Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Switcheroo

by MattV - Compo Entry

Switcheroo - a platformer with a gun that trades your position with your enemies!

The game has some really cool PROCEDURAL MUSIC that I am really proud of, but unfortunately it doesn't work with Unity Web GL!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Innovation4.10
#47Fun3.90
#61Theme4.10
#109Overall3.77
#364Humor3.10
#381Mood3.13
#503Audio2.79
#672Graphics2.86
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

I love this game! An interesting mechanic is put to good use, and it's definitely unconventional! Nice puzzles, and the slo-mo feature sure came in handy. The graphic's aren't amazing but I like the puppy goomba enough to give 4 stars outta 5. The one thing I think that could have made this game better is if there were more levels, but f course in the compo there is very little time! You should expand on this after the dare :)

rukai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

Fantastic idea!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27am

Good game... interesting mechanic indeed!
Thanks for sharing

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26am

The art was kind of lame. For example, the lava was not even lined up.

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

Great entry - really love the switching mechanic. Very fun well done :)

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

Oh man that's badass. It's got such a good "feel" to it when you slow down time and swap. You feel like you're in the matrix.

Maybe that's just me xD

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

Very unique mechanic and perfect example of the theme. The actual game play is a little rough but that's expected for the time constraints. You should fully flesh this out and get it up on some of the game portals. I think a lot of people would enjoy it.

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29am

Very interesting mechanic, super challenging.

Naphier says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

Cute and challenging. I could see this evolving into a really neat game. Cheers!

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45am

Nice mechanic, and also different collisions for characters.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27am

The game says the lasers pass through yellow walls, but those walls are green. The slo-mo was really cool in the last two levels.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36am

creative thinking.
liked it a lot...

Jaloko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42am

Pretty damn cool mechanic which made for some interesting gameplay.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Really nice one! My game uses quite similar mechanic, but your moving enemies are better then my static boxes :) The controls were a little bit laggy (WebGL, firefox OS/X).

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

The mechanics is very interesting.

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Yay mechanic buddies! Glad you found my game so that I could look at yours. You've got a couple of mechanics that I so wish I'd had time to implement - the slow motion and the walls thing, which works really nicely!

Gah I kinda wish we could combine our games into one super game :)

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Pretty nice game, i won't rate the game in the graphics department because you use an unmodified image of a Goomba from the first mario bros. game and the flag at the end of the levels

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15pm

xirion hi - the goomba is a custom version that looks like a puppy instead of a mushroom. The flag I drew from scratch (admittedly in the style of mario). There are no sprites from mario in my game although obviously the style is there!

Switch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Excellent idea, creative mechanics

flyingbear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19am

That mechanic is extremely cool! I'd love to play a full game with this base mechanic. Dropping an enemy into the lava by swapping in mid-air just felt soo good! I had trouble parsing which colored walls did what, even with the reminders. (Thank you for putting the reminders there, though, they did help) If you expand on this game, perhaps you could use sort of a "grate" metaphor for walls that you can shoot lasers through but not pass through.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

I. LOVE. THIS. GAME.
The graphics are simple~ It's okay.
The puzzles are great.

For something made for a small time, you did a G.R.E.A.T. Game~!
Great Radical Enjoyable Admirable Top-Notch Game~

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Whoaw great mechanic and really fun gameplay. Levels are well designed.
I hope you will expand this game, it was really enjoyable to play and i would love to play more. Definitely one of the best game i've played so far.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Something you could add is a way to quit the game and a way to pause it.

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:51am

Really fun title! I loved the music but the ability to switch off would have been nice :) Your use of the theme was spot on!

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Interesting mechanic that could definitely be expanded upon to make a cool game. With some polish, it could be quite fun.

ViKing Games says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Really cool concept, and well implemented. The level designs were interesting, and I especially liked the levels where you had to kill the goomba. The controls for moving were a bit clunky, though. The procedural music was really cool. The graphics, as others have said, were boring and not that great.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]