Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Slam Jam Bakery

by DragonXVI - Compo Entry

UPDATE: I've uploaded bugfixed versions which should help with the mouse aiming at different resolutions since players were reporting this not working properly. Also added 'w' and 'up' as alternate jump buttons by default.

Sìle Nemsi, Legendary Pâtissier has a problem. A rival bakery has hired a fleet of mercenary warships to bomb her bakery into next week, and all she's got to defend herself is a virtually limitless supply of raspberry jam!

Hop on board the enemy craft & jam up the works, working your way to the ship's core, where with a careful application of EVEN MORE JAM, overload its systems to trigger a self destruct. Just make sure you escape in time for a daring, slow-motion leap to freedom!

Slam Jam Bakery is a bonkers action platformer suitable for all ages.
(Best played at 1024 x 768, think the mouse controls go a bit weird at other resolutions)

CONTROLS (defaults):

WASD/Arrowkeys/Left stick - Move Sile.
Space/Left shoulder button - Jump
Left Ctrl/Left mouse/Right shoulder button - Fire jam / Select menu option.
R - Respawn.
C - Toggle CRT Image effects.

HINTS:
- Master the Jam Thrust move - Simultaneously jump and shoot jam downwards to act as a sort've jammy jetpack!
- Destroy gears to make progress. This will disable doors, laser fields and generally make a mess.
- The Core is a giant laser cannon with a weakspot at its back. Don't get fried while trying to jam it up!
- You have infinite retries, but will die in one hit. Once the ship begins to explode though, you must make it out in one go or immediately fail!
- When the ship reaches the bakery, game over!
- Turret bullets are blocked by jam, use the jam as a shield!
- Level 2 *IS* possible. If done correctly, you'll have 1-2 seconds remaining when you escape! It's INCREDIBLY difficult though!

KNOWN ISSUES:
- Conveyor belts & some collision with edges is a little buggy. If in doubt, jump to dislodge yourself.
- Web version possibly coming later, but likely won't be Chrome friendly (Can't get WebGL builder to play ball)
- Aiming with the mouse is a bit odd on resolutions other than 1024x768. May get a fix in for this if I've time

SPECIAL THANKS:
- BFXR (http://www.bfxr.net/) Seriously this tool is awesome.
- Unity for being a pleasure to use (most of the time :p )
- J. Kyle Pittman for the inspiration for the YHTWTG/SWTG CRT-esque monitor effect (http://www.piratehearts.com/blog/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#10Fun4.19
#10Overall4.20
#22Audio4.13
#53Mood3.84
#56Graphics4.19
#166Theme3.86
#213Innovation3.64
#303Humor3.21

Comments

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Oh man that was awesome!

Hard mode isn't kidding around.

I'm loving all the particle effects and that CRT overlay.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:11pm

This is really cool! Love the idea and the level designs work really well. The hard mode is pleasantly brutal!

Maybe it's just my computer but some sounds would go a long way.

Graphics are awesome and good use of the theme!

Awesome job!!!

jshiroshiro says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Love it! You're very creative! Really like the colors and graphics. Awesome game dude!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21am

Best title by far. Needs the space Jam theme.

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24am

Great game!
The music and sounds reminded me of battletoads!
Destroying things was the best. Controls felt a bit slugish though.

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

Great audio and presentation. Jam/smoke filling everything was superb. Nice job.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:05am

I first ran to the left, because I thought I have to flee. I liked the music very much. Very cool game.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:08am

That was AMAAAAAAAZING.
This is a really good entry, for the love of God. I can see this becoming a full release.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11am

Really good job! Nice mechanics.

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:16am

Wow, this is the HIGHEST I've ever ranked a LDJAM game. This was amazing. So much fun! Saving to computer for ever. Only thing that could make it better is hiding the mouse cursor and giving a more accurate crosshair. Great job!

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17am

That CRT effect reminds me a lot of You Have to Win the Game (http://store.steampowered.com/app/286100/).

This is a very creative entry! 5/5'd

Also: Dammmmnnnnnnn that music is amazing. You should, like, really make this into a full-blown game.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58am

AlfalfaStudios: Should be sound and music? Check yer computer audio settings!

Luke Molnar: Yeah it wasn't 'till the end I remembered Unity has a quick 'n easy cursor replacement too. The mouse kinda fights with the controller input too.

Kaype: Yep, I call out YHTWTG and J. Kyle Pittman in my special thanks above :D

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:02pm

THIS, now THIS is great. the music is perfect for the game. I completed the first battleship and I WILL return to do the harder one. Great work.

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Another perfect ludum entry here. This is awesome, I played it with a xbox one controller and in full screen, so good.

PD: Maybe the default controls are a bit odd, but is so good anyway.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I love it! 8/8, wld r8 again m8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Msf66KUA-o

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Amazing work! I was hooked immediately

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Well, because nothing is perfect I had not to give maximum notation, but I was close to do it! Awesome game and innovation! :D

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Fantastic - way beyond anything I would expect from this kind of competition. Great music, effects, graphics, a solid gameplay mechanic with depth - brilliant little game.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Great game! Really like the CRT screen look. Really great effect with the weapon, and great mechanics. I will not be surprised if I see this game in the top 3.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

And I thought 40 hours was too much. 42 hours is hardcore. :p Great game. Nothing feels out of place. It plays like a proper game.

The music was really cool.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

This was really well done! The controls and mechanics are perfectly dialed in. Not sure how I felt about the CRT effect, I liked that you could turn it off. Good work!

YM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Aiming with the mouse wasn't working for me for some reason, nor with the right stick, it was however taking the triggers as aim input, so with some very hamhanded aiming I was able to get through a little bit. And what I saw was great. The flying by spraying out purple juice is great, as is jamming up gears and swamping hostile...things...

Really nice

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Awesome entry, It has some nice artwork and shading, also I always have liked goopy physics. Good Luck.

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

Really cool weapon, and combined with the shader it felt amazing throwing the jam around! Also have to mention the boss, as having the weak spot rotate as it aimed at you was a terrific idea. Awesome work!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:14am

Music was excellent! Aiming was a bit difficult, but other than that it was great.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

Fun gun :) Awesome graphic (nice Old monitor/tv effect).

Super Game :)

flyingbear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31am

That... was... awesome! Everything about it was incredible, from the effects to the gameplay to the music. Letting the jam drip down to some gears to blow them up felt real good. If this doesn't win then I don't even know anymore. How you managed as one person to do all of this in 42 hours is beyond me. I am in awe!

Suese says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42am

The mouse controls act quite strange. The music is epic.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53am

Awesome!! That jam gun was super fun, and the music was the best I have heard so far this jam. How did you do the jam particles if you don't mind me asking?

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12am

Omg this is awesome. I love the gameplay, the colors, and the music... dont even let me start on the music :O Awesome! Good job! I hope to see it with more levels one day :D

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15am

Awesome game! There is nothing what i can remark. Maybe menu graphics was not very good, but that is all! Excelent game.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:32am

Wow, just wow. Everybody said it before me, but I'll say it again: awesomely done game! Kudos! :)

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:47am

Exceptional! I really liked it, especially the second level. Very well done. Only problem I've noticed is that the jam is hard to aim. :)

The Linux link is pointing to something that doesn't exist (an extra 'l' in Linux (Lilnux?) - removing the 'l' works).

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:17am

Yeah I had a bit of a fight with Unity's input again trying to get something that worked. What happens if you use a controller is when you're not aiming with the right stick, it focuses on the mouse position. If there's no mouse, no idea what it focuses on :p (Probably just 0,0)

The menu was like the last thing to go in so it was *very* rushed :p I need to get better a things like menus and end screens because they're always pretty rubbish in my entries, a bit of nice transitions and presentation would go a long way.

As for the how the jam particles were done, I'll explain that in m'post mortem when I get that up. It's a fairly simple effect you can do in Flash or Unity or anything really.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28am

Oh and good catch on the linux url :p Fixed that!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Very good! Like the game mechanics =) But controls tooo crazy for me. I mean strang mouse behaviour.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17pm

That was awesome! The only downside is the main menu, which really doesn't measure up to the visual quality of the rest of the game. Great music, great visuals and a humorous idea. Fantastic entry.

qristofer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Oh wow, very cool. Plays very well. Good job.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I can only imagine how the the pitch of the idea went. A pretty solid game.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37pm

REALLY?! One of the bests games of the Ludum Dare 32! Gameplay, mechanics, graphics, music, use of the theme! ITS PERFECT!

I found a simple bug too, but it's fast to fix. When you walk to the left side: at the end of the left side the player crosses the screen and can't come back.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Yeah there's a few fun bugs like that. You can also be outside the ship but it thinks you're still inside so you'll slide along the ground with it :p

I left the Respawn button 'R' in for that reason in case you get stuck somewhere like under the airship or walk off the world since I didn't have time to work in blocking that off. I'm leaving the fixes for small things that aren't working properly (like mouse controls which should be better now!)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Great game all round. Solid presentation, music and gameplay. The jam effect is actually really impressive.

omaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Very nice work. Music is great. Gameplay is nice and tight. Fire extinguisher mechanic works wonderfully. Difficulty progression is spot on.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Using your weapon as a jetpack, represent. Love the CRT overlay, the particle physics of the jam. Sweet deal man

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very cool. Great music and graphics.

ThommazK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Great game, had a lot of fun with it!

acronaut says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Took me a short while as the game auto-loads to realize that the "weapon as a jetpack" mechanic would apply to the fluids [I'm familiar with the machine-gun jetpack from Cavestory or Jetpack joyride]; (I normally do quick playthrough without instructions first and I didn't read the instructions for web-embed games especially when it auto-loads and Help/instructions were there. Then I'll read instructions on 2nd playthrough.). Love the purple fluid effects! versatile (flood, fly, etc..) Nice use of tension (adversary progress meter; defense-style progress meter). Wall-jump would be a nice plus or different color fluids for different abilities. Slammin'!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25pm

This is a mostly solid game, with a fun core mechanic. The hard level got frustrating quite quickly though, and sometimes the controls seemed a bit finicky. Maybe a bit less lift from the jump button (or variable lift based on how long it's held) and a bit more lift from the jam gun would help? Not sure if respawning is useful if there's only a few extra seconds in the clock to begin with.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

This was really great, More Jam Please! Also, try to get the player movement tighter because I would fall as I am shooting jelly to the floor, it would work every now and then. Less screen shake as I am trying to escape too haha, out of control. Great though! Awesome work!!

ogrepixel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Awesome work! I really enyojed it, graphics, music, gameplay, everything was really good. =)

Hectate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Love this. This is great. Thanks for the awesome game.

Hectate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Also, it you do a post-compo version of this; maybe get add an alternate spray; one that floats up instead ;) It'd add some neat variation into the puzzle/actions.

ShaunJS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:16pm

This was really awesome dude! Lots of nice attention to detail, I like the effects when hitting something 'destructable'. It's very clear and effective!

I faintly wish that the "push you around" effect of the jam was more pronounced so I didn't always have to worry about timing my jumps to get that max height. I know that plays into the challenge of the game but I can't help but feel a game like this benefits from giving the player a lot of freedom and power with the movement tool.

Super solid entry! Great stuff!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

That was fantastic. Great job. :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Great work! Bonus innovation for some of the tricks you used to get this look and feel in Unity.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Fantastic entry! Really fun and well thought out implementation of the core mechanic.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18pm

This is awesome! I found no issues whatsoever, which is impressive with a mechanic like this. Great work!

met44 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Awsome.

rodrigomotta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:56am

Just AWESOME work, guys! Amazing game and mood. I'm feel li playing retro games in an old tv. Amazing. Rated. Please play and rate my game.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33am

A fantastic overall experience. Graphics were stylized, music was really good, gameplay was fun. Great job.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:01am

I'm speechless...
Congratz my friend!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:11am

Really, really fun.

NuSan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51am

Perfect game, graphics and sounds! The gun is fun to use and levels are well done. The second level is realy hard, I think you should give back a bit of time when you die, or else its prety much one shot. Thanks for this game!

Novodantis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58am

Superb, probably my favourite so far! Great design, slick implementation and airships, what more could you want?

I like all the little touches too; like the way the high audio frequencies cut out when you respawn.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:47am

Really well done, feels very complete.
Love the fluid physics and the idea of using your Jam cannon.
Great graphics and use of sound.
Exellent.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Okay what the heck were you thinking with this menu? You use arrows to highlight an option, but the mouse click to select it - why not select the one you clicked on? or use a key to select instead? It makes no sense.

Great game by the way.

Also, who are you kidding with 'infinite lives'? If you die even once on the hard level you're screwed, it takes way too long to get back to where you were.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Ctrl is the main fire button (unless you change it in the launcher), so it selects menus too, so y'don't need to use the mouse. I'll agree the controls for the menu were a bit rushed, specially if you're using a controller :p

Yeah the hard level isn't really death friendly :P If you unlock the shortcut and are fast enough you're allowed maybe 1 death reasonably ok, but you'll be cutting it close.

gamedevBear says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56am

The music is amazing, and the art is really good too. Easily the best I've played so far.

Getting the absolute max height on a jam jump was really difficult. It made climbing the hard mode fortress after every death pretty frustrating.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:55am

That was simply excellent. First LD game so far that has had my heart racing like that after finishing. My only gripe is that the menu graphics are a bit ugly but the graphics of gameplay make up for that entirely.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Really good! The weapon felt good to use and the controls were nice. I also enjoyed the idea of playing in a flying level that you were trying to destroy. Very original! My only complaint is that the amount of height you get from the jetpack is weird. It seems to propel you based on the momentum you had when you first started jumping, meaning holding it down right after jumping sent you significantly higher. This felt unintuitive, since I would assuming jumping as high as possible would get you the most air, meaning that it took me a while to figure out how to make the higher jumps that were necessary to advance. Also, the lack of checkpoints was a bit much on the hard level, especially with all of the insta-death. Despite those gripes, this was a very excellent entry. Well done!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

The music was fantastic. Reminded me of old Amiga tunes. I really liked this entry. The fx and visuals were great. It was fun to run around (clunky controls called out above and not a hard fix for next time). This was really very well done and more importantly, fun.

hexagore says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:01am

Wow this is a load of fun which fantastic graphics. I did notice that you had to jump upwards before the jam thing would actually propel you upwards but it wasn't hard to work around. Really strong entry this.

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I really dig that graphics (particles, overlay, sprites, animations) as well as the retro sound, which is truly awesome.
There were some minor bugs when i got stuck in a corner but i always got free. Controls feel very intuitive and direct (which is a good thing).

AdamW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Holy shit! Everything about this game is amazing. Especially the music!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Awasome! I like the physics and the aesthetic. It's really cool as entry for LD32. Thumbs up ++

jplur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:40pm

high marks! So much game and polish for a compo entry, very impressed!

yuigoto says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:15am

This game brought some lovely memories of playing games on the SNES, 20 years ago. :3

It's amazing and pretty much solid! Hard to imagine something so good done in 48hrs, did you get any sleep? :P

Work done with graphics is great, visual effects and level design are also really well done. :)

Soundtrack is also brilliant! Nice use of FL Studio, always good things done in it. :D

Nice work, really! /o/

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:10am

The jam particles and graphics are amazing. As is the audio. A really impressive entry, you can really see the ridiculous amount of work here!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:17am

Just wanted to write another comment, been trying level 2 but totally impossible haha you're right :P The physics feel so right in this game, and I especially love that the level is one big world rather than multiple smaller levels.

I also created a platformer/Metroidvania type thing and also stuck to the principle of having one big world/level to explore. Your jam/jetpack mechanics are really inspiring and something I'd love to include more in my games. Again, just want to say great job - top marks!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:45am

I loved the game. The level of polish and how everything worked together was great.

The only part I didn't like that much was having to climb onto the ship from the outside. The controls near the ship are a little strange (like when jumping and hovering sometimes I would move along with the ship even though I was outside) and it was frustrating to just sit around because I just died and I needed a tall area of ground to jump from and there wasn't anything around.

Overall though, that was great!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:59pm

"Caught in the explossion of the spaceship!"
I loved that, so you must escape the battleship after you defeat the boss.
The music is really good too.
The feel of the movement could be improved. Sometimes you don't know when you will do a wall jump.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:08am

This was cool! The visual effects were well done and the sounds fit well. I was impressed with the foam's physics too, though it took me a while to understand using it to jump. Good job!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:32am

Hey all, thanks to everyone who's played, enjoyed 'n rated the game! As always hope everyone had fun this LD and will return in future!

Re: The various physics bugs. Yeah, I actually had exactly this problem last time I did LD (29 I believe) where a multitude of physics and input nonsense made the game utterly unplayable for some people. Think I got it a bit better this time round, but there's a few obvious mistakes this time round (The most egregious being The jumping's totally not framerate independent so bit of a disaster there :p).

I meant to mention too: For anyone interested in how the game was made and whatnot, I did a post-mortem/devlog which you can read 'ere:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/21/slam-jam-bakery-post-mortem-devlog/

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Whao, best contribution I've played so far!

It's probably due to the word "jam" I've saw in the description, but until I reach the vote form, I was convinced it's a Jam entry. And in fact it's compo! Good job.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:44pm

What can I say that hasn't already been said. This game is F-U-N! Oh yes, I really enjoyed the music. Definitely fits the game.

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Can't play it:
Character always aims in the up-left direction (135°), mouse movement does nothing. Also, for some reason, character always goes left, as if `A` is pressed. I can go right if I press `D`, but I can't stand still.
I had similar issues with some old unity games long time ago. I have no idea what's wrong, maybe it's some old controls module from unity which doesn't like my system.

But graphics looks nice and audio is good. :D

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:21am

Wow. 1 second left on Hard mode... Whew! Well done. Physics seem a little wonky at times, getting stuck on walls a bit, etc. But over all, nice.

May 11, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Hands down, one of the (if not the) best compo entry I've played so far.

While the entire idea of using a jetpack to mobilize yourself in a game is not a new idea, you definitely took a new spin on it with the Jam Gun, being that it shoots an amorphous blob that you can kind of fudge (lol bakery pun) into small corners and use it to jam (lol another pun) up the works.

What else can I say about this? It was fun to play, it fit the theme, the graphics were VERY well done, and the audio was stellar. The mood was good. The audio was good. High ratings all around.

I think the only thing that bothered me was the controls. Not necessarily aiming the Jam Gun, but utilizing the Jam Gun to jump. For some reason I couldn't get the Jam Thrust move consistently, and that created a bit of annoyance, as I'd jump high, turn on the Jam Thrust and end up shy of the platform by maybe 2 or 3 pixels. The general platform controls were fine, and actually quite smooth -- the Jam Gun related controls just need a bit of spiff and polish.

Add a few more levels and mechanics and you've got yourself a finished, marketable game. Great job, you guys -- and SO impressive for a Compo entry. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]