Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bees Bears Buzz

by CowShark - Jam Entry

Controls:
Left Stick / WASD: Movement
Left Mouse / Joystick Button 0: Roll pots / Build
Right Mouse / Joystick Button 1: Cycle between build items and pot rolling


About Game:
You are a bee keeping bear who intends to keep his honey safe from an encroaching multitude of other bears. Build beehives to shoot bees at them, and trees to block their way.

Game Mechanics You May Want to Know:
Protect your honey pot from enemy bears. As they attack it, you'll lose honey off the meter on the left side of the screen.

Everything you build takes a queen bee as a resource. Collect queen bees!

Pots don't do much damage. If you want to take out bears, beehives are where it's at. Pots can damage trees and beehives the same way other bears do.

Regular size enemy bears will fight anything, even each other.

Collect honey to score points. Collecting lots of honey can restore your honey meter.

Contributors -
Programming/Rotating Things - David Fonner
Art - Amy Saunders
Music - Seth Renshaw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#170Theme(Jam)3.83
#199Overall(Jam)3.61
#209Audio(Jam)3.43
#230Graphics(Jam)3.85
#271Humor(Jam)3.36
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#298Fun(Jam)3.34
#305Innovation(Jam)3.40

Comments

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04am

Awesome! I liked being able to build and attack. I think adding some sort of level design would make the fun factor really increase. Being able to set up encounter areas and choke points would overall help streamline the experience and create variety. Great job though!

Harley77 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

Here I am thinking I had the only game that combined bears and bees. Great job, yours is waay better.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:08am

Cute graphics and I liked the music! Fun little tower defense-esque game. One complaint: it took me a while to figure out what the "fire" button is at the beginning. Good job!

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Funny Game,Very good, thank you for sharing

jprogman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02am

I really like the artwork and audio -- especially the audio since I can tell you did the bear voices heh.
However, the combat is very limited as I can only shoot left and right, not up and down. Which made of getting rid of bears harder when they're blocked by the left or right sides.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05am

Very nice take on the theme and great all around. Really fun and complete game. Played great in Firefox too. You can't do any beetter :)

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

For a lot of criticisms I would offer the blanket excuse, "If I had more time..."

seraphki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02am

Art is adorable, sounds are adorable.
Hoard of bears is scary.
Nicely done =3

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02am

I love the tower defence-style game play, though I find the difficulty ramps up pretty quickly :P Nice game!

roving-stone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

This is a great little game. I love the bear walking animation. So much attitude haha.

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16am

Got to lvl 10. Pretty fun. Damn rats they stole my tasty cheese :(

gamedevBear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18am

Bears! :D
Art and sound effects are great. Gameplay would be more fun with map variation and being able to place up/down.
I found surrounding the honey pot with as many beehives as possible to be very effective.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20am

love this game! the graphics and concept is sooo cool! its a little bit tricky to switch modes using the rmb. but i had fun anyway.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21am

Some fun ideas, but with everything coming at me right away it was a bit overwhelming. So when you get that "more time"... :) I agree, it needs levels.

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

My browser went crazy and posted my previous comment here, srry. This was pretty fun and difficult!. I really liked it, those bears were though!

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:28am

I agree that having different levels would be probably a cool thing if I do another version of this.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

I like it. I lost pretty quickly though. But it is fun to play.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

I might be just tired from the jam, the difficulty curve as it is doesn't give me enough time to figure out the ins and outs of this game, and I was doing pretty badly

Side note: I also for some reason confused the grass being solid walls since there's a sharp contrast between the grass and the dirt path

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04pm

This is a pretty fun game for its size. Being able to place things however you want and move around the honey gives you a lot of options, although it can get a bit difficult to protect the honey if you lock yourself outside a ring of trees. If there's one thing I would suggest apart from adding more levels, being able to place objects above or below yourself would be pretty helpful. Great job overall~

handkor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nice beekeeper suit.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

awesome!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I like the bears cx and the building mechanic was really sweet.

smikulcik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02am

Great idea. Pretty fun.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:05am

Interesting! Really liked the graphics.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:38am

The sprites look awesome! I like how the game becomes pretty chaotic after some time. It feels like there is much going an and it really challenges my multitasking. Good job.

sorlok says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Really well done, and fun! I loved the game over screen. :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25pm

A nice little twist on the tower defense formula! It's a shame you can't attack up or down though, considering how far you can attack otherwise!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I got OVER 9000!!! points just by spamming beehives everywhere. The graphics are very nice.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Nicely executed game. Great job!

anokta says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:49pm

hahaha awesome soundfx! :)

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nice graphics and gameplay.

DarkGrisen says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I laughed when I played this game :)

mockthebear says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Awesome! i love games that you have to defend something, and move the thing that you have to defend was something!
but you can only shot to sides was bad XP

ruerob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I like your game! It was fun to play but a little bit difficult, too. I like the character design and the objects! It was a little bit hard because I can't shoot vertical. Nice game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:32am

that was really fun - really interesting mechanice that works well - great job

longshorts says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Really like the graphics, took me a bit long to figure out the point of trees. But yeah it was an enjoyable little game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]