Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cornflake Capers

by peejaygee - Compo Entry

Here is my entry for the 'Unconventional Weapon'

Cornflake Capers - I actually got the idea from the initial Twitter post, with a picture of a spoon, and I thought, yeah, why can't a spoon be the weapon, but what will it fire.....and Cornflake Capers was born.

Instructions.

Shoot the Cornflakes from the spoon to blow up the mouths around the screen. You start with 20 flakes, when you have 4 or less (flakes), within 20 seconds another bowl will appear. Collect it to get another 10 flakes.

W A S D to move, Mouse to direct and shoot. Enjoy your Bananas peeps.

See how long you can last, try to beat your previous score, or try to beat your previous time, better still, try to beat both.

Graphics are from real things in my house, with the exception of the mouth, I have to say thanks to the Wife for allowing me to use her mouth for a animation.

I have also included the tunes in the game as a separate zip file, as I've had people before (previous LD's) say to me they enjoyed the tunes, so I figured I'd allow you to download them.

Game has been tested and plays fully in Firefox 37.0.1 if you use another browser and it doesn't work fully, well, what can I say, except download FF.

Hope you enjoy my little entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#52Humor3.94
#78Theme4.03
#144Audio3.50
#402Fun3.23
#485Graphics3.15
#548Overall3.18
#631Mood2.84
#804Innovation2.72

Comments

butterCup says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Will you be releasing the OST?

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

The mouths will haunt my dreams.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

LOL what the heck?! This game is crazy! I LOVE IT.

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Pretty simple game with an unconventional weapon. Shooting corn flakes. I think I actually had the most fun seeing how many mouths I could get on screen while dodging them. Also most people probably will only hear a second or two of the main menu music but it's pretty good. I can see why you released the soundtrack.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Nice shoot-'em-mechanics. It was challenging, but not frustrating. The music and photo usage was really good.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15am

4 stars for humor because you used your wife's mouth. That is just hilarious.

Xinelu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Best game ever hahahaah! :D

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Wonderful! Well done!

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Those mouth animations made me... uncomfortable...

Haha, loved it!

LuisDC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Love the music!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Pretty nice game. I like the concept and style you've brought to it.

One thing: I think the cereal bowl refills are too slow. In the time it takes for a 10 cereal refill to appear, 10 more mouths have already appeared. I guess that's the source of the challenge in a way, but the same could be achieved by other means. I just didn't like dodging around for 15 seconds because I'm on empty.

And woah, I didn't even realize the music went up in key until I sat here typing with a gameover screen. You made some seriously extensive tracks for such a short game. Hands up who else knew the intro screen music went crazy after 15 seconds? Nobody?

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

The mouths were hilarious. Nice implementation although I found waiting for the bowls to turn up a little frustrating. Great work! Runs well in Chrome.

insane66 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Amusing concept shooting cornflakes. Good Job.

Roysterini says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Hey Paul, this is cerealously funny.... but I can't help thinking....

"Maaah spoooon is to big!".

Would have liked more frames in the googly eyes, but nice entry :)

Great sound!

eastes says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13am

Ha ha. I loved the laughing mouths. Was it your mouth? The title screen music was amazing too.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Nice asteroids type shooter. I like how you used pictures of everything things from around your house.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Wow, that was very weird. Nice game.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:57pm

This was a weird one haha. I enjoyed it! The music was nice, and the theme was certainly present. Very odd, but still very fun!

RafaCP says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:02am

Congrats! Fun game!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:30am

I think you matched the theme perfectly.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:34am

Haha, great solution for the art! I enjoy creative solutions!

Cool take on the theme!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:42am

Those mouths crack me up xD Gief more cornflakes! (To me that bowl took forever to appear when I needed it most :'( )
Nice humorous game!

May 7, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Bowl didn't refill. Aiming also felt a bit weird. Good entry but the gameplay didn't feel very rewarding.

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Hahaah, funny. I appreciate the photo-art, since that's also what I did. xD
My only complaints are that clicking start always fired my first round, shorting me some ammo, and both times I got to less than 4 rounds, the reload took so long to spawn that I just died waiting on it.

That elevator music will haunt my dreams... ;)

Funny little game, tho. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]