Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Death by Chocolate - Unconventional Cure

by waveformmodulations - Jam Entry

We are excited to submit our 3rd Ludum Dare entry for Ludum Dare 32: Unconventional Weapon.

Death by Chocolate - Unconventional Cure

A mystery.

You are a detective faced with a dilemma, placed in a vintage noiresque setting. You have been poisoned! For an unconventional weapon you need an unconventional cure. Mix together office items to make an antidote!

All assets created in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 32




Graphics by Harley Kuklinski
Code by Tristin Daum
Music by Quetzatl based on Satin Doll by Duke Ellington

Concept and Story by Harley Kuklinski, Tristin Daum.
Story Consultant: Esiris Kayab Lyons

Playing tips:
Approach objects closely and hold down left mouse to grab and drag.
It may be easier to walk in reverse when carrying objects.

We had alot of fun making this game, and in the process we have come up with a joke cure, try mixing the pet turtle, toilet paper, and the batteries!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#267Mood(Jam)3.42
#306Audio(Jam)3.22
#363Humor(Jam)3.18
#396Graphics(Jam)3.54
#506Innovation(Jam)3.11
#556Theme(Jam)3.30
#755Overall(Jam)2.93
#828Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49am

I love the idea and the story. However, I was not able to drag and drop.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:57am

It's funny...when I drink bleach, all that happens is that I start throwing up blood...

Dragging and dropping is possible, just difficult - increasing the sensitivity in your game may be necessary. The jazz muzak loop certainly comforted my dying seconds, though.

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Made me want chocolate ha!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:21pm

nice graphics......

boateye says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Cool idea, but the execution is a bit rough in places.

Iteration loop is too long. Allow us to skip the opening cininematic after the first time.

The Drag and drop controls are not responsive. When i pick up on an object, there is no feedback until i try moving my character. I expected to either hear something, or see the object i'm dragging snap to my cursor and follow my cursor when i turn around like in Portal or Half-life 2.

BUG: the notepad fell through the floor and severely restricted my movement.

I got three items on the desk, but nothing happened. it was the TP, the batteries, and the plant. Some indication that those things don't work together would be nice, if that's a bad combo.

java the hutt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:28am

It was very interesting, however I was not sure how to mix things together.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:16am

It's funny... i liked! Good Job ^^

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:58am

This sounds cool. Mystery with chocolate! I'm in. I wish there was a non-Windows version.

nopogo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:02am

Cool concept. I like the uniqueness of the problem :)

Eggplant says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:02pm

I love the idea and the story. Unfortunately I was unable to drag and drop but that may just be my stupidity. XD Anyway, I thought it fit the theme well. Some things were a little rough like the inability to skip the opening cinematic but I'm sure that was due to time constraints. Good job!

danielilett says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I liked the idea, but I think a lot more could have been done with the execution. I didn't figure out how to drag items until I had about 80 seconds left, because the drag mechanic wasn't very clear or intuitive, so I wasn't sure what to do initially. It's a nice idea, and I think it'd be a good game if the mechanics were worked on just a little bit more.

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Loved the idea and mood, and the shear amount of modelling work that must have gone into it is impressive. If only the controls weren't so frustrating (for reasons others have already covered in detail, I probably would have enjoyed it immensely.

zeejfps says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:40am

I had no idea what to do lol, but I like the music.

Shivur says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:50am

Very hard to drag object.

Croze says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:20am

Love the graphics style!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:20am

This was a nice game. I loved the jazzy soundtrack and an idea, but dragging objects felt a bit wonky. Good job!

vikpek says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Graphics are great and a neat atmosphere - but dragging is really hard.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:06am

I loved this! The music, and the mood really framed the story really well. I got really happy, realizing the type of game I've gotten into after reading the letter. Beautiful!

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:12am

Not a bad idea, but needs some polish from a user experience standpoint.

nihilaleph says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:29am

Really cool idea! Great mood! Just had a hard time to grab things, so I was unable to make an antidote xp

CowShark says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:32am

I couldn't pick things up except a notepad, seemed like.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]