Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Beep Boop

by CJ K - Jam Entry

Both keyboard/mouse and XBOX Controllers are supported :)

Well mostly. XBOX controller is not supported for the WebGL version :( Also shifts will not fire for WebGL. Just to further drive the point. WebGL should be considered unstable and not the preferred way of playing.

~ Alternative Controls ~

Controls that aren't specified in the game that can be used as well.

Keyboard:

* Arrow keys can be used for moving.
* W and UP will also jump.
* LEFT SHIFT and RIGHT SHIFT will also shoot.

XBOX Controller:

* RIGHT TRIGGER may be used to shoot.

Made solo by @cjkimberlin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#21Overall(Jam)4.10
#40Fun(Jam)3.94
#157Mood(Jam)3.61
#188Innovation(Jam)3.63
#206Theme(Jam)3.79
#222Graphics(Jam)3.88
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#731Humor(Jam)2.43

Comments

team_towel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Amazing Work :) Loved it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

This game is amazing! The aesthetics and sound are really great, and the mechanics are super awesome! Definitely fits the theme. Has an almost super meat boy way of making one look at the puzzles to try and think outside the box. I would love to see a full release of this game. Excellent work!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Wow, brilliantly designed. The way that you make each area impassible until you figure out a new way to use the bubbles, and then you have to use that technique from then on! EXCELLENT level construction and difficulty curve.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

The aesthetic is spot on, very good emulation of an early monochrome LCD screen. Deceptively simple mechanic and fantastic puzzles.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

It was fun! The level design is amazing, and I like this style of graphics, good work!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Very well executed. The art style is really cool and the controls are spot on. Great work!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Oh wow, this is a really cool mechanic! Really nice minimalistic art and sound that blend really well too.

I'd like for there to be an automatic checkpoint on each screen. Having to go through puzzles you already solved is tedious. I got to the one where you're on a high cliff with a wall of spikes on it before giving up. But I'd be really interested to see this mechanic expanded into a full game, if there's anything more to explore with it!

benjih says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Awesome game mechanic with an great art style. I loved the game despite getting stuck fairly early on into the game. I will definitely put this aside though and try and figure it out.

I suck at puzzles.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:56pm

This game definitely needs checkpoints. It takes a while to get used to new controls like this and going back to the beginning of the level each time is frustrating. Otherwise, it's a fun game with great music.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really nice idea, animation were very nice, but putting the gun in X button complicated because it's difficult to walk and shoot.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice job. Game was really well made. Nice use of the theme...

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Brilliant puzzles, I love the aesthetic!

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Damn really awesome game. Probably the best one I have played so far. Nice idea, cool retro graphics and challenging level design. The only thing I could think of missing is music (especially since the name is Beep Boop)

sch00f says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

The best game I've played so far, and I just love it!
Awesome gameplay mechanic that I've never seen before, minimalistic & nice artstyle (love that you can change the colourpalette), cool soundtrack and a good difficulty curve.
The only negative point that I found was that I couldn't exit the game with ESC...
I hope that you make some more levels!

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Great gameboy style graphics, music is fine, and nice mechanic. It's a little to harsh to start from the beginning every time you fall, but nice work nonetheless.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Really great level design and control scheme. Even the visual was pleasingly reminiscent of the original GameBoy.

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Love the aesthetic, love the puzzles. Was a great deal of fun to play.

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

This is great! Now this is my kind of thing~
I was expecting 8-bit beeps since it's "Beep Boop"
Either way, I don't want to repeat what Tasteslikefuture said but I would also have the same opinion as him and would really like to see a full release of this game!

I also won it: http://puu.sh/hkWWB/a8f11d44e4.jpg

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

Everything is pretty much tied together very well. Save for the music but, that's fine. It makes you calm.

I've enjoyed the game, specially with the difficulty curve. It's very nice.

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

very cool feel and level design for a relatively difficult to implement mechanic. very nice puzzles too. congrats

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Loved the level design and overall mood. Wouldn't mind a few more re-spawn points along the way tho.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

smooth gameplay :)
good job

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:24am

Love the MegaMan death animation. Clever mechanic.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Plays very well. It's a nice use of the theme. The LCD look is nice and clean. The game does a good job shoing how to play and introducing the mechanics. A very well put together entry, well done!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

You've got a really cool mechanic here, and you explore it really satisfyingly over the course of the levels. The visual aesthetic is great too. The checkpoints are a bit too unforgiving I think, resulting in the need to replay sections you've already mastered multiple time, but otherwise this is really quite amazing. Nice work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Oh wow - simple, clean, great looking platformer with a pretty neat mechanic. Love the colour change options, adds a nice retro feel somehow :D Found it to be a little bit easy, but this is ludum dare after all (plus we always get told our games are too hard xD).

Great work!

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Very well executed on all fronts. You're like an executioner. One who executes. Good job.

hexdie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:14am

Really good game! I liked the mechanic and the level design is great! I also really enjoyed the art and aesthetic. Great work!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:37am

Was a ton of fun. I basically just pogo'd everywhere I could. Loved the mechanic

kristof says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:17am

Very nice mechanic. The graphics remind me of my old Nokia phone :D
It took me a while to find out, that you had to jump and press down at the same time to shoot down. Probably because I used W to jump at first, which does not seem to work with pressing down at the same time. And for some reason when I found out how it worked, my brain still couldn't handle jumping and pressing down at the same time :D
But still, I think you did a great job with the game. It feels very polished!

Andrea says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Very cute and very interesting game!
The level design is amazing even though I'd love a save point afer the hardest part, but then again, once you're used to them they go down easy.
Loved it, well done!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Such a great game, Love the difficulty level, and the mechanic. Great entry.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great, polished, fun. The full package.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Really fun, a couple of the puzzles I found frustrating, but maybe I was just solving them wrong? The one that is just a huge drop off with spikes down the side was really difficult to pull of even though I knew how to do it the entire time. Flawless in every other respect though.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:52am

Slightly difficult due to how the checkpoints are paced out but I loved the mechanics and the Game and Watch style graphics.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

I really enjoyed this game! The mechanic is really interesting. It ramped up in difficulty rather quick, and I could not get too far. I noticed from the screenshots there were different worlds/ obsticles/ artwork that looked really fun. Great work!

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:40am

Love the style, mood is great, and the mechanic is awesome. Solid platformer. Well done!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Great game! The mechanics are pretty unique and the controls are easy to use, the level design is more than amazing and the progressive tutorial is really well handled. Sounds and graphics create a nice atmosphere and the color swipe is a neat touch.

I really wish for a full version of this game, it has a lot of potential. Congratulations!

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Really, really cool game! The mechanics remind me a bit of Pid, but in a good and different way! I like the (almost) monochrome art style (for some reason Unity didn't allow my native resolution, which blurred the display a bit, but I guess that's not your fault).

It could have used a few more checkpoints, but besides that, very good entry and great level design.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Really well designed and thought out game. Graphics were simple yet perfect for the game and the controls felt great. Very enjoyable game.

ftvs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:52am

Good idea and level design. Respawns are on the harsh side.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:56am

very clever and fun. i do feel the checkpoints need to be a little more frequent, because if you solve on of the movement 'puzzles' then die on the next, you shouldn't have to redo past challenges. though that could be that i wanted to see more of the game, but was spending too much time redoing my mistakes over and over

Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:12pm

One word. ROOOOOCKET JUUUMP! (OK, that's two words) :D

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I really like the art style. I read your post mortem. I see what you mean by there being difficulty spikes. I'm stuck in one area, but I'm determined to figure it out.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:14am

Fantastic game! There is an impressive amount of puzzles using the mechanic in really interesting ways. Awesome work! :D

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Very well made game. I love how you could change the 2 colors. Some people might find the difficulty a bit too much but for me it was alright. The song could have been a bit more upbeat, but overall really good job!

May 5, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Great game, loved the old style visual and the sound! The level design on this one is incredible too!

May 11, 2015 @ 7:20pm

What I like about this game is definitely longer than what I felt needed work. The controls were very smooth, I liked the minimalist, old-school graphics style and the tonal audio/SFX. I also enjoyed the gameplay mechanics immensely.

However, as an individual who is notoriously bad at platformers in general, ending up back at the beginning every time I failed a jump was intensely frustrating, and caused me to stop playing even though I wanted to continue with the levels.

For a game with mechanics such as this, you really want to make sure that the player, at minimum, ends up back at the beginning of a new "section" of puzzle/platforming, and not farther back than what they've already completed. It can make things tedious and wear things rather thin, and you want to make sure that the game doesn't get stale. You want to make sure the player is either a) experiencing something new or b) overcoming an obstacle they haven't mastered yet, in order to keep things moving.

Other than that, this was solid. :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]