanobot is described by the 3x3 grid in the upper right of the nanobot's placement button. The letters in the grid indicate which nanobots the bot will generate and/or which direction it will move.

For Web: Works better in full screen.

Credits:
Art: Kieran Lampert
Sound and music: Marco Longo
Programming: Taylor Bergquist, Kevin Granade, Marjie Volk
Game Design: All of us!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#54Innovation(Jam)3.98
#64Overall(Jam)3.93
#132Fun(Jam)3.66
#154Graphics(Jam)4.07
#184Mood(Jam)3.54
#320Humor(Jam)3.26
#549Theme(Jam)3.31
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39am

Fantastic concept! I enjoyed the puzzle elements a lot, and the audio and graphics were very complementary to the tone of the game.

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Super consistent and beautiful audio visually. Great level of polish. I really enjoyed this one.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Very pretty, really catchy music, smooth as butter controls.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

wow! this is very polished! the music is nice, the graphics are great. i could see this released as a mobile app right now!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

Ah yeah, awesome music! great art, and gameplay is very solid. Great Work!

m3_on says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39am

Wow, the visuals are really great! I'm super impressed!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:44am

Pretty nice work, although the second level is really hard!

Decent use of the theme. Music gets a tad repetitive though...

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:51am

What a great concept! Visuals and audio felt great for the game's mood, and the puzzles themselves were very cool.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48am

This is quite elegant and polished! After a few levels, though, I started having to experiment a *lot* each level, since the way things work wasn't explained at all and things became so sensitive to very, very precise details. Some elaboration on the rules would have been nice; I ended up giving up on the checkerboard level where the "twinbot" is introduced because I was getting tired of experimenting.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:59am

Really fun concept, and solid graphics

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:04am

very cool concept.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:20am

All of the elements of your game fit together very well, creating a very polished game! Nitpicky detail on how this could have been improved: make waiting for the nanobots to move more fun. Maybe a speed up button would have helped, I dunno.

calavera says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45am

Wow great concept and just hard enough to keep you playing =D

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16am

Well balanced concept!

benbateman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:58am

Great concept and one of the few games that I've kept playing for a long time before moving to the next submission to rate. I'll be coming back to this for sure. Quality work in all areas.

TurboCorp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Sounds became a bit repetitive.

The nanobots are absolutely lovely, and the gameplay is pretty cool, kept me engaged until I finished it.

muumeroinen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very creative concept!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05pm

A great game, one of the best I had the chance to play until now! As everybody before me said, it's very well-thought out. :)

SiENcE says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Really nice and consistent art style! I love the colors your choose and also that you give them a face.

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Great graphics style, I like the gameplay, but it is a little confusing at first. Well done!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Fantasticly polished and very consistent art style. The gameplay was interesting as well, although I'm not quite sure if I understood everything correctly. I did manage to make it further on to other bullets though.

If I would improve something, it's the instructions. Have some more controlled tutorial levels in the beginning.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very cool concept. Those nanobots are so cute ^^
Check our game too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Andre05 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Hum, the loading is so long for me but.... The music are great. Am I the only one who didn't get the way to play? :/

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Wow, what a concept. Fantastic art style and audio, everything feels very polished. Great job!

NekuSoul says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Very cool Art-style and Presentation

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:25pm

This game was absolutely brilliant. I liked the effort that went into the small details. I might have liked a little more detail explaining what each nanobot did, but I still managed to learn everything with trial and error. Good work.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:27pm

This game is cool! Really good job!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Interesting cellular automat-ish concept indeed. Good work

jacobturn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:45pm

i liked the way you did this

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:26am

Wow. This is by far the best game I have played so far. I absolutely love the art, excellent job! The music is great; it reminds me of like a Mario kart-Pokemon kind of style, which I love. This is extremely polished, and, while slightly more difficult than average, rewarding enough to be worth it. I'm sure you will do excellent in the rankings, and would be honored if you could try my game out and give some suggestions. If you're interested in having more of a conversation, and less of me just talking to a text box, I would love it if you would email me at: mywumbogames@gmail.com, or at least check out my game and let me know how I can improve: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=37149. Thanks so much!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:12am

Great puzzles, great music, and well written plot. An undo button (or speed up) would be nice for when you realize too late that you messed up your last couple moves.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:27am

A really solid entry, love the music, it reminds me of Bobble Bobble

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:03pm

i love it..

SamH says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Took me some time to understand, but it’s great overall. Two minor nitpicks: the interface doesn’t render well in small resolutions (e.g. 800×600), and the tutorial screens interrupt my actions. Apart from that, the music, gameplay and graphics are most excellent for a 72-hour project!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]